User Score
8.3

Universal acclaim- based on 235 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 17 out of 235

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. DaveN
    Jan 14, 2009
    8
    Great first half, first 5 tracks are amazing. High Horse Lady is good, though a bit to repititive in my opinion. Falling Down is perhaps the best song on the album. The latter songs are of lesser quality. To be Where There's Life is still quite good, but Ain't Got Notin' is awful, as is The Nature of Reality. Soldier On is a decent ending, but lacks the brilliance of a song Great first half, first 5 tracks are amazing. High Horse Lady is good, though a bit to repititive in my opinion. Falling Down is perhaps the best song on the album. The latter songs are of lesser quality. To be Where There's Life is still quite good, but Ain't Got Notin' is awful, as is The Nature of Reality. Soldier On is a decent ending, but lacks the brilliance of a song like Champagne Supernova. Overall a pretty good album, but could have been better. Expand
  2. Jan 15, 2014
    10
    perfect, where you seen it, the caratle, the songs, are perfect, the 3rd. best oasis album, is amazing, since bag it up till, soldier on, & I'm Outta Time is the best song of the album, an instant Classic, all too much to say
  3. NealM.
    Oct 7, 2008
    10
    I love this album and why so many critics have to put albums under the microscope and rip them to pieces baffles me. If you don't like it don't listen..Simple. All I know is that this album has recindled my love for Oasis and it's got an awesome grungy tone to the first half of the album. I'm outta time is one of their best ever tracks, and the heavier drums up front I love this album and why so many critics have to put albums under the microscope and rip them to pieces baffles me. If you don't like it don't listen..Simple. All I know is that this album has recindled my love for Oasis and it's got an awesome grungy tone to the first half of the album. I'm outta time is one of their best ever tracks, and the heavier drums up front are rocking. One of my top 10 albums of 2008. Expand
  4. RichardJ.
    Oct 7, 2008
    10
    I love Dig Out Your Soul, I was so so surprised by this album as I was expecting another plodding oasis effort. But it is absolutely brillaint, really. The first 35 minutes are just one amazing song after anotehr, Bag It Up (heavy and powerful), The Turning (awesome) Waiting For The rapture (amazing riff0 The Shock Of The Lightning (Brillaint, oasis at the paek of their power) I'm I love Dig Out Your Soul, I was so so surprised by this album as I was expecting another plodding oasis effort. But it is absolutely brillaint, really. The first 35 minutes are just one amazing song after anotehr, Bag It Up (heavy and powerful), The Turning (awesome) Waiting For The rapture (amazing riff0 The Shock Of The Lightning (Brillaint, oasis at the paek of their power) I'm Outta Time (set to be teh new wonderwall) , Falling Down (alrwady one of may favourite ever songs) I just love this album to bits. Haven't enjoyed an album so much in years. Expand
  5. PabloL.
    Oct 10, 2008
    10
    Good proper raw straight rock and roll tunes. Best album of the year.
  6. sk
    Oct 13, 2008
    10
    if you are an Oasis fan i think you are gonna love/like DOYS it a lot. if you are not an Oasis fan and listen to the music without prejudice then you are gonna admire them cause after all these years they still have the charisma to write some really good and memorable tunes."I'm Outta Time" even if it sounds (surprise!) like a Lennon/harrison track is such a beautiful ballad that if you are an Oasis fan i think you are gonna love/like DOYS it a lot. if you are not an Oasis fan and listen to the music without prejudice then you are gonna admire them cause after all these years they still have the charisma to write some really good and memorable tunes."I'm Outta Time" even if it sounds (surprise!) like a Lennon/harrison track is such a beautiful ballad that it's impossible , imo,to resist."Falling Down" is up with Noel's best material with its modern direction , beautiful melody and excellent production."Waiting for the Rapture" sits in a cross between Spoon (i turn my camera on!)and white stripes (the intro riff)."The Shock Of The Lightning" sounds like a lost oasis classic era 1994-1995." Bag it up" , "The Turning" and "Get off Your High Horse Lady" show that Noel have still the fire inside and if he could take a few more risks then the result could be even better. I dont know yet if DOYS is better than "Dont Believe The Truth" or their best album since ..., but i can say for sure that it's a good and honest record. the biggest problem for that album seems to me the oasis logo on its sleeve (for the haters)... Its good to have them back. Expand
  7. JasonP.
    Oct 6, 2008
    10
    I absolutely love the new album! I admit standard Oasis but I say if it's not broke don't fix it!!!!!
