Discovery - Daft Punk
Discovery Image
Metascore
74

Generally favorable reviews - based on 19 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.5

Universal acclaim- based on 303 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The French electronica band returns with its long-awaited follow-up to its hit 1998 debut, Homework.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 19
  2. Negative: 1 out of 19
  1. Apr 3, 2013
    100
    Daft Punk are such stellar, meticulous producers that they make any sound work, even superficially dated ones like spastic early-'80s electro/R&B ("Short Circuit") or faux-orchestral synthesizer baroque ("Veridis Quo").
  2. Daft Punk have pulled off a brilliant wheeze by re-inventing the mid-'80s as the coolest pop era ever. And not even the officially approved retro-kitsch cool of Madonna's lukewarm excursions into post-Daft terrain but all the bubble-permed, sports-jacket-and-jeans excesses they can muster.... Mostly, though, 'Discovery' is simply fantastic pop...
  3. 80
    The duo's ingenuity and willingness to push the envelope shines as brave and completely commendable. [Apr 2001, p.90]
  4. 70
    You don't even need to be strung out in a dark room full of beautiful strangers to enjoy it. [June 2001, p.158]
  5. Listeners might tire of its mechanical edge, but luckily Daft Punk folds in a few more layers. Whether the listener believes it or not, Discovery postulates that club music can possess depth of sound and be more than a never-ending beat that simply marshals your body along with it. Thus, the songs are shorter, more eclectic and rife with hills and valleys of beat that urge you to stop and listen.
  6. 70
    Matching Homework in quirkiness, buoyancy, and club-ready freak-beats, Discovery combines the best of what Daft Punk has to offer: mid-'80s synth-pop ("Digital Love"), sleazy euro-funk ("Harder Better Faster Stronger"), shake-your-booty electro-metal with spacey guitar effects ("Aerodynamic" -- Basement Jaxx meets Eddie Van Halen), and minimal, big-beat tunes that Underworld wishes it would have thought of first ("Superheroes").
  7. While Discovery embraces the cheesiness of the lamest of lame music, the strategy frequently comes across as gimmickry. The album isn't so much fun as it is silly, and while Daft Punk's members may just be musical smart-alecks, funk hasn't sounded this resoundingly stupid since Bootsy Collins' squiggly solo work.

See all 19 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Mixed: 0 out of 113
  2. Negative: 1 out of 113
  1. Feb 23, 2012
    10
    I LOVE this album!! It is realy realy amazing!!
  2. Jun 2, 2011
    10
    Es un buen disco, con canciones muy buenas y la musica esta muy bien. La letra de las canciones aunque en español suenen ridiculas en ingles suenan muy bien.
    Solo tengo un palabra para este disco: Perfecto.
    Expand
  3. May 26, 2013
    10
    I've listened to this album so many times in my car. I can never get sick of it. Amazing amazing amazing. I even got my friends hooked to them. Particularly face to face is their jam. Expand
  4. May 16, 2012
    10
    One of the greatest electronic album's of all time and will be remembered as such. Perfectly captures the emotion and tone of childhood and youth, my first experience with Electronic music and I feel unbelievably lucky to have lived through such an amazing piece of Art. Expand
  5. Jun 5, 2013
    10
    I've been to different genres in the music industry and I must say, Discovery was my discovery of House music. The best I've heard in my life and it is capable of making me enjoy most minutes of some boring days. Expand
  6. Sep 4, 2013
    10
    A masterpiece that lives on largely unappreciated these days I think. Recorded just before the explosion of social media and the age of internet-hype and subsequent let-downs (cough cough, random access, cough), This album seems to me to be aging very well. It was overshadowed by "One more time", which is genuinely a great song, but not as good as the head-y, ahead-of-it's-time, glitch-y "Face to Face", or the ten-minute, four to the flour, soul-lifting finale, "Too Long". I see this album as a true testament to the way music used to be recorded, as a journey, an emotional roller coaster from it's bigger than life start to it's finish, which brings a true, fulfilling sense of closure, helped in no small part by the anime it was made in conjunction with, Intersteller 5555 (if you haven't seen it all the way through, you don't have a complete perspective, watch it, I implore you). On a side note, I hadn't even heard "Harder, Better..." until after Kanye's (the hip hop clown) garbage had already tainted it for me, which is truly too bad because it's a fantastic little piece of space-funk. Discovery as a whole is daring, exciting, dynamic, beautiful, and above all, fun. Expand
  7. May 23, 2013
    8
    As Discovery, is a fine album. But as being the soundtrack of Interstella 5555, is an awesome album, one of the best albums of the decade

See all 113 User Reviews