Discovery - Daft Punk
Discovery Image
Metascore
74

Generally favorable reviews - based on 19 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.4

Universal acclaim- based on 314 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The French electronica band returns with its long-awaited follow-up to its hit 1998 debut, Homework.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 19
  2. Negative: 1 out of 19
  1. Apr 3, 2013
    100
    Daft Punk are such stellar, meticulous producers that they make any sound work, even superficially dated ones like spastic early-'80s electro/R&B ("Short Circuit") or faux-orchestral synthesizer baroque ("Veridis Quo").
  2. Daft Punk have pulled off a brilliant wheeze by re-inventing the mid-'80s as the coolest pop era ever. And not even the officially approved retro-kitsch cool of Madonna's lukewarm excursions into post-Daft terrain but all the bubble-permed, sports-jacket-and-jeans excesses they can muster.... Mostly, though, 'Discovery' is simply fantastic pop...
  3. 80
    The duo's ingenuity and willingness to push the envelope shines as brave and completely commendable. [Apr 2001, p.90]
  4. 70
    You don't even need to be strung out in a dark room full of beautiful strangers to enjoy it. [June 2001, p.158]
  5. Listeners might tire of its mechanical edge, but luckily Daft Punk folds in a few more layers. Whether the listener believes it or not, Discovery postulates that club music can possess depth of sound and be more than a never-ending beat that simply marshals your body along with it. Thus, the songs are shorter, more eclectic and rife with hills and valleys of beat that urge you to stop and listen.
  6. 70
    Matching Homework in quirkiness, buoyancy, and club-ready freak-beats, Discovery combines the best of what Daft Punk has to offer: mid-'80s synth-pop ("Digital Love"), sleazy euro-funk ("Harder Better Faster Stronger"), shake-your-booty electro-metal with spacey guitar effects ("Aerodynamic" -- Basement Jaxx meets Eddie Van Halen), and minimal, big-beat tunes that Underworld wishes it would have thought of first ("Superheroes").
  7. While Discovery embraces the cheesiness of the lamest of lame music, the strategy frequently comes across as gimmickry. The album isn't so much fun as it is silly, and while Daft Punk's members may just be musical smart-alecks, funk hasn't sounded this resoundingly stupid since Bootsy Collins' squiggly solo work.

See all 19 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Mixed: 0 out of 114
  2. Negative: 1 out of 114
  1. Mar 5, 2012
    10
    An absolutely outstanding album , the best electronic artists of all time.Cosmic , happy and beautiful , you cant not like this album.Possibly the best album of the 21st century Expand
  2. Jun 2, 2011
    10
    Es un buen disco, con canciones muy buenas y la musica esta muy bien. La letra de las canciones aunque en español suenen ridiculas en ingles suenan muy bien.
    Solo tengo un palabra para este disco: Perfecto.
    Expand
  3. May 26, 2013
    10
    I've listened to this album so many times in my car. I can never get sick of it. Amazing amazing amazing. I even got my friends hooked to them. Particularly face to face is their jam. Expand
  4. May 18, 2012
    10
    My favourite album of all time. It's magical. I highly recommend watching the interstella 5555 movie. This album made them known as the French robotic electronica gods that they are. Most tracks are so dynamic: it starts with a fresh intro, then comes the main beat followed by an epic twist halfway through the song and ending with more beauty. Listen to Aerodynamic, Harder Better Faster Stronger, Digital Love, Face to Face, Veridis Quo or Voyager and you'll know what I mean Collapse
  5. Aug 4, 2013
    10
    Especially in the genre of electronic music, there’s a lot of individual taste that affects your approach to different DJs and therefore it’s completely okay with me, if you disagree on what I’m saying here. But I still think that this is the best electronic music album ever made. Every single song has good stuff about it, but in general these are the most important things to be said about Discovery: Bangalter and De Homem-Christo’s talent in creating music is undeniable and they are able to let instrumental music speak on its own. Their music, mostly without or with very simple lyrics, brings emotions with them that some musicians of other genres aren’t able to deliver with five verses. And when the duo includes the lyrics, they are outstandingly good, and not only in regards to the other lyrics in this genre. The words aren’t hazy at all, in fact, you as the listener are addressed very directly and clearly. And by that, Daft Punk shows us that you don’t need complicated or incomprehensible lyrics to be considered good by critics or audiences; you just have to include good and touching phrasing. In some parts, i.e. the album’s final song, the ironically titled 10-minute-dance-track Too Long, the two French hommes simply bank on sing-along mantras like “Can you feel it?” and it works! Each and every one of the 14 tracks included has something unique about it that should make every die-hard fan of other music genres quickly convert to house. If you think that this type of music is monotonous and boring, Daft Punk proves you wrong. They manage to create so many different layers of electronic music in one album while still staying relatively cohesive (they even made an utterly impressive movie to this album, entitled Interstellar 5555). The first six songs are purely amazing, the other eight are still awesome and your interest won’t get lost at any point in this one-hour-long CD, I promise. Daft Punk had sparked my interest with their 1997 debut Homework, but after this release, I became an absolute fan of their purely revolutionizing work. Discovery isn’t only fantastic to dance to, it is also one of the most important albums in the history of electronic music. Expand
  6. Jun 23, 2014
    10
    Still my favorite album!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Expand
  7. May 23, 2013
    8
    As Discovery, is a fine album. But as being the soundtrack of Interstella 5555, is an awesome album, one of the best albums of the decade

See all 114 User Reviews