  8. RishG.
    Oct 7, 2008
    9
    This album totally Rocks!!! Why compare it to their earlier work. Oasis sound like they are evolving. There are faster tempos and more moods on this album. The songs are uniformly good. Shock to the lightning, The Turning, Falling Down, and There Where are instant classics. Forget about what you know about Oasis or how this compares to earlier albums. Just listen to it. It's Great! This album totally Rocks!!! Why compare it to their earlier work. Oasis sound like they are evolving. There are faster tempos and more moods on this album. The songs are uniformly good. Shock to the lightning, The Turning, Falling Down, and There Where are instant classics. Forget about what you know about Oasis or how this compares to earlier albums. Just listen to it. It's Great! There is such vitality in the songs and immediacy in the playing. One of the Albums of the Year for 2008 IMHO. Expand
  9. AloizioN.
    Oct 9, 2008
    10
    Great album, inspiring sounds and effects.
  10. JohanF.
    Oct 6, 2008
    10
    Seriously this is as good as DM. Its Oasis's 4th album which is 10/10 for me along with WTSMG, DM and BHN. The songs will sound great live and Liam has rediscovered his classic voice. Best band in the world are back with the best album of 2008. Actually best album of this decade.
  11. FrankS.
    Oct 6, 2008
    10
    Superb album! Some different sounds on there, but at the same time it always feels like a classic Oasis chorus - rousing choruses, slick guitar pumps and the odd nonsense lyric!
  12. joen.
    Oct 7, 2008
    10
    Excellent album from a very underrated (at least in america) band. Although it is hard to compare it to Def.Maybe and WTSMG, I can say that it is up there with their best. (and that says alot since i enjoy all of their albums.) New fans should "dig" it... as i know the diehards will. Unbelievable group of work.
  13. AnthonyA.
    Oct 7, 2008
    10
    Oasis do it again. Blinding tunes.
  14. ChrisW.
    Oct 7, 2008
    10
    Another solid effort from the Gallagher Brothers. I would like to have seen a long CD this time around... but 8 listens in... and I can't get enough!
  15. SteveH.
    Oct 8, 2008
    10
    A clear advance on their "comeback" album "Don't Believe the Truth". Withe their seventh disc, the Gallagher brothers are back in "morning Glory" form. Excellent.
  16. JonP
    Oct 1, 2008
    10
    I honestly feel like critics are afraid about the prospect of oasis finding success again in the US. Seeing the EW review, I imagine the majority of them will touch on the two tracks that have become widely available and skip over the rest -- give the album a safe, middling review and call it a day. I don't see how someone could listen to this record and not truly digest it and I honestly feel like critics are afraid about the prospect of oasis finding success again in the US. Seeing the EW review, I imagine the majority of them will touch on the two tracks that have become widely available and skip over the rest -- give the album a safe, middling review and call it a day. I don't see how someone could listen to this record and not truly digest it and provide an extensive write-up. Waiting for the Rapture is one of Noel's finest moments in an illustrious career. Expand
  17. AlbertoG.
    Oct 15, 2008
    10
    Fantastic album, specially the first 7 songs. Their best since the underrated Be here now.
  18. KT
    Oct 18, 2008
    10
    Rockin' album! Went way beyond what I expected. Sounds better each time you listen to it. Playing it full blast out of speakers really makes it shine. Bag it Up and I'm Outta Time are probably my personal favorites. An album that sounds like Oasis, but in a new, exciting way.
  19. LGF.
    Oct 25, 2008
    10
    the people running this site have got to be idiots because there in no other way someone could get a 60/100 off the NY Times review. It was more like a 90/100, they're retarded or just don't have very good comprehension skills. The album is great! best of the year BY FAR!
