Diorama

  • Record Label: Atlantic
  • Release Date: Aug 27, 2002
User Score
8.8

Universal acclaim- based on 61 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 54 out of 61
  2. Negative: 6 out of 61

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. DaveN
    Sep 22, 2006
    10
    This is the best CD of the 21st century. Silverchair has always been 2 steps ahead of their musical peers in terms of song writing and Diorama just makes the competition that much worse in comparison. They improved drastically what they were aiming for in Neon Ballroom. Even with the out of place "One Way Mule" its an exceptional album that has more than blew expectations and made me This is the best CD of the 21st century. Silverchair has always been 2 steps ahead of their musical peers in terms of song writing and Diorama just makes the competition that much worse in comparison. They improved drastically what they were aiming for in Neon Ballroom. Even with the out of place "One Way Mule" its an exceptional album that has more than blew expectations and made me eager for album number 5. Expand
  2. LeandroR
    Feb 1, 2007
    10
    muito bom!
  3. Manion
    Apr 12, 2006
    9
    Despite what has been said above, Diorama IS a masterpiece with few and minor flaws. Negative reviews of this album consistently stem from jaded whingers whose blind criticisms are a result of either being unable to move on from the early grunge (created by the then 15 year olds, of course you will hear their influences) or heavy sounds, or being unable to accept that this band has talent Despite what has been said above, Diorama IS a masterpiece with few and minor flaws. Negative reviews of this album consistently stem from jaded whingers whose blind criticisms are a result of either being unable to move on from the early grunge (created by the then 15 year olds, of course you will hear their influences) or heavy sounds, or being unable to accept that this band has talent (which - god forbid - contradicts the perception of Silverchair they have so deeply branded onto their brains) and possibly more than their favourite band. Those drowning in their own self-satisfaction as they dismiss Diorama as soft, or boring, or who focus on the TWO heavier songs, and like sheep stupidly label them grunge or Nirvana rip-offs, should get down from wherever they are that so obviously elevates them above all those who appreciate the talent and efforts and growth of Silverchair. Any real fan of Nirvana, myself included, will tell you that Silverchair never sounded anything like Nirvana and certainly dont now. Its just a lazy comparison made by musically uneducated. Pearl Jam, Soundgarden with Sabbath and Zeppelin, but not Nirvana. Diorama has a distinct feel to it, as any good album should. Pop sensibility and melody link the styles of expression explored on Diorama. and as every great album does: it can have you jumping around your room singing along one minute and crying on your bed the next (all figures of speech lol). Diorama is well worth getting, and the only reason i didnt give it a 10 is because i've heard the songs live and theyre performed with even more skill and expertise of vocal expression. This is an album of pure beauty, theatrics, drama and (intentional) melodrama and rockin tunes that deserve any praise they get. Cant wait for the new album!! Expand
  4. Sep 6, 2012
    10
    This is personally the best album I have heard since Smashing Pumpkins Mellon Collie. I didn't really enjoy it at first and you need to pull up the lyrics and really listen. One thing that will amaze you is Daniel Johns voice, who would have guessed this was the same singer of Tomorrow? Ten years after this album came out I am still listening to it on a daily basis because it is deep,This is personally the best album I have heard since Smashing Pumpkins Mellon Collie. I didn't really enjoy it at first and you need to pull up the lyrics and really listen. One thing that will amaze you is Daniel Johns voice, who would have guessed this was the same singer of Tomorrow? Ten years after this album came out I am still listening to it on a daily basis because it is deep, multidimensional and beautiful. Even if you don't like it you have to admit Silverchair has talent--esp. Johns as he writes, composes pretty much everything and has a lovely, unique voice. He is a terribly underrated singer. Love this! BTW Silverchair is even more awesome live Expand
  5. SaeedSaeed
    Sep 29, 2004
    3
