Do You Like Rock Music?

User Score
8.5

Universal acclaim- based on 67 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 58 out of 67
  2. Negative: 5 out of 67

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 3, 2014
    7
    While the bands foundations have always been built on rock (pun intended), as this album's title suggests, BSP go balls out rock on this their third album proper. "Do You Like Rock Music" is the bands most ambitious album in terms of aiming for that "big sound" and while the songs retain the grand anthemic feel we've come to expect from the band, here the band don't have the songs to seeWhile the bands foundations have always been built on rock (pun intended), as this album's title suggests, BSP go balls out rock on this their third album proper. "Do You Like Rock Music" is the bands most ambitious album in terms of aiming for that "big sound" and while the songs retain the grand anthemic feel we've come to expect from the band, here the band don't have the songs to see their ambition all the way through to the end. There are some proper crackers - with the album boasting a strong opening quarter and closing quarter. The middle of the section tends to meander a bit and lose focus. "No Lucifer" is a particular standout. "Do You Like Rock Music" is a good album, a qualified success but slightly disappointing as a follow up to the majestic "Open Season". Expand
  2. JimG.
    Apr 4, 2008
    9
    After having seen BSP live here in Louisville, KY, my appreciation for the splendors of DYLRM? have gained dimension. It's not that these lads wield hefty lyrical ambitions with care, bringing in military history, physics, ornithology, et al--it's that they bring it in with understanding. There is something very truthful about this record that is worthy of close attention.
  3. CharlieL.
    Mar 20, 2008
    9
    This album reminds me strongly of U2's Joshua Tree. Not so much musically - though BSP clearly owes a musical debt to early U2 - but in its unique sort of ambition. This is BSP's moon shot, it's Big Statement, and it's so bombastic and intense and grand that it skates right up to the edge of pomposity and pretense. But they rescue themselves by simply never doing This album reminds me strongly of U2's Joshua Tree. Not so much musically - though BSP clearly owes a musical debt to early U2 - but in its unique sort of ambition. This is BSP's moon shot, it's Big Statement, and it's so bombastic and intense and grand that it skates right up to the edge of pomposity and pretense. But they rescue themselves by simply never doing anything wrong. If it were less musically excellent, if the lyrics were less interesting or more standard, if the guitars rocked a little less hard, it'd be an unmitigated disaster of ego and pomp. There's a ring of authentic inspiration here, a genuineness that provides some substance to the big sounds; were it not there, it'd sound hollow and forced. A solid 9; not Echo and the Bunnymen's "Porcupine" but pretty damn good. Expand
  4. KGFReeze
    Mar 17, 2008
    8
    No Lucifer rules. Well recorded, well played, well sequenced. Just missing sometime, and I'm not sure what it is. Maybe too overloaded. I dunno. For as good as it is while I'm listening to it, I don't find myself wanting to listen to it all the time.
  5. MarkL.
    Mar 12, 2008
    10
    I've always been a fan of these guys. The CD is without a doubt a 10. A must own is everyones collection. If you like this you should give the Duels a listen.
  6. FreddieL
    Mar 3, 2008
    10
    A classic, as much as their first album. I've had it i my Ipod since the release - listened through it 30-40 times and it still grows!
  7. AC
    Mar 1, 2008
    10
    My choice for album of the year! I know, I know were only in March but I just don't see any other album coming out this year that's capable of topping this in anyway. DYLRM is loaded with beautiful and epic rock songs. For example, No Lucifer, Lights Out for Darker Skies, Waving Flags, A Trip Out, which are all capable of someday becoming true rock classic anthems.
  8. HenryJ.
    Feb 26, 2008
    10
    Perfect. There's a real energy running through this, the kind found in Funeral, from Arcade Fire and missing from neon bible.
  9. MojoPiN
    Feb 23, 2008
    10
    I disagree with Pitchfork a lot of the time (and at some point agree with their judgements) but here they are about as wrong as they can be. This album borrows a lot from tunes of the past; the melodies, the structures and perhaps some lyrical content (though on the most part there is some serious ingenuity here), but the feel of this album is absolutely unsurpassed by anything I have I disagree with Pitchfork a lot of the time (and at some point agree with their judgements) but here they are about as wrong as they can be. This album borrows a lot from tunes of the past; the melodies, the structures and perhaps some lyrical content (though on the most part there is some serious ingenuity here), but the feel of this album is absolutely unsurpassed by anything I have heard in a good while. There are truly passionate and amazingly written masterpieces here that send your mind over every edge of its boundary. I don't see this as a gentle album, I see it as one of a challenge to let go of your preconceived notion of convention and really let yourself fly loose in understanding this twisted world around you. Perhaps it's a bit much to garner from a few tunes, but this album does this to me. Songs 3-5 especially hold sway as absolute masterpieces and I hope that people realize this rather than just base judgement on others reviews. For some it may not cut past a few listens, but I can honestly say that within 1 week I'm on my 40th + listen and each one is an experience. Pick it up and give it a shot. At the very least you'll be rewarding a truly passionate act. Expand
