• Record Label:
  • Release Date:
DJ-Kicks Image

Generally favorable reviews - based on 7 Critics What's this?

User Score

No user score yet- Awaiting 3 more ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Andrew Butler of Hercules & Love Affair tackles the latest DJ Kicks series with a 14-track collection of songs spanning the 1980s and 90s.
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 7
  2. Negative: 1 out of 7
  1. Dec 11, 2012
    It's functional, escapist, I-hate-my-job-and-live-for-my-weekends, music.
  2. Dec 4, 2012
    Thoroughly enjoyable and high in replay value, this will be most valuable for younger listeners for whom H&LA functioned as a point of entry into house music.
  3. Dec 4, 2012
    While the mix is peppered with samples from Butler's yoga guru, Parahamansa Yogananda, aiming for a spiritual vibe, this set is really one big party.
  4. Dec 4, 2012
    Despite its strict adherence to traditional and relatively straightforward dance aesthetics, the album is often showy, flaunting both its nods to authenticity and an impressive showcase of the genre's low-tech production style.
  5. Dec 4, 2012
    If Butler falls slightly short of convincing that this particular brand of old will be made new again, it remains hard to find fault with his survey of all the fun we could have had.
  6. Dec 4, 2012
    It's great, but for all Butler's desire to bring this to the now it's best enjoyed by those who are able to take this as a polished trip down memory lane or as a launch pad to jump back into the history of dance music.
  7. Jun 3, 2013
    These are the cheaply licensed other songs that you fast-forwarded through on that copy of Dance Mix [Insert Year] to get to the two or three hits that really shook up the club. You skipped them then and you should skip them now too.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of
  2. Mixed: 0 out of
  3. Negative: 0 out of