    Till this day I cannot comprehend why this album has been judged as a masterpiece. When this thing came out, the press (namely the Australian press) was hailing this record as the Aussie version of Pet Sounds. Sorry folks this is not the case. Judging by the songs in this record, head honcho Daniel Johns is more Bryan Adams than Bryan Wilson. Bands can put as many layers of lush Till this day I cannot comprehend why this album has been judged as a masterpiece. When this thing came out, the press (namely the Australian press) was hailing this record as the Aussie version of Pet Sounds. Sorry folks this is not the case. Judging by the songs in this record, head honcho Daniel Johns is more Bryan Adams than Bryan Wilson. Bands can put as many layers of lush instrumentations as they want, but if the song is boring than the song is boring! And Diorama is filled with them. There is nothing remarkable here. The songs are a mixture of prog- rock wankiness and M.O.R soft rock that Ronan Keating wouldn?t mind singing. ?World Upon Your Shoulders? makes me cry for all the wrong reasons and ?With Out You? would even make Coldplay wince. The blame for this mess lies squarely on the shoulders of Daniel Johns. This might as well have been a solo record, for I can hardly hear his band mates in the mix, I wonder if they even attended the recording sessions. The only time we actually here Silverchair the band rather than Daniel Johns the egotist is on ?One Way Mule? and ?The Lever? all sub par grunge that should have stayed in the 90?s. I guess that?s my problem with Silverchair, their earlier recordings sounded like Nirvana wannabe?s and this new direction is as misjudged as the reviewers who salivated over this album. And if any of you think I am being too mean and I don?t like big string arrangements in records then you are also wrong. I suggest Daniel Johns and all deluded fans of this record grab a copy of The Flaming Lips? Soft Bulletin, a great example of how big can be beautiful. Expand
  6. denverw
    Sep 23, 2006
    1
    What the hell is this. This is not silverchair. The only people calling this a masterpiece are aussies. They have no good music and nothing to look forward to. I used to love this band. What the fuck happend. I am serious. This is god awful. THey dont even know where they are going. They are just mad about being labled teen artist and nirvana in pjs. So they tried to show everyone up. What the hell is this. This is not silverchair. The only people calling this a masterpiece are aussies. They have no good music and nothing to look forward to. I used to love this band. What the fuck happend. I am serious. This is god awful. THey dont even know where they are going. They are just mad about being labled teen artist and nirvana in pjs. So they tried to show everyone up. Instead they showed themselves up. Expand
  7. KevinK
    Nov 15, 2002
    3
    They are kidding right. I had to pop the CD out to make sure I had the right group. I was pretty sure I threw away all my BeeGee's albums. What happened to the edge. If I wanted pop music, which I didn't, I would choose a different artist. Can I get my money back??
  8. Sep 21, 2011
    0
    I was the biggest fan of Silverchair since frogstomp. Evry lyric hit home precisely. Then this came out, no more. I was so heartbroken. Wheres the soul, hurt and pain, anger, frustration, and love? I know life hits ya but don't forget yourself.
  9. Gerry
    Aug 5, 2002
    8
    Excellent effort, pleasing pop without an excessively sugary after-taste
  10. jon
    Apr 7, 2003
    10
    just so good, not a one listen kind of album, really full sounding tunes, very creative and honest stuff, i love it, anyone who knows music will love it, without you is one of the best tracks along with one way mule, peace in the middle east, cheers.
  11. rona
    Jul 1, 2003
    10
    f**kin good 2!!!
  12. israelpeace
    Oct 9, 2005
    10
    extremely good sound.. fine album.. Rock roots with a touch of classic.. Best of Silverchair!!
  13. AnaO
    Mar 3, 2005
    10
    it's perfect! i just love it
  14. ErinS
    Oct 16, 2002
    10
    Silverchair ROCK...they kick ass and Daniel i luv u soooo much and i think ur sooo brave!! Go Silverchair
  15. CorinF
    Oct 3, 2002
    10
    This album was so amazing! Everytime i listen to it i get goose bumps. now thats music! Seeing these boys live in concert would be a dream come true!
  16. MichelleG
    Sep 28, 2002
    10
    Every album gets better and more experimental. That is what is so great about silverchair, is that they experiment on their music. But they never lose their rock sense.
  17. JohnnyHo
    Mar 14, 2003
    10
    Whoever prefer the old-Nirvana-wannabie Frogstomp over this brilliant album is no better than a Creed or Limp Bizkit fan.
  18. Ieva
    May 3, 2003
    10
    I love this CD!!! I just can`t get it out of the CD player (since months)...
  19. kristenw
    Aug 4, 2003
    10
    I love this cd. It is so awesome. It kicks F@%*ing ass!!!!!
