• Record Label: Sony
  • Release Date: Sep 9, 2008
User Score
5.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 24 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 24
  2. Negative: 11 out of 24

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 12, 2011
    8
    A very good album. Much better than the predecessor "A Public Affair". The country music suits her, and with Dolly Parton helping out on the title track, the album is really listenable.
  2. Nov 22, 2010
    3
    Simpson's presence in the music industry was already faded, but this album further dimishes what little grace she might've had left. While she shows promise on tracks such as Remember That, she fails to truly deliver. Maybe it's time to retire?
  3. ChrisW.
    Sep 9, 2008
    0
    She sucked as POP star... just about worse as a Contry singer. Hey Jessica... how about actually pronouncing the words that you sing?
  4. aaronm
    Sep 11, 2008
    10
    Can't stop listening to this. the title track DO You Know should be a single. her voice outshines parton's.
  5. ixata
    Sep 10, 2008
    10
    I have to give this a 10. no, not that i think its a perfect record. the 10 is for how she really has improved. seriously, vocally she's on tiptop condition here. no breathing sounds that were ubiquitous in here previous albums. her voice is clear here and really shines in the title track with Parton. 0 is too low. its ridiculous to give this a zero no matter how much you hate her. I have to give this a 10. no, not that i think its a perfect record. the 10 is for how she really has improved. seriously, vocally she's on tiptop condition here. no breathing sounds that were ubiquitous in here previous albums. her voice is clear here and really shines in the title track with Parton. 0 is too low. its ridiculous to give this a zero no matter how much you hate her. rate the album, not her. Expand
  6. CorrineS.
    Sep 14, 2008
    2
    This girl can't sing, her backup sings carry her voice on almost every song, when she sings solo she 's either screaming or singing breathy.
  7. cal
    Sep 11, 2008
    0
    Bad. Just bad.
  8. Sep 13, 2011
    10
    I love this country album. She shouldn't sing pop, her genre is country. Her vocals are really good and every song on "Do You Know" tells a story. They're all really sweet.
  9. Sep 10, 2011
    8
    This album is really underrated! Come on Over is a good song but not good enough to be a single. Remember That should have been the lead single. Anyway there are really good songs like You're My Sunday, Still Don't Stop Me and the two I wrote before. And speaking about the voice: her best recording since "Sweet Kisses". She demonstrates she is a very powerful and talented vocalist!
Metascore
58

Mixed or average reviews - based on 8 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 8
  2. Negative: 1 out of 8
  1. Jessica's team haven't had a knack for picking the right song but she could possibly clear that hurdle if she showed some sign of life as a vocalist, but she's unfailingly listless no matter how many theatrical gestures she attempts to cram in her big boring ballads.
  2. Despite detractors, Simpson remains a gifted vocalist who delivers on most every cut.
  3. While it's nice to hear her pipes free of breathless pop production, it's a shame she ran with such bland, emotionally self-indulgent material for this crossover Do You Know.