Discovery - Daft Punk
Discovery Image
Metascore
74

Generally favorable reviews - based on 19 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.2

Universal acclaim- based on 343 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The French electronica band returns with its long-awaited follow-up to its hit 1998 debut, Homework.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 19
  2. Negative: 1 out of 19
  1. Apr 3, 2013
    100
    Daft Punk are such stellar, meticulous producers that they make any sound work, even superficially dated ones like spastic early-'80s electro/R&B ("Short Circuit") or faux-orchestral synthesizer baroque ("Veridis Quo").
  2. Daft Punk have pulled off a brilliant wheeze by re-inventing the mid-'80s as the coolest pop era ever. And not even the officially approved retro-kitsch cool of Madonna's lukewarm excursions into post-Daft terrain but all the bubble-permed, sports-jacket-and-jeans excesses they can muster.... Mostly, though, 'Discovery' is simply fantastic pop...
  3. 80
    The duo's ingenuity and willingness to push the envelope shines as brave and completely commendable. [Apr 2001, p.90]
  4. 70
    You don't even need to be strung out in a dark room full of beautiful strangers to enjoy it. [June 2001, p.158]
  5. Listeners might tire of its mechanical edge, but luckily Daft Punk folds in a few more layers. Whether the listener believes it or not, Discovery postulates that club music can possess depth of sound and be more than a never-ending beat that simply marshals your body along with it. Thus, the songs are shorter, more eclectic and rife with hills and valleys of beat that urge you to stop and listen.
  6. 70
    Matching Homework in quirkiness, buoyancy, and club-ready freak-beats, Discovery combines the best of what Daft Punk has to offer: mid-'80s synth-pop ("Digital Love"), sleazy euro-funk ("Harder Better Faster Stronger"), shake-your-booty electro-metal with spacey guitar effects ("Aerodynamic" -- Basement Jaxx meets Eddie Van Halen), and minimal, big-beat tunes that Underworld wishes it would have thought of first ("Superheroes").
  7. While Discovery embraces the cheesiness of the lamest of lame music, the strategy frequently comes across as gimmickry. The album isn't so much fun as it is silly, and while Daft Punk's members may just be musical smart-alecks, funk hasn't sounded this resoundingly stupid since Bootsy Collins' squiggly solo work.

See all 19 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Mixed: 0 out of 118
  2. Negative: 1 out of 118
  1. hans(PUNK)F
    Oct 21, 2003
    10
    i love what they do with their voices in this album,this CD and homework R best albums ever
  2. BenS.
    Oct 4, 2009
    10
    A magical album that you can listen to and enjoy many times. Every track has its place and even filler tracks such as 'Voyager' are A magical album that you can listen to and enjoy many times. Every track has its place and even filler tracks such as 'Voyager' are pleasant and intriguing. Particular Strength is found in the electronic synth solo of "Digital Love" and the catchy melodic hook of "One More Time" A Must have album in anyone's music library. Expand
  3. HugoN
    Sep 2, 2006
    10
    The more I listen it the better it gets! It succeeds when trying to take me to the 80's. One the best works of our Robo-friends, The more I listen it the better it gets! It succeeds when trying to take me to the 80's. One the best works of our Robo-friends, definitively a must-have for all the fans n' freaks into the electro-beat. I think im gonna listen it all over again right now.. Expand
  4. Jun 29, 2012
    10
    Probably one of the best dance albums of all time, the album starts and ends with the same vocalists and really shows his vocal ability (theProbably one of the best dance albums of all time, the album starts and ends with the same vocalists and really shows his vocal ability (the first song features an extensive use of autotune whilst the final track has a beautiful acoustic voice with backing vocals by the two band members). Every song is beautifully crafted and produced which shows how much emotion was put into the album. Daft Punk's first album Homework was meant to be one of the most influential dance albums ever, but I think Discovery tops that. Expand
  5. Sep 19, 2014
    10
    Though many could consider Homework or Random Access Memories their milestones—Homework for contributing to modern electronic music (andThough many could consider Homework or Random Access Memories their milestones—Homework for contributing to modern electronic music (and simply because it's their debut album) and RAM for its commercial breakthrough and refinement to an era of EDM where everyone wants to be David Guetta—Discovery is truly where it all began, in my opinion. Not just the beginning of Thomas Bangalter and Guy-Manuel de Homem Christo's robotic alter egos—caused by a September 9th, 1999 accident in their studio, ahem. But the beginning of an era where electronic music began again. Discovery could be considered a main highlight in the early noughties, with "One More Time" being noteworthy as one of the greatest singles of the decade and "Harder, Better, Faster, Stronger" being sampled by Kanye West then remixed into their Alive tour, however, it's just a work of art in its own right, disregarding Pitchfork and all that praised it in their year-end lists.

    Technically speaking—if I spoke from my own fangirl alter ego, I'd simply say "This album is **** amazing" and nothing else—Discovery has a polished production that's almost insulting for the simple fact that it's samples layered upon samples, which would later end up being sampled by other artists. And yet it's all original in its own right, especially considering the obscurity of the samples chosen. It's obviously not a concept album, but to recommend single songs off of the album seems impossible, considering it'd strip the mood from when you listen to it on continuous play. From the sappy, feel-good vibes in its lead single and "Digital Love" to the funky, chill vibes in "Something About Us", it's astonishing how cohesive a dance album can actually be. To sum it all up, it's amazing, there.
    Expand
  6. GabrielN.
    Dec 21, 2008
    9
    I'm a song lover, i hate albums, but it happens that every song on this album is great, and some of them really brilliant! It's I'm a song lover, i hate albums, but it happens that every song on this album is great, and some of them really brilliant! It's music that you can feel related to in a personal, intimate way. Very very underrated, best of Daft Punk, and probably one of the best albums ever. Expand
  7. LukaszK.
    Mar 18, 2007
    0
    SHIT SHIT SHIT SHIT SHIT SHITSHIT SHIT SHIT SHIT SHIT SHITSHIT SHIT SHIT SHIT SHIT SHITSHIT SHIT SHIT SHIT SHIT SHITSHIT SHIT SHIT SHIT SHIT SHIT SHIT SHIT SHIT SHIT SHITSHIT SHIT SHIT SHIT SHIT SHITSHIT SHIT SHIT SHIT SHIT SHITSHIT SHIT SHIT SHIT SHIT SHITSHIT SHIT SHIT SHIT SHIT SHITSHIT SHIT SHIT SHIT SHIT SHITSHIT SHIT SHIT SHIT SHIT SHITSHIT SHIT SHIT SHIT SHIT SHIT I hate this music but my daft brother listen this fucki'n music Expand

See all 118 User Reviews