  20. JuliaA
    Apr 11, 2007
    8
    nice album,after Neon Ballroom I never thought they'd go all serene by any chance. as much as I enjoy it,sure there are low points at this album, but at least they have tried their best in being mature instead of being big mouthed musicians.
  21. J.S.Omundson
    Oct 12, 2002
    7
    I bought this album on a whim just to see how these kids had developed. I was sincerely (and pleasantly) surprised by this album. A very enjoyable album!
  22. IanD.
    Oct 12, 2002
    9
    One of the best - and sadly, most underrated, albums of the year. People wrote them off after the less than interesting Freak Show. This proves they've grown into their rock music talents that tehy showed on Frogstomp.
  23. Suza
    Nov 23, 2002
    10
    I love silverchair! This CD is great! I think silverchair should still play music for a long time. They bring hope and joy to young famous band "wanna be's". I love you guys, you ROCK!!!!!!!!!!
  24. TimO.
    Oct 17, 2002
    10
    Different, complex, strangely compelling, surprisingly pleasing, original, and Silverchair??? I was truly impressed by this album. I listen to it over and over and it continues to grow on me. There is a depth that is like a good movie, you notice more each time you watch/listen to it. I notice the "collective" rating from the raters is low in comparrison to the collective praise from both Different, complex, strangely compelling, surprisingly pleasing, original, and Silverchair??? I was truly impressed by this album. I listen to it over and over and it continues to grow on me. There is a depth that is like a good movie, you notice more each time you watch/listen to it. I notice the "collective" rating from the raters is low in comparrison to the collective praise from both fans and even listeners new to Silverchair. This is exactly what the industry needs, a band that is courageous enough to take a chance swimmimg upstream! Expand
  25. FabioC.
    Aug 26, 2002
    9
    a great, excellent experiment of rock mixed up with orchestral arrangements and a voice you cannot forget. give Tuna in the brine a small check, and you´ understand what I´saying. Beautiful, and, that´ weird, positive.
  26. HannahH.
    Sep 25, 2002
    10
    I have Silverchairs DVD I had never heard of them before and when I heard that I went and bought Diorama.I love thta CD I can tell that Daniel is a lot more happier on this album.I would love to go to one of there concerts that would be awsome.
  27. Borgy
    Dec 22, 2003
    9
    A Good CD after a few listens but still not as memroable or enjoyable as Neon Ballroom
  28. MelR
    Jan 4, 2003
    10
    Incredible! It's one of those cd's that you can just listen to and you won't be thinking of anything but the music. The melodies just captivate you and can't help but make you feel good. I love the cd and it's definetly the best cd I ever got!
  29. heidit
    May 4, 2003
    10
    i loved it. i am a huge fan of silverchair, they all have so much talent.
  30. TravisA
    Aug 24, 2003
    10
    This album has properties to heal the human spirit. I've never come across music that made me fall in love with music over again, until this album. Nothing can ever compare to Diorama; that is, of course, if Silverchair doesn't release something else.
  31. josepha
    Mar 19, 2007
    7
    a good album from a silverchair that is transforming from grunge to softer music. this a good album but i miss the original heavyier silverchair
  32. siege
    Nov 13, 2002
    10
    sublime concoction of melody, rock, drama, and paradox. silverchair has indeed metamorphosed in this album. after all those tumultuous years, daniel's grown more mature and passionate-- and you can feel this in his songwriting.
  33. Luke
    Dec 5, 2002
    10
    F**ing exelent
  34. GregH
    Dec 9, 2002
    10
    Best album of the year hands down. Of course, here in America where we totally suck, it will never hit the radio or MTV, which is quite sad. In any event, it's definitely the most unique album i've ever heard, and you'll either love it or hate it. If you could mix Alice In Chains with Queen, it might sound a little bit like this album. I love it, and I haven't stopped Best album of the year hands down. Of course, here in America where we totally suck, it will never hit the radio or MTV, which is quite sad. In any event, it's definitely the most unique album i've ever heard, and you'll either love it or hate it. If you could mix Alice In Chains with Queen, it might sound a little bit like this album. I love it, and I haven't stopped listening to it since I put it in my CD player. Awesome. Expand
  35. Stacey
    Feb 16, 2003
    10
    AWESOME!!!
