Disarm the Descent - Killswitch Engage
Disarm the Descent Image
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 7 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.3

Universal acclaim- based on 28 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The sixth studio release for the Massachusetts metalcore band sees the return of original lead singer Jesse Leach, who had left in 2002.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 7
  2. Negative: 0 out of 7
  1. Apr 2, 2013
    80
    Disarm the Descent is the bountiful fruit of the Killswitch’s rejuvenation, and proof that, in life and metal, there are second chances.
  2. Apr 30, 2013
    80
    Disarm The Descent is an overdue return, a prodigal son story and their best album since The End Of Heartache. [6 Apr 2013, p.53]
  3. Apr 2, 2013
    80
    Disarm The Descent is at least twice as good as 2009's uninspired Killswitch Engage. Although it's not quite the masterful return to Alive or Just Breathing that Leach's reappearance had fans hoping for, it's still damn good.
  4. 80
    Disarm the Descent sees the Massachusetts quintet reinvigorated, leaving 2009's Killswitch Engage in their wake. [May 2013, p.86]
  5. Apr 9, 2013
    80
    This is direct, explosive and packed with big choruses. [May 2013, p.99]
  6. 70
    This is an album that refuses to sit still and stagnate. [Jun 2013, p.87]
  7. Apr 2, 2013
    60
    While the band might be adjusting after a shake-up like losing a singer, they've still managed to create another riff-fest that, while not a throwback to their older sound, has them continuing down their current path without much trouble.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 14
  2. Negative: 0 out of 14
  1. May 27, 2013
    10
    simply put this is their best effort since "the end of heartache" and I dare i say it is better.After their last(less than stellar) albumsimply put this is their best effort since "the end of heartache" and I dare i say it is better.After their last(less than stellar) album "killswitch engage 2" i was worried that they could never regain the intensity and creative and uplifting songwriting that they were known for. I was a fan of howard jones but his scream always left me wanting(compared to leach) but vocally i believed he was the better singer. On this album (disarm the descent) however, I was blown away by jessie leach's singing and his scream is still as spine tingling as on "alive or just breathing". Not only are leach's vocals superior to jones on this album but they have brought back one of my personal favorite signatures of their's the squeal". Guitar wise "disarm the descent" is as blistering and intense as their earlier efforts with song's like "the hell in me" and "in due time" leaving my face melted all over the floor. "Disarm the descent" has been playing non-stop in my car's cd player since purchase with "no end in sight" of it being replaced any time soon.lol Expand
  2. Jun 1, 2013
    10
    This is such an amazing album. From the tight production value to Jesse Leach's ferocious screams, Disarm The Descent rises to become theirThis is such an amazing album. From the tight production value to Jesse Leach's ferocious screams, Disarm The Descent rises to become their best album yet. This is their "Master Of Puppets" album, and only serves to peak my anticipation for their next release. Expand
  3. Dec 9, 2013
    10
    I have never been a fan of Howard Jones over the top theatrical choruses so when I saw that Jesse Leach and his much more straight forwardI have never been a fan of Howard Jones over the top theatrical choruses so when I saw that Jesse Leach and his much more straight forward music were coming back I felt a sense of relief. Upon hearing this CD I am absolutely hooked. KSE have produced THE metalcore CD of the year. This has a wide ranging appeal not only to the basic KSE fans but other genres will now take notice. Great music. Collapse
  4. Apr 19, 2013
    9
    Disarm the Descent is a fantastic return for Killswitch Engage. After the decent but highly disappointing 2009 album 'Killswitch Engage',Disarm the Descent is a fantastic return for Killswitch Engage. After the decent but highly disappointing 2009 album 'Killswitch Engage', Disarm the Descent is especially great. First off, those looking for a return of the sound of the band's first two records (also with Jesse on vocals) will likely find this album a little disappointing, Jesse has lost a bit of the aggressive edge to his vocals but has picked up magnificently in his clean vocals. Seriously, this album reminded me of the best of Soilwork, Howard Jones' previous work for Killswitch and some of the best from fellow metal core band All That Remains; in all the right ways. The album has a lot of pace at times as well as the traditional Killswitch sound that goes throughout all their records, providing a clean, heavy sound that fans will love whilst still managing to remain fresh. Tracks 'In Due Time', 'No End in Sight' and 'The Hell in Me' are now personal favourites and will be sure to make new fans for this ever great band. Colour me excited for the future. 91/100. Expand
  5. Sep 28, 2013
    8
    I was kind of hesitant about this CD before its release after the change from Howard on vocals back to their original singer Jesse, but theyI was kind of hesitant about this CD before its release after the change from Howard on vocals back to their original singer Jesse, but they managed to do more than just crank out another album, they created another unique and worthy listening experience. They're relying less on catchy riffs and more on the vocals, which was a huge risk considering. Expand
  6. Apr 24, 2013
    8
    A good return of KSE, but I do not really surprised.
    Jesse Leach returned years later muchs KSE was good news, because if I like singing in
    A good return of KSE, but I do not really surprised.
    Jesse Leach returned years later muchs KSE was good news, because if I like singing in the band, but now I have to say it was somewhat disappointing on their part, their guttural voices were almost bad, maybe not you think so but a comparison of AOJB album is almost disappointing.
    Clarified that the clean vocals of Jesse Leach are still very good as previous works, but he also had the same problem as Howard Jones on his album, do not sound like themselves, in this case Jesse sounded like it was a sore throat if they hear this new album AOJB and can it be confused with the guttural voice and find new work ugly.
    The instruments still sound amazing and epic plus great guitar riffs or solos that can be seen in the songs: "The New Awakening" and In Due Time while continuing to have good lyrics.
    The truth is not what rating to give it, is very good pace, but he failed the guttural. Also, if it is true that Jesse them again with renewed push towards the wild and dark side of the band, but only rarely. If anyone expected the Killswitch, now back to Jesse's head, would dare to charge a second part of that great Alive Or Just Breathing, or simply going to continue from that point aside all the stage ultra-melodic emotional and have lived with Howard Jones, goes very wrong, or at least half.
    Prisoners of their own patterns and secured in a position they do not want being eroded, sweetened excesivametne choirs and emotion pastelosa breathing some tarnish again flawless production work and a potential that was lost many years ago.
    Expand
  7. Apr 20, 2013
    5
    I'm letting my metal loving friend trying to slowly ease me into the music and am being introduced to some of the best bands and KillswitchI'm letting my metal loving friend trying to slowly ease me into the music and am being introduced to some of the best bands and Killswitch Engage was recommended and seeing as they had a new album out, I figured I'd give it a try. I am liking their style of metal but at the moment, I'm struggling to find lots of tracks that cross from "ok" into "brilliant." The best track is definitely the opener, The Hell In Me and The New Awakening and In Due Time are very good too. But everything after that seems to fall into the acceptable category and tend to be rather samey. But I say all this is a beginner of listening to metal and I haven't listened to full albums of all the different styles yet and my overall opinion about metal music is still in the early stages. For now, most of the ones I listen to get a 5/10 rating, because none have been bad so far. And this is another one of those. Expand

See all 14 User Reviews