Director's Cut - Kate Bush
Director's Cut Image

Generally favorable reviews - based on 22 Critics What's this?

User Score

Generally favorable reviews- based on 16 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The British artist reworked and rerecorded some of her songs from 1989's The Sensual World and 1993's The Red Shoes albums.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 22
  2. Negative: 0 out of 22
  1. 100
    There's a consistency and homogeneity about the 11 tracks (seven from The Red Shoes, four from The Sensual World) which echoes her work on Aerial, and which lends the project a character entirely its own.
  2. 83
    But if Director's Cut is a tad superfluous, it's also gorgeous.
  3. May 18, 2011
    There is, as Bush intended, much more air around the songs, which can reduce their original, raw intensity but also gives them a more mature, lingering potency.
  4. 80
    Her vocals now sound stately, and the impression is of a grande dame breathing new life into work made as an ingenue.
  5. Jun 20, 2011
    Bush considers Director's Cut to be its own separate work, and with each revealing listen, that seems more and more to be the case.
  6. Dec 6, 2011
    The experience of The Director's Cut, encountering all this familiar material in its new dressing, is more than occasionally unsettling, but simultaneously, it is deeply engaging and satisfying.
  7. May 18, 2011
    The reinterpretations offer interesting what-if scenarios, tweaking and altering familiar material, but inevitably reveal more about Bush's fussiness over her own legacy than anything else.

See all 22 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 5
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 5
  3. Negative: 0 out of 5
  1. Jun 1, 2011
    Fantastic effort of the greatest living British musician. She was able to make huge changes in her own masterpieces without doing any harm. Rubberband Girl and Lily, both songs form the Red Shoes album are just smashing. And "Moments of Pleasure" shall give anybody any pleasure he or she needs. Expand
  2. Jun 4, 2011
    A stunning, understated return for one of the greatest, most original artists of all time. Kate Bush reworks the songs from her 1993 and 1989 albums to allow for a more intimate, yet spacious sound. The standout track for me is Never Be Mine - the original was flawless, yet somehow Bush manages to surpass it with this new version. Expand
  3. Oct 29, 2013
    Stunning. Gives a new meaning to the phrase 'older and wiser'. Former soprano, now a dashing contralto, Kate Bush takes her old numbers into a more present-day, streched-out and more subdued approach which sounds both contemporary and timeless. Standouts are 'Flower of the Mountain (with James Joyce's text)', 'Song of Solomon' and the ballads 'This Woman's Work' and 'Moments of Pleasure'. Expand
  4. Sep 7, 2013
    If anyone has the audacity to attempt to cover a Kate Bush song, there is surely no-one more worthy than Bush herself. This collection of songs from her 89 & 93 albums have been reworked and, in all but perhaps the case of Rubberband Girl, vastly improved. Flower of the Mountain has changed both the most and the least, with both a new title and new lyrics, Bush's original intention of words lifted directly from Molly Bloom's soliloquy in Joyce's Ulysses now being permitted by the Joyce estate, and the song is better for it. The music blends seamlessly with the words and manages to beautifully emulate the whole modernist masterpiece.
    Perhaps not an album for first timers, and I would heartily recommend listening to both The Sensual World and The Red Shoes first, but still, an enjoyable listen.
  5. Oct 26, 2011
    Every single release by the great Kate Bush is an artistic feast even if it is a collection of old songs with new vocals and some arrangement changes. Directorâ Expand

Related Articles

  1. May's Best New Music

    May's Best New Music Image
    Published: May 31, 2011
    Find out more about the past month's best albums, which include new works from Fleet Foxes, Raphael Saadiq, and the Beastie Boys. Plus, listen to tracks from each one.