  20. AndrewR.
    Oct 7, 2008
    8
    Its a true Oasis return to form. Best album since Be Here Now.
  21. TylerR.
    Jan 12, 2009
    10
    Can't find any critiscisms of this album - every song is a belter, as long as you don't listen to it with Definitely Maybe in mind. It's easily better than 90% of the rest of the rubbish being churned out these days by other artists.
  22. AlbertoAl
    Nov 25, 2008
    10
    It's a very good album, their best since Be Here Now. The 8 first songs are amazing.
  23. JohnF.
    Oct 13, 2008
    10
    This album is amazing. And NYT gave way more than 6/10 to it, for sure.
  24. KevinN
    Oct 14, 2008
    10
    Definitely the best complete album in the last decade, oasis have brought back the terrific melodies in a different way than before: relying on reflection and swagger in an almost back and forth manner, the album should please the millions of oasis fans worldwide who waiting long and hard for this record.
  25. SallyS.
    Sep 25, 2008
    10
    A superb album as a whole, rather than just a good collection of songs like recent efforts. Much different to what casual followers of the band would expect, it's the album that they had to make.
  26. TomP.
    Jan 12, 2009
    10
    Superb album from one of the all time great British rock bands.
  27. MrMan
    Jan 12, 2009
    10
    Love this album. Didn't like Oasis before but I heard Shock Of The Lightning on the radio and loved it so I bought the album and I love every song. I've got down to buying the rest of the Oasis back catalogue and I've so far got to Standing On The Shoulders Of Giants and I've gotta say I haven't found a song I dislike yet! Beginning to think this is the best band Love this album. Didn't like Oasis before but I heard Shock Of The Lightning on the radio and loved it so I bought the album and I love every song. I've got down to buying the rest of the Oasis back catalogue and I've so far got to Standing On The Shoulders Of Giants and I've gotta say I haven't found a song I dislike yet! Beginning to think this is the best band of all time. Expand
  28. SammyS.
    Jan 12, 2009
    10
    Great album from a great band.
  29. BrianG
    Nov 29, 2008
    10
    Amazing, should have been the band's first album.
  30. JosephA.
    Oct 6, 2008
    9
    This is an excellent album straight through. I enjoy it thoroughly.
  31. SeanW.
    Oct 8, 2008
    8
    I don't know what these reviewers are listening to. This album is a blast... loud, cocky, fun... with some truly great riffs. Best album of theirs in a while.
  32. Mark
    Oct 10, 2008
    8
    Solid album featuring some absolutely brilliant songs. If it had finished on a more solid note than "Soldier On" then I would have scored it higher.
  33. FF.
    Oct 12, 2008
    8
    The record is very good. The better of them in the last years.But like an old fan, I still think that might do anything superior if they want it. I really hope that next record be more Guitars Loud, Screaming voices... A true Rock n roll band without caricatures of your owns
  34. [Anonymous]
    Oct 14, 2008
    9
    Easily their best album since Morning Glory. Perhaps the only criticism is that the album gets progressively weaker as the songs go on - but the first barrage of songs are superb.
  35. JoaoF
    Nov 8, 2008
    9
    Guys, Oasis are definitely back.
  36. BrianM
    Oct 20, 2008
    7
    Oasis will never be as relevant as they were at the height of their glory in the mid 90's, but for the first time this decade, they sound like they're ok with that. Instead of trying too hard to write memorale melodies and cram countless hooks into their songs, they just deliver a staight ahead rock record. The result is a thoroughly enjoyable collection of arena ready anthems. Oasis will never be as relevant as they were at the height of their glory in the mid 90's, but for the first time this decade, they sound like they're ok with that. Instead of trying too hard to write memorale melodies and cram countless hooks into their songs, they just deliver a staight ahead rock record. The result is a thoroughly enjoyable collection of arena ready anthems. Seven albums in, that's pretty good. Expand
  37. JimR.
    Oct 7, 2008
    9
    This should have been "Be Here Now".
  38. JustinT.
    Oct 7, 2008
    9
    This albums spot on. Full of a hypnotic pulsing energy from get to go. Just a fun listen.
