Dirty Work

User Score
5.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 30 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 30
  2. Negative: 8 out of 30
Buy On

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 25, 2011
    7
    Me esperaba algo mejor, después de Nothing Personal tenia muchas expectativas pero creo que se volvieron muy comerciales igual no digo que sea un disco malo... lo que mas se destaca son las canciones Guts y Time-bomb
  2. Jul 26, 2011
    7
    They need a chance; obviously, this is nothing like Put Up Or Shut Up, but in a special way it's decent. What I mean by decent still dosen't mean it's great, due to only 3 songs on the album being worth while- A Daydream Away, No Idea, and very slimly Do You Want Me (Dead?), mostly every other song is a poppy party moving, feet tapping, simple pop-rock album, for the most part- the fansThey need a chance; obviously, this is nothing like Put Up Or Shut Up, but in a special way it's decent. What I mean by decent still dosen't mean it's great, due to only 3 songs on the album being worth while- A Daydream Away, No Idea, and very slimly Do You Want Me (Dead?), mostly every other song is a poppy party moving, feet tapping, simple pop-rock album, for the most part- the fans want their old roots back, and I agree. Expand
  3. Feb 4, 2012
    10
    There's no question about it, this album is pure pop. That said, most of the songs are extremely catchy with average lyrics. The lead single I Feel Like Dancin' is far from the best on the album.

    Visit wix.com/iAmTheShinyLight/home for the full review and standout songs.
  4. Aug 27, 2013
    7
    While no Don't Panic, Dirty Work was the pinnacle of the bands career up until this point. It's a big progression from the endearing but vapid collection that was Nothing Personal. The pop songs here are shamelessly committed, the highlights of which are the first three tracks, Do You Want Me, the tongue in cheek party stomper that is I Feel Like Dancin' and Forget About It. Much of theWhile no Don't Panic, Dirty Work was the pinnacle of the bands career up until this point. It's a big progression from the endearing but vapid collection that was Nothing Personal. The pop songs here are shamelessly committed, the highlights of which are the first three tracks, Do You Want Me, the tongue in cheek party stomper that is I Feel Like Dancin' and Forget About It. Much of the rest of the album is a huge step up. The love songs are particularly poignant, with A Daydream Away, No Idea and Under A Paper Moon, while the possible pinnacle of the album is the charged Guts. Gaskarth's vocals are increasingly mature, a competent if uninspiring singer who gets to the heart of the songs in his delivery. Unfortunate is the musical repetition, with tame drumming from a talented craftsman and wall of sound delivery from the guitarist. Jack Barakat isn't the best guitarist in the business, as evidenced by his solo in Guts, but more augmentations during vocal parts would have considerably spiced up the songs. A good album from a band that is still yet to fulfil it large potential. Expand
Metascore
67

Generally favorable reviews - based on 8 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 8
  2. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. Kerrang!
    Jun 24, 2011
    60
    It's just that Dirty work is merely a good album, when it should be a great one. [4 Jun 2011, p.51]
  2. Jun 21, 2011
    60
    On their fourth album, All Time Low get stranded between bratty snot-rock and witty power pop.
  3. Jun 7, 2011
    70
    Consider Dirty Work the band's ultimate bid for mainstream acceptance, and one of their strongest pop albums to date.