• Record Label:
  • Release Date:
Ditherer Image

Generally favorable reviews - based on 13 Critics What's this?

User Score

No user score yet- Awaiting 2 more ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Fog's fourth album includes contributions from: Why?, Low, Andrew Bird, Dosh, pedestrian, Phil Elverum, Jeremy Ylvisaker, and Mike Lewis.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 13
  2. Negative: 0 out of 13
  1. 86
    It’s existential, but under piles of heavy thoughts, Broder reaches for little bits of luminescence.
  2. Ditherer is a far-flying leap above and beyond anything that Fog’s done before, but not a shocking leap because it’s still very clear that this is Fog.
  3. It's brilliant: Broder's twisted tales are better than ever, this time underpinned by urgent guitar riffs, off-beats and perfect pacing.
  4. Ditherer is a collection of noisy pop songs, but the emphasis is mainly on the noise, muddying up the tunes in a way that's both frustrating and titillating.
  5. Ditherer is a lot of great noise from a small band with big talent.
  6. Broder’s voice adds an extra source of dynamism to the mix. It all adds up to a sound that revels in rock’s limitations while working to redefine them.
  7. Broder is better at details than broad strokes, and Ditherer contains some excellent ones; they're just buried in the piecemeal and decidedly indelicate songwriting.

See all 13 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 1
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 1
  3. Negative: 0 out of 1
  1. fredff
    Sep 9, 2007
    Well some nice thing but a big musical mess as a conclusion.