  39. RobertP.
    Oct 7, 2008
    9
    I see myself as kinda neutral in regards to Oasis as most people ever love them or hate them. Ive listened to the album 4 or 5 times and it has really grown on me. The first 7 tracks are fantastic and would stand up against any other Oasis song. I would recommend anyone to download them if you have enjoyed any of Oasis previous work. The last four tracks contain 3 quite average songs, (To I see myself as kinda neutral in regards to Oasis as most people ever love them or hate them. Ive listened to the album 4 or 5 times and it has really grown on me. The first 7 tracks are fantastic and would stand up against any other Oasis song. I would recommend anyone to download them if you have enjoyed any of Oasis previous work. The last four tracks contain 3 quite average songs, (To be wheres life, Aint got nothing and Nature of Reality) that although quite listenable, don't seem to grip you in the same way as the first 7 songs. The album closer is probably the weakest track and seems to drag on and not take you anywhere... But overall, it is an excellent album. PS I hope it was refreshing to read a review that did not compare a new Oasis album to Definitely Maybe and Morning Glory. Expand
  40. LucasZ.
    Oct 8, 2008
    8
    I very much like this album, as a youngster I think this is the best album Oasis brought out, ever.
  41. RichardH
    Oct 8, 2008
    9
    First couple listens I wasn't entirely convinced by this album. It's not as instant as the last two, but perhaps that's a good thing... the tunes endure in your head, and Noels song in particular are fantastic. Great stuff!
  42. Joris
    Oct 8, 2008
    7
    A slight disappointment after their brilliant return to form that was Don't Believe The Truth from 2005. However it's still a very decent album from one of the great '90s bands still around (speaking of which: make sure to check out The Charlatans' latest release!) Some great psychedelic anthems such as Soldier On, which could be the perfect closer to any rocknroll A slight disappointment after their brilliant return to form that was Don't Believe The Truth from 2005. However it's still a very decent album from one of the great '90s bands still around (speaking of which: make sure to check out The Charlatans' latest release!) Some great psychedelic anthems such as Soldier On, which could be the perfect closer to any rocknroll album. Real highlights however include Falling Down, Waiting For The Rapture and Outta Time. The latter ones rank among their best songs to date in my opinion. Bag It Up is good but sounds indeed like a somewhat tired effort to recreate earlier albumopeners, drags on while the energy and creativity of e.g. 2005's openingtrack Turn Up The Sun is nowhere to be found. Solid, could be better. 7/10 Expand
  43. JoelS.
    Oct 9, 2008
    7
    A slightly better than middling effort. The album starts strong, slackens in the middle and, in my mind, ends with a thud. While I enjoyed the non-Gallagher songs on Don't Believe the Truth, the tracks on Dig are weak, as is Liam's closer, Soldier On. And am I the only Oasis fan wishing for more Noel written songs, and less Noel sung songs? Three is too many. Let Liam sing!!!!
  44. ChrisK
    Aug 15, 2009
    8
    When I first heard this album I thought Oasis were finished...but after hearing it again it gets a lot better, with some of their best work on here...of course it can't compare to Definitely Maybe or Morning Glory, but it's still a great album by a great band!
  45. SteveW.
    Oct 12, 2008
    9
    A very, VERY, good offering. Snarling is a description thats been batted around and I couldn't agree more. They seem to have finally realised that over analysing things makes them sound too polished. This seems like they've got in the studio and growled it out, slapped it on CD and headed to the pub. awesome.