  10. Sean
    Feb 21, 2008
    9
    Great album!
  11. Kitty
    Feb 20, 2008
    10
    Great album! Is both beautiful and compelling.
  12. MiguelP
    Feb 18, 2008
    10
    This is without a doubt the best rock album that I've heard in over 10 years. These guys have truly made something quite special, there hitting on cylinders here. This is definitely one of those albums that's capable of changing your life. All in all, this third effort by BSP is dazzling, epic and downright powerful! This is truly beautiful music and the best album of 08.
  13. Kirby
    Feb 18, 2008
    10
    A true work of art by BSP! I love this album!
  14. BrendanD
    Feb 18, 2008
    8
    Like a cross between an old Joy Division record (as so many have noted) and last year's "Neon Bible" by the Arcade Fire, this record works on both dark, pseudo-gothic and light-excitement levels, rising almost to the level of Modest Mouse at their most anthemic with the opening and closing tracks. Great stuff.
  15. DJ
    Feb 17, 2008
    10
    A full blown Masterpiece!!
  16. JoseD
    Feb 17, 2008
    10
    The best album of 08, so far but...I have a feeling this album will still be my favorite at the end of the year. It's that good, trust me!
  17. GillM
    Feb 17, 2008
    10
    An incredible epic album! Not since Interpol's classic "Turn on the Bright Lights" have I been constantly blown away everytime I listen to an album. This great music here.
  18. EdgarG
    Feb 16, 2008
    10
    Great from start to finish.
  19. DamienD
    Feb 16, 2008
    10
    Glorious third album by BSP. You can tell these guys are influenced by U2, The Who, Joy Division, and the Cure But...have also carved out there sound at the same time. "Do You Like Rock Music" is the first masterpiece of 08.
  20. BlakeD
    Feb 16, 2008
    10
    A Definite Masterpiece! Probably there best work of there career. Which is saying a lot considering how good there last two albums were.
  21. BeckyK.
    Feb 16, 2008
    10
    I have been playing this non-stop for a month. The huge anthems are brilliant, but the quieter songs grow and grow the more you hear them. With this album BSP is opening up its heart to us - welcome in!
  22. AdamS.
    Feb 15, 2008
    8
    Pitchfork's "U.2" rating equates to a 4.0? Ouch. That's odd because this is quite a fine album. British Sea Power never caught on with me but this release just might make me a convert.
  23. DaveE.
    Feb 15, 2008
    10
    A majestic, roaring and - yes - rockin' third album from one of England's finest bands.....almost every song grows to five times its normal size, and brings the epic goosebumps with it. If you love sprawling guitar crescendos and slow-burners that build to slam-bang finales, you're in luck. Much more consistent and engaging than it's predecessor, Open Season...but not A majestic, roaring and - yes - rockin' third album from one of England's finest bands.....almost every song grows to five times its normal size, and brings the epic goosebumps with it. If you love sprawling guitar crescendos and slow-burners that build to slam-bang finales, you're in luck. Much more consistent and engaging than it's predecessor, Open Season...but not quite as stunning as the band's debut, The Decline of British Sea Power. Expand
  24. TomK.
    Feb 14, 2008
    10
    Brilliant CD. Hopefully this will bring BSP the Stateside popularity that is long overdue!
  25. J.H.
    Feb 13, 2008
    10
    Once again the two biggest haters (Pitchfork and PopMatters) talk trash about one of the best albums of the year. This album is practically flawless from start to finish. BSP expand upon their sound with dazzling results. Don't believe the hate.
  26. BenH.
    Feb 12, 2008
    9
    This is an excellent album. Such honesty and creativity in the lyrics and liner notes. I haven't enjoyed soaking in a new album this much in a while. Pitchfork has really missed the boat. They vomit hype on a sham like Vampire Weekend, as British Sea Power falls from "grace". I love rock music.
  27. [Anonymous]
    Feb 12, 2008
    7
    Uh oh, Pitchfork gave it a bad review but overall it has a good score. Since pitchfork is infallible, hopefully the other publications with offer an apology.
  28. JasonI.
    Feb 12, 2008
    8
    I knew there was a reason I stopped reading Pitchfork on a regular basis years ago. Dismiss a great record like this with the most awful review I've read from a so called critic in years... all the while giving props and oodles of praise to trash like DeerHunter, Justin Timberlake and Of Montreal. Get f*cked!
  29. SpikeD.
    Feb 12, 2008
    10
    Incredible.
  30. DanielH.
    Feb 12, 2008
    10
    Wonderful sweeping album. A band of rare quality.
  31. Derringer
    Feb 11, 2008
    9
    Undeniably, the first masterpiece of 2008. It'll be compared to Arcade Fire justifiably. It's no NEON BIBLE, but it's amazing nonetheless and the best album of their career.
Metascore
82

Universal acclaim - based on 32 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 32
  2. Negative: 0 out of 32
  1. They muster compelling music that sounds like triumph in the face of adversity, building something beautiful out of the building blocks of sadness and despair.
  2. Wired with a sense of opportunity, these little Caesars continue to play mother's favourite rather than the ostracised gurning recluses they initially cast themselves as.
  3. A powerful collection of passionate, anthemic rockers that will no doubt please their hardcore following whilst winning new converts to the cause.