Discovery

  • Record Label:
  • Release Date:
Discovery Image
Metascore
74

Generally favorable reviews - based on 19 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.2

Universal acclaim- based on 378 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The French electronica band returns with its long-awaited follow-up to its hit 1998 debut, Homework.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 19
  2. Negative: 1 out of 19
  1. Apr 3, 2013
    100
    Daft Punk are such stellar, meticulous producers that they make any sound work, even superficially dated ones like spastic early-'80s electro/R&B ("Short Circuit") or faux-orchestral synthesizer baroque ("Veridis Quo").
  2. Daft Punk have pulled off a brilliant wheeze by re-inventing the mid-'80s as the coolest pop era ever. And not even the officially approved retro-kitsch cool of Madonna's lukewarm excursions into post-Daft terrain but all the bubble-permed, sports-jacket-and-jeans excesses they can muster.... Mostly, though, 'Discovery' is simply fantastic pop...
  3. 80
    The duo's ingenuity and willingness to push the envelope shines as brave and completely commendable. [Apr 2001, p.90]
  4. Listeners might tire of its mechanical edge, but luckily Daft Punk folds in a few more layers. Whether the listener believes it or not, Discovery postulates that club music can possess depth of sound and be more than a never-ending beat that simply marshals your body along with it. Thus, the songs are shorter, more eclectic and rife with hills and valleys of beat that urge you to stop and listen.
  5. 70
    Matching Homework in quirkiness, buoyancy, and club-ready freak-beats, Discovery combines the best of what Daft Punk has to offer: mid-'80s synth-pop ("Digital Love"), sleazy euro-funk ("Harder Better Faster Stronger"), shake-your-booty electro-metal with spacey guitar effects ("Aerodynamic" -- Basement Jaxx meets Eddie Van Halen), and minimal, big-beat tunes that Underworld wishes it would have thought of first ("Superheroes").
  6. 70
    You don't even need to be strung out in a dark room full of beautiful strangers to enjoy it. [June 2001, p.158]
  7. While Discovery embraces the cheesiness of the lamest of lame music, the strategy frequently comes across as gimmickry. The album isn't so much fun as it is silly, and while Daft Punk's members may just be musical smart-alecks, funk hasn't sounded this resoundingly stupid since Bootsy Collins' squiggly solo work.

See all 19 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Mixed: 0 out of 121
  2. Negative: 1 out of 121
  1. IdemilsonJúnior
    Nov 26, 2003
    10
    Fantastic !
  2. PhilipS.
    Jul 30, 2001
    10
    This is one of the best albums I've heard in 10 years. Every song is a new discovery - fusion of 70s or 80s disco and funk produced with This is one of the best albums I've heard in 10 years. Every song is a new discovery - fusion of 70s or 80s disco and funk produced with second millennium house style. They manage to make everything sound fresh and unique and yet strangely familiar. Its definitely the most emotional house music I have ever heard (if that was their goal they achieved it). So, it wasn't like the Homework album. But why make another Homework album? Thank you Daft Punk for this wonderful breathe of fresh air. Expand
  3. BenS.
    Oct 4, 2009
    10
    A magical album that you can listen to and enjoy many times. Every track has its place and even filler tracks such as 'Voyager' are A magical album that you can listen to and enjoy many times. Every track has its place and even filler tracks such as 'Voyager' are pleasant and intriguing. Particular Strength is found in the electronic synth solo of "Digital Love" and the catchy melodic hook of "One More Time" A Must have album in anyone's music library. Expand
  4. HaoS
    Nov 23, 2006
    10
    This album has to be watched, not listened, I mean, the music video of this album(Interstella 5555: The 5tory of the 5ecret 5tar 5ystem) can This album has to be watched, not listened, I mean, the music video of this album(Interstella 5555: The 5tory of the 5ecret 5tar 5ystem) can become a damn classic musical movie as Pink floyd's THE WALL Expand
  5. Jun 5, 2013
    10
    I've been to different genres in the music industry and I must say, Discovery was my discovery of House music. The best I've heard in my lifeI've been to different genres in the music industry and I must say, Discovery was my discovery of House music. The best I've heard in my life and it is capable of making me enjoy most minutes of some boring days. Expand
  6. IanD.
    Aug 3, 2002
    10
    Its got to be the most inovative Cd of its time. Daft Punk has awakend a new world to the Techno Industry
  7. LukaszK.
    Mar 18, 2007
    0
    SHIT SHIT SHIT SHIT SHIT SHITSHIT SHIT SHIT SHIT SHIT SHITSHIT SHIT SHIT SHIT SHIT SHITSHIT SHIT SHIT SHIT SHIT SHITSHIT SHIT SHIT SHIT SHIT SHIT SHIT SHIT SHIT SHIT SHITSHIT SHIT SHIT SHIT SHIT SHITSHIT SHIT SHIT SHIT SHIT SHITSHIT SHIT SHIT SHIT SHIT SHITSHIT SHIT SHIT SHIT SHIT SHITSHIT SHIT SHIT SHIT SHIT SHITSHIT SHIT SHIT SHIT SHIT SHITSHIT SHIT SHIT SHIT SHIT SHIT I hate this music but my daft brother listen this fucki'n music Collapse

See all 121 User Reviews