  46. BrandonS.
    Oct 13, 2008
    8
    Really good album. As an American, I think there's less of an emotional tie to their extreme highs of the mid-90s. In England, Oasis defined an era of music. In America, they merely had a string of good hits. So I've enjoyed a lot of their more recent albums without the extra baggage. Heathen Chemistry and Don't Believe the Truth are both really good, and I think Dig Out Really good album. As an American, I think there's less of an emotional tie to their extreme highs of the mid-90s. In England, Oasis defined an era of music. In America, they merely had a string of good hits. So I've enjoyed a lot of their more recent albums without the extra baggage. Heathen Chemistry and Don't Believe the Truth are both really good, and I think Dig Out Your Soul is as good as, and probably even better than, those two albums. The lead single The Shock of the Lighting is definitely a powerhouse track. If you like that one, I think you'll like the rest of the album too. Expand
  47. sVc
    Nov 3, 2008
    8
    This release was shockingly good. Being a long time fan, I thought they had run their course. However, after a few listens, I believe this is their best in over a decade. I like nine of the eleven tracks and I can't say I've felt that way since (What's The Story) Morning Glory. Admittedly, it took a few listens, but I honestly think they may have realized not to try so hard This release was shockingly good. Being a long time fan, I thought they had run their course. However, after a few listens, I believe this is their best in over a decade. I like nine of the eleven tracks and I can't say I've felt that way since (What's The Story) Morning Glory. Admittedly, it took a few listens, but I honestly think they may have realized not to try so hard to please everyone and to make the kind of music they really want to make. If it sounds to 'Beatlesque', well, maybe it is. However, that's what makes them who they are and they are much better for it. Expand
  48. LachlanH.
    Oct 16, 2008
    9
    I am disappointed with all the negative reviews towards this release. i am an oasis fan and to me it sounds fantastic. big sound, electrifying guitars and liams fabulous sneering vocals. if i hear 'noel needs to write more songs' one more time i wont be reading another review. noels 6 songs on this album are brilliant - maybe some of the best songs he has written, liams 3 are I am disappointed with all the negative reviews towards this release. i am an oasis fan and to me it sounds fantastic. big sound, electrifying guitars and liams fabulous sneering vocals. if i hear 'noel needs to write more songs' one more time i wont be reading another review. noels 6 songs on this album are brilliant - maybe some of the best songs he has written, liams 3 are also brilliant - his john lennon moment (track 5 - im outta time) is one of oasis best ever songs and gem and andy's songs are great too. all that matters is that i love it and fuck everybody else. if you like it - great, if you dont - then fuck off and save us all from your crap and negative opinions. Expand
  49. BillW
    Dec 9, 2008
    7
    The only problem with the album is it's nothing new. It's not better or worse than the last album.
  50. DavidS.
    Oct 7, 2008
    9
    Their best in a decade! The songs exude confidence and epic grandeur. Serious goose-bump music. Proves that the boys are still the most important contemporary rock band of our generation. No other band can equal the soaring melodies and instant appeal. Whether you love em, or hate them. you must respect them!
  51. TiernanO.
    Oct 7, 2008
    8
    Very impressive return to form. No anthems just a handful of fantastic songs and some turds too!
  52. PaulK.
    Oct 7, 2008
    10
    Amazing music. Works as a whole and is disparate enough to keep your interest while continually rocking. A freight train of a record. These gentlemen know what it's all about. Bravo!
  53. MarkL
    Oct 7, 2008
    9
    I think Oasis have really outdone themselves. The more i listen to it more I love it. A must own and love for any Oasis fan.
  54. Matt
    Oct 7, 2008
    9
    Another incredible album from the best band in the world. I've never heard a bad Oasis song. What a great energy they have, and so much more entertaining than all of the bland monotony out there.
  55. danc
    Aug 31, 2009
    9
    This album proves that oasis are still very much an important force in music today. all this songs deliver whilst it's no definitely maybe or Morning glory (but then again no album is) it stands up as a great record with great songs by a great band. a pleasure.
  56. RobG
    Oct 12, 2008
    9
    Much mare than i hoped for, and more than first meets the ear. Give it a few listens and you will find what yoe've been hoping for. Very rewarding
  57. SimonK.
    Oct 13, 2008
    9
    As mentioned in some reviews, this album succeeds in an area wich many others fail. Keeping away from tedium, with much subtle things and variations in each song. Sure, there are no classics on this album, wich though in this case means the music is not simplified for the casual crowd. This makes this album into the best they have done so far.
  58. Jay-Z
    Oct 13, 2008
    9
    Shits banging Few tunes at the end are a bit shit but its there best since WTSMG. Shake your rag doll baby.