  36. tarabeautyman
    Mar 17, 2003
    10
    It is a wonderful album, one of their best yet
  37. McDeezT
    Feb 16, 2005
    10
    Brilliant. I don't know what else to say.
  38. ArnoldV
    Jan 27, 2006
    10
    i read some of the pathetic attemps at some harsher judgements of this album and it made me #%@!ing mad. i have been a singinger/songwriter in my own very succesful band in my city for the past ten years and if you knew the first thing about music youd know that this album is not pure perfection from god but is very much a masterpeice. The orchestral arrangements, through to the weaving i read some of the pathetic attemps at some harsher judgements of this album and it made me #%@!ing mad. i have been a singinger/songwriter in my own very succesful band in my city for the past ten years and if you knew the first thing about music youd know that this album is not pure perfection from god but is very much a masterpeice. The orchestral arrangements, through to the weaving of johns silken voice through tracks such as after all these years, everything on this album is pure magic. and dont compare silverchair to nirvana. kurt cobain isnt half the songwriter that daniel johns is, he was just a commercial talkup, nirvana are shit. Expand
  39. Mar 16, 2015
    10
    For all my 24 years of listening to music, Diorama was and still is the best album ever produced, and worth listening to, at any time of my life. This is the only album where I enjoyed every single song. They are so melodious, they take you on an emotional, dreamlike roller coaster ride like never before. I love how an alternative rock genre is being accompanied by an orchestra. It reallyFor all my 24 years of listening to music, Diorama was and still is the best album ever produced, and worth listening to, at any time of my life. This is the only album where I enjoyed every single song. They are so melodious, they take you on an emotional, dreamlike roller coaster ride like never before. I love how an alternative rock genre is being accompanied by an orchestra. It really shows that music goes beyond fixation, depth and so much versatility. I guess Daniel Johns' vision on wanting to make the album sound magical has succeeded. I am still upset at the fact that "Too much of not enough" has never been played live. It bugs me, and it terrifies me that I'll never hear it live, ever. It's already 2015, and it's still my favorite album in the world! Still waiting for Mr. Johns to produce more magic. Expand
  40. Mar 24, 2015
    10
    I stumbled across this album in a music store a couple of years ago and I keep coming back to it. It's one of the best rock albums of the 2000's in my opinion. There is so much variety in terms of music styles. Some of the songs have ballads and plenty of string sections, while others are plain great rock songs. I also find it to be a very mature rock album which is surprising consideringI stumbled across this album in a music store a couple of years ago and I keep coming back to it. It's one of the best rock albums of the 2000's in my opinion. There is so much variety in terms of music styles. Some of the songs have ballads and plenty of string sections, while others are plain great rock songs. I also find it to be a very mature rock album which is surprising considering that I find their previous albums to be Nirvana knock offs. Highly recommended for any fan of rock music. Expand
  41. May 21, 2015
    10
    Silverchair's "Diorama" is one of the best albums I've ever heard. The song writing includes many beautiful songs that were crafted with the skill of a seasoned song writer. The only reason for anyone not to like this album is that the music goes above and beyond what people are generally used to: simple, catchy tunes for minds that prefer not to be stretched in any way other than whatSilverchair's "Diorama" is one of the best albums I've ever heard. The song writing includes many beautiful songs that were crafted with the skill of a seasoned song writer. The only reason for anyone not to like this album is that the music goes above and beyond what people are generally used to: simple, catchy tunes for minds that prefer not to be stretched in any way other than what they're used to (In many cases, this includes grunge-heads who revere they way things used to be. I, for one, am glad the band grew up). Expand
  42. Jun 22, 2015
    10
    The greatest album from the band,i listen to it every day. Daniel has such an wonderful voice and the musics are very well arranged. The songwriting is perfect and every single has a different effect on me.
Metascore
71

Generally favorable reviews - based on 9 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 9
  2. Negative: 0 out of 9
  1. [Daniel] Johns' much-improved vocals and flair for the theatrical complement his new, more inventive guitar style.
  2. 90
    Gorgeously produced, beautifully instrumentated and infused with assurance and purpose, album number four by Australia's wonderkids is simply excellent.
  3. Q Magazine
    60
    Features a few ropey grunge numbers. [Aug 2002, p.133]