• Record Label:
  • Release Date:
Diorama Image
Metascore
71

Generally favorable reviews - based on 9 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.7

Universal acclaim- based on 57 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The former Australian teen grunge stars (whose 1995 debut was released when they were just 15) are still together, and this album marks their fourth release, highlighted by a more mature, refined sound.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 9
  2. Negative: 0 out of 9
  1. 90
    Gorgeously produced, beautifully instrumentated and infused with assurance and purpose, album number four by Australia's wonderkids is simply excellent.
  2. Mostly this is a wonderful surprise from a band thought to have been finished in the late '90s.
  3. With years of added wisdom and maturity, Silverchair has learned how to do much more.
  4. 70
    Johns has finally learned how to cull from his influences without plagiarising them. [Sep 2002, p.95]
  5. [Daniel] Johns' much-improved vocals and flair for the theatrical complement his new, more inventive guitar style.
  6. Features a few ropey grunge numbers. [Aug 2002, p.133]
  7. Bloated over-produced soft rock.

See all 9 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 36 out of 40
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 40
  3. Negative: 4 out of 40
  1. CorinF
    Oct 3, 2002
    10
    This album was so amazing! Everytime i listen to it i get goose bumps. now thats music! Seeing these boys live in concert would be a dream come true!
  2. Sep 6, 2012
    10
    This is personally the best album I have heard since Smashing Pumpkins Mellon Collie. I didn't really enjoy it at first and you need to pullThis is personally the best album I have heard since Smashing Pumpkins Mellon Collie. I didn't really enjoy it at first and you need to pull up the lyrics and really listen. One thing that will amaze you is Daniel Johns voice, who would have guessed this was the same singer of Tomorrow? Ten years after this album came out I am still listening to it on a daily basis because it is deep, multidimensional and beautiful. Even if you don't like it you have to admit Silverchair has talent--esp. Johns as he writes, composes pretty much everything and has a lovely, unique voice. He is a terribly underrated singer. Love this! BTW Silverchair is even more awesome live Expand
  3. Suza
    Nov 23, 2002
    10
    I love silverchair! This CD is great! I think silverchair should still play music for a long time. They bring hope and joy to young famous I love silverchair! This CD is great! I think silverchair should still play music for a long time. They bring hope and joy to young famous band "wanna be's". I love you guys, you ROCK!!!!!!!!!! Expand
  4. israelpeace
    Oct 9, 2005
    10
    extremely good sound.. fine album.. Rock roots with a touch of classic.. Best of Silverchair!!
  5. Mar 24, 2015
    10
    I stumbled across this album in a music store a couple of years ago and I keep coming back to it. It's one of the best rock albums of theI stumbled across this album in a music store a couple of years ago and I keep coming back to it. It's one of the best rock albums of the 2000's in my opinion. There is so much variety in terms of music styles. Some of the songs have ballads and plenty of string sections, while others are plain great rock songs. I also find it to be a very mature rock album which is surprising considering that I find their previous albums to be Nirvana knock offs. Highly recommended for any fan of rock music. Expand
  6. Borgy
    Dec 22, 2003
    9
    A Good CD after a few listens but still not as memroable or enjoyable as Neon Ballroom
  7. Sep 21, 2011
    0
    I was the biggest fan of Silverchair since frogstomp. Evry lyric hit home precisely. Then this came out, no more. I was so heartbroken.I was the biggest fan of Silverchair since frogstomp. Evry lyric hit home precisely. Then this came out, no more. I was so heartbroken. Wheres the soul, hurt and pain, anger, frustration, and love? I know life hits ya but don't forget yourself. Expand

See all 40 User Reviews