Dirt Farmer

  • Record Label: Vanguard
  • Release Date: Oct 30, 2007
User Score
8.6

Universal acclaim- based on 12 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 12
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 12
  3. Negative: 1 out of 12

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. ByronLJ
    Jul 5, 2009
    8
    I am not a fan of country music, cause it mostly all sounds the same (especially modern country). Would I call this country? Lots of people would, I wouldn't. I'd just call it a good record.
  2. KlassV.
    Nov 20, 2007
    8
    So good to hear him again. great album.
  3. PaulF
    Mar 6, 2008
    10
    Best Album in the last few years. Great to hear him again. This album needs to be un your music collection.
  4. MickeyMental
    Nov 19, 2007
    2
    Um. Boring music from a guy who can't sing.
  5. FMFats
    Nov 22, 2007
    10
    Beautifully played and achingly sung. An instant Americana classic.
  6. ChrisK
    Nov 25, 2007
    9
    As the host of an Americana based radio program, I get nearly every release that comes out. By far, one of the most compelling and authentic albums of the genre for 2007, Levon's friend Larry Campbell, and Levon's daughter have crafted Levon's aged voice into a career masterpiece. This is NOT "Americanapolitan," but more truly a rural, farmland, dry red dirt "no depression" As the host of an Americana based radio program, I get nearly every release that comes out. By far, one of the most compelling and authentic albums of the genre for 2007, Levon's friend Larry Campbell, and Levon's daughter have crafted Levon's aged voice into a career masterpiece. This is NOT "Americanapolitan," but more truly a rural, farmland, dry red dirt "no depression" style album,, complete with covers of the Carter Family and Steve Earle. Very Highly Recommended. Expand
  7. BobM.
    Dec 4, 2007
    10
    I can't stop playing Dirt Farmer. Levon moves me in a way that its hard to describe. I'm so glad he decided to do this cd. Levon Helm IS a national Treasure.
  8. PhilipD'Amour
    Dec 6, 2007
    10
    This is a wonderful album! "Little Birds" is one of the best tracks of the year!
  9. DE
    Jan 31, 2008
    9
    A fine albumn in the Americana style; listening to Levon's singing takes me back to his vocals with The Band.
  10. THorton
    Nov 22, 2007
    8
    One of the best albums of the year!!!!!!

Awards & Rankings

Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 19 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 19
  2. Negative: 0 out of 19
  1. Dirt Farmer is a hard-edged but compassionate and full-hearted set of roots music from a master of the form, and it's a welcome, inspiring return to form for Levon Helm after a long stretch of professional and personal setbacks.
  2. Helm takes material from a variety of sources and makes it all his own.
  3. Helm’s voice is still poignant even if it’s nowhere near as strong as it once was.