  59. CL
    Nov 6, 2008
    8
    I don't think they'll ever top BE HERE NOW, but this is better than everything that came afterward, really.
  60. John,Jr.H.
    Dec 17, 2008
    10
    I don't know what's going in the mind a perfect human beings like the critics. The point is fans love it. Majority is pleased with this album. They also did negative reviews on past Oasis albums but it sold tens of million copies worldwide. In your face critics! Ultimately, the fans are the one who will decide what bands will stay longer in the industry.
  61. DanielH.
    Dec 21, 2008
    8
    At last! A consis album that has an identity. Gets better with every listen.
  62. ChrisC.
    Jan 18, 2009
    8
    While this may come off as not as great of an album as Don't Believe The Truth, this is a simply great rock record that has swagger and heart unlike most of the bands out today.
  63. sandyb
    Nov 13, 2008
    9
    DOYS is the shape of band mature. It's solid album and very strong.
  64. alexg
    Nov 25, 2008
    9
    Let's face it they will never gonna have another dm or wts?mg (and,in fact, i don't want that to happen) but doys is as good as i need, is the excuse i want to be a fan for the next 14 years thank you G'bros now i know i don't need to Live Forever but i can elegantly Fade Away, D'you Know What I Mean?
  65. EduardoM
    Nov 27, 2008
    8
    Great album but not better than be here now for me.
  66. Dec 29, 2010
    7
    Nice release, but far below the glorious era of Oasis .... the beggining is very rock, until track four; then, oasis falls in the trap of "experimentation" or tries to create some pop ballades, but unfortunately unsuccessufuly
  67. Mar 12, 2012
    7
    After years of some good singles but very average albums I was really happy with 2005's Don't Believe the Truth from Oasis. Really enjoyed it and it's still my 3rd favourite Oasis record. They really recaptured some of their magic on that. Because of this, I had a big expectations for the follow up Dig Out Your Soul and unfortunately it doesn't quite live up to them. There are some greatAfter years of some good singles but very average albums I was really happy with 2005's Don't Believe the Truth from Oasis. Really enjoyed it and it's still my 3rd favourite Oasis record. They really recaptured some of their magic on that. Because of this, I had a big expectations for the follow up Dig Out Your Soul and unfortunately it doesn't quite live up to them. There are some great tacks on here but too much of it is either mid tempo or else just bland and the qulaity levels just go through the floor on the last 4 tracks. Noel's 6 tracks carry the record. Liam's contributions are his weakest since Little James on Standing on the Shoulder..... Even the single he penned, I'm Outta Time is hugely overrated. The Nature of Reality and To Be Where There's Live, thrown in by Andy Bell and Gem Archer, are boring. NG should have put the foot down and been stricter with what went on the record, especially when you hear some of the stuff he had lying around for years that made it onto his solo record. This had the potential to be a 9 out 10 record but the sharing out of the song writing responsibility's cost it in the end. Expand
  68. Sep 29, 2012
    8
    It's better than Don't Believe The Truth. The first half of this album is fantastic. Liam's songwriting improved a lot. I'm Outta Time and Soldier On are great tracks. Noel's songs in this album sound more inspiring. It's their best album since Be Here Now.
  69. Mar 8, 2013
    8
    I like Dig Out Your Soul, but I remember that I love Morning Glory and this, just like most of their last albums, is worse. Half of the tracks aren't very brilliant, but the others are good, especially Falling Down and The Shock Of The Lightning. Could have been better.
  70. Jul 22, 2014
    8
    The songs written by Noel are amazing, every single one. But the rest of the band doesn't try to match his level. It's the best Oasis album since "(What's the Story) Morning Glory" though.
Metascore
66

Generally favorable reviews - based on 27 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 27
  2. Negative: 1 out of 27
  1. It won't win them any new fans, but those that believed the truth last time will dig this.
  2. Qualitywise, most of the tracks here are more ''Bungalow Bill'' than ''Eleanor Rigby.''
  3. 70
    Noel Gallagher wrote two more tunes here, both excellent. Unfortunately, age has softened his heart, and he cedes the album's other half to his bandmates (including lead-singing brother Liam), who offer subpar material.