• Record Label:
  • Release Date:
Discovery Image
Metascore
74

Generally favorable reviews - based on 19 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.1

Universal acclaim- based on 365 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The French electronica band returns with its long-awaited follow-up to its hit 1998 debut, Homework.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 19
  2. Negative: 1 out of 19
  1. Apr 3, 2013
    100
    Daft Punk are such stellar, meticulous producers that they make any sound work, even superficially dated ones like spastic early-'80s electro/R&B ("Short Circuit") or faux-orchestral synthesizer baroque ("Veridis Quo").
  2. Daft Punk have pulled off a brilliant wheeze by re-inventing the mid-'80s as the coolest pop era ever. And not even the officially approved retro-kitsch cool of Madonna's lukewarm excursions into post-Daft terrain but all the bubble-permed, sports-jacket-and-jeans excesses they can muster.... Mostly, though, 'Discovery' is simply fantastic pop...
  3. 80
    The duo's ingenuity and willingness to push the envelope shines as brave and completely commendable. [Apr 2001, p.90]
  4. Listeners might tire of its mechanical edge, but luckily Daft Punk folds in a few more layers. Whether the listener believes it or not, Discovery postulates that club music can possess depth of sound and be more than a never-ending beat that simply marshals your body along with it. Thus, the songs are shorter, more eclectic and rife with hills and valleys of beat that urge you to stop and listen.
  5. 70
    Matching Homework in quirkiness, buoyancy, and club-ready freak-beats, Discovery combines the best of what Daft Punk has to offer: mid-'80s synth-pop ("Digital Love"), sleazy euro-funk ("Harder Better Faster Stronger"), shake-your-booty electro-metal with spacey guitar effects ("Aerodynamic" -- Basement Jaxx meets Eddie Van Halen), and minimal, big-beat tunes that Underworld wishes it would have thought of first ("Superheroes").
  6. 70
    You don't even need to be strung out in a dark room full of beautiful strangers to enjoy it. [June 2001, p.158]
  7. While Discovery embraces the cheesiness of the lamest of lame music, the strategy frequently comes across as gimmickry. The album isn't so much fun as it is silly, and while Daft Punk's members may just be musical smart-alecks, funk hasn't sounded this resoundingly stupid since Bootsy Collins' squiggly solo work.

See all 19 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Mixed: 0 out of 119
  2. Negative: 1 out of 119
  1. hans(PUNK)F
    Oct 21, 2003
    10
    i love what they do with their voices in this album,this CD and homework R best albums ever
  2. BenS.
    Oct 4, 2009
    10
    A magical album that you can listen to and enjoy many times. Every track has its place and even filler tracks such as 'Voyager' are A magical album that you can listen to and enjoy many times. Every track has its place and even filler tracks such as 'Voyager' are pleasant and intriguing. Particular Strength is found in the electronic synth solo of "Digital Love" and the catchy melodic hook of "One More Time" A Must have album in anyone's music library. Expand
  3. HugoN
    Sep 2, 2006
    10
    The more I listen it the better it gets! It succeeds when trying to take me to the 80's. One the best works of our Robo-friends, The more I listen it the better it gets! It succeeds when trying to take me to the 80's. One the best works of our Robo-friends, definitively a must-have for all the fans n' freaks into the electro-beat. I think im gonna listen it all over again right now.. Expand
  4. Dec 4, 2012
    10
    Beautiful music, and that's the only thing that really matters. Every song of this album is a unique piece of art, the joyful and dance-ableBeautiful music, and that's the only thing that really matters. Every song of this album is a unique piece of art, the joyful and dance-able "One More Time", "Voyager" with a driving in the sunset feeling or "Aerodynamic" with a face melting guitar solo, this album is art. Expand
  5. TomM.
    Jul 22, 2002
    10
    You either like it or you don't, but if you do then you will never go back, just simpaly the best thing i have ever heard and it's You either like it or you don't, but if you do then you will never go back, just simpaly the best thing i have ever heard and it's brilliance will never be bettered, every element of each song can be felt as you listen. Expand
  6. GabrielN.
    Dec 21, 2008
    9
    I'm a song lover, i hate albums, but it happens that every song on this album is great, and some of them really brilliant! It's I'm a song lover, i hate albums, but it happens that every song on this album is great, and some of them really brilliant! It's music that you can feel related to in a personal, intimate way. Very very underrated, best of Daft Punk, and probably one of the best albums ever. Expand
  7. LukaszK.
    Mar 18, 2007
    0
    SHIT SHIT SHIT SHIT SHIT SHITSHIT SHIT SHIT SHIT SHIT SHITSHIT SHIT SHIT SHIT SHIT SHITSHIT SHIT SHIT SHIT SHIT SHITSHIT SHIT SHIT SHIT SHIT SHIT SHIT SHIT SHIT SHIT SHITSHIT SHIT SHIT SHIT SHIT SHITSHIT SHIT SHIT SHIT SHIT SHITSHIT SHIT SHIT SHIT SHIT SHITSHIT SHIT SHIT SHIT SHIT SHITSHIT SHIT SHIT SHIT SHIT SHITSHIT SHIT SHIT SHIT SHIT SHITSHIT SHIT SHIT SHIT SHIT SHIT I hate this music but my daft brother listen this fucki'n music Collapse

See all 119 User Reviews