Disc-Overy

Disc-Overy Image
Metascore
72

Generally favorable reviews - based on 18 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 22 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The London rapper makes his debut of hip-hop and pop jams.

Top Track

Written in the Stars
Oh written in the stars A million miles away A message to the mane Oh Seasons come and go But I will never change And I'm on my way Let's... See the rest of the song lyrics
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 18
  2. Negative: 0 out of 18
  1. May 16, 2011
    80
    His use of simile and metaphor is questionable but with an irrepressible energy and guest vocal spots from Kelly Rowland (Invincible) and Ellie Goulding (Wonderman) on top of three top five hits, this Peckham born rapper might just have made the most fun pop album of the year.
  2. May 16, 2011
    80
    It has some outstanding musical qualities, an author with a unique voice, a solid enough narrative and hit singles.
  3. Aug 23, 2011
    80
    A serious album, with huge potential and no weak points, Disc-Overy is the coming of age UK hip hop has long needed but been too timid to reach for.
  4. May 17, 2011
    70
    The closer to hip-hop he gets, the better.
  5. 60
    The album is a good listen, but it isn't anything the world hasn't heard before.
  6. Turn a deaf ear to the Cowell-connected producer Labrinth's uninspired Brit-hop beats and instead concentrate on the surely intentional comedy of Tinie's "I've got so many clothes I keep some of them in my aunt's house" and "I've been to Southampton but I've never been to Scunthorpe" (both from number-one single "Pass Out").
  7. May 16, 2011
    50
    The consistent issue with Disc-Overy is the pairing of Tempah with people who fail to elevate him.

See all 18 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 5
  2. Negative: 1 out of 5
  1. May 24, 2011
    10
    Amazing album, been listening to it for over 6 months and the songs still feel pretty fresh and haven't gotten old. If you are even remotelyAmazing album, been listening to it for over 6 months and the songs still feel pretty fresh and haven't gotten old. If you are even remotely into the genre then you will be pleased. Expand
  2. Jun 25, 2011
    10
    Dazzling debut album from Britain's next big thing! Lyrically its just awesome. Since Tinie arrived on the scene with breakthrough debutDazzling debut album from Britain's next big thing! Lyrically its just awesome. Since Tinie arrived on the scene with breakthrough debut single Pass Out he seemed destined for greatness. Pass Out is one of the lead trakcs but make no mistake there is plenty to be had here, its hard to find a bad song on this album. Written In The Stars is anthem and one of the best songs of 2010 (in the UK) and was the theme song for the WWE and theres a reason for that! Other top tunes include the sensational duet with Ellie Goulding, Wonderman, Invincible which features Kelly Rowland, Frisky with Labrinth, an epci collaboration with the Swedish House Mafia in Miama 2 Ibiza and a personal favourite Let Go as well as Simply Unstoppable as seen in Lucozade adverts minus Travis Barker. All in all Disc-Overy is a dynamite debut album from a man with a very big future. Mr Tempah is the future!!! Expand
  3. May 17, 2011
    8
    This is one hell of a album. You just love the lyrics and the fell that Tinie Tempah brings to his tracks. I do not know much about the musicThis is one hell of a album. You just love the lyrics and the fell that Tinie Tempah brings to his tracks. I do not know much about the music industry or weather eveybody will think this is a good album, but I think it is great. Collapse
  4. Dec 10, 2016
    5
    In comparison to other mainstream British Hip-Hop/Urban, it's a masterpiece. In comparison to the international Hip-Hop/Urban genre, it'sIn comparison to other mainstream British Hip-Hop/Urban, it's a masterpiece. In comparison to the international Hip-Hop/Urban genre, it's weak. It relies far too heavily on dance sounds, making it feel a little by-the-book (or should I say computer?).
    Still, with all it's flaws, it'll always remain an important British record. After far too long, it finally reintroduced the USA (and others) to British Hip-Hop, something not seen since Dizzee's 'Boy in da Corner'.
    Expand
  5. Feb 23, 2012
    3
    this album barely has hope. The only good songs are Pass Out, Till im gone & Illusion. Listening to this album makes me uninterested intothis album barely has hope. The only good songs are Pass Out, Till im gone & Illusion. Listening to this album makes me uninterested into Tinie He needs to step it up Expand