Django Django - Django Django
User Score
8.6

Universal acclaim- based on 53 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 53 out of 53
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 53
  3. Negative: 0 out of 53

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 28, 2012
    9
    I love this album for great tracks like Hand of Man, Love's Dart, Storm and others (possibly all of them, really) and I love the way the whole thing hangs together. You can play this in the background or you can crank it and sing along. Some of the lyrics may be silly but others are really resonant. Certainly in the running for album of the year.
  2. Oct 9, 2012
    10
    It's not often that I love an album right away and play it over and over. I wish I could comment on Pitchfork's less than stellar 7.2 rating. Obviously, Pitchfork needs some better critics.
  3. Feb 12, 2012
    9
    I've had this on repeat for the last few days and it just keeps growing on me. Infectious and fun, it borders on kooky in all the best ways. It even prompted my girlfriend to walk in and ask "Who's this? It's really good." Like a love-child of Dirty Projectors, Fleet Foxes and The XX. Is it one of the greatest albums of all time? No. But a really enjoyable listen with great variety between tracks and one that sounds better each time you play it. Expand
  4. Mar 23, 2012
    7
    This record is a nice piece of off centre pop. All the tracks are well written, well produced and well constructed and its got a real summer vibe with a bit of a twist going on. Hard to compare this to anything in particular, but in essence its a quirky pop record - but the kind of pop that Beck would come up with.
  5. Apr 3, 2012
    9
    Extremely catchy and well-crafted, particularly impressive considering it's their first album. To compare them to other artists, I'd say they combine the indie dance-pop of MGMT with the vocals of The Beta Band.
  6. Jun 25, 2012
    10
    Genius album. Instant classic. Resembles Devo (obviously), Talking heads, The Feelies' Crazy Rhythms. These guys are the "tlaking heads" of this century!
  7. Dec 22, 2012
    9
    One thing you can assuredly say about Django Django is that they are unique. Its a really classy and original album with peppy songs filled with so many different sounds giving indie rock a whole new dimension. Hail bop has vocals which leads onto the trance territory and its melodic while being beat heavy. Default is fun and catchy. Storm has one of the best hooks I've heard in a long time.
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 22 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 22
  2. Negative: 0 out of 22
  1. Jan 29, 2013
    70
    Django Django is an infectious, pretentious, mess of a disc that's high moments far outweigh the mundane ones.
  2. Nov 30, 2012
    85
    Unabashedly geeky and seam-splittingly stuffed with retro-futuristic flourishes, it's an utterly delight. [Oct/Nov 2012, p.129]
  3. Nov 21, 2012
    40
    Sometimes Django Django's ingredients cohere into an actual song, but a lot of the Scottish quartet's self-titled debut album is frustratingly sketchy.