Donkey

  • Record Label: Sub Pop
  • Release Date: Jul 22, 2008
User Score
8.9

Universal acclaim- based on 79 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 68 out of 79
  2. Negative: 6 out of 79

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. NaoG.
    Jul 26, 2008
    6
    Boring!
  2. Tiago
    Oct 19, 2008
    6
    Lets see what they are going to do with the third record. coz this one is not strong as de first.
  3. TsudaY
    Jul 24, 2008
    0
    This is not good music. This is music to sell it.
  4. SandraR.
    Jul 24, 2008
    10
    Awesome cant stop listen it.
  5. CyndiH.
    Jul 25, 2008
    10
    CSS is Phenomenal!
  6. TomC.
    Jul 30, 2008
    10
    CSS is always great!
  7. KeleM.
    Aug 6, 2008
    10
    Beautiful songs!
  8. XY
    Dec 7, 2008
    10
    This is the most fun I've had the entire year! A strong contender for album of the year. It's that good.
  9. PhillJ.
    Jul 23, 2008
    10
    Donkey is as fun as its predecessor, maybe better in production.
  10. JanF.
    Jul 23, 2008
    0
    Such a great album.
  11. RiminiF.
    Jul 24, 2008
    10
    CSS it's not the same CSS. Thank God for their inovation. I used to hate them. Now I love them and their new album. MOVE! THE BEST SONG!
  12. CarlosM.
    Jul 24, 2008
    10
    Perfect!
  13. JordyF.
    Jul 26, 2008
    10
    The pop album of the year, Lovefoxxx is amazing!
  14. CamilaS.
    Jul 30, 2008
    10
    Cansei De Ser Sexy is the best band of the world!
  15. RockyF.
    Aug 20, 2008
    10
    The most enjoyable album of the year!
  16. GavinA.
    Aug 2, 2008
    10
    The best album of the year, fantastic!
  17. DejanS.
    Aug 20, 2008
    3
    After excellent debut, this is a huge mistake!
  18. MarkH.
    Aug 6, 2008
    10
    You better get your move on!
  19. AmandaB.
    Jul 23, 2008
    10
    CSS gave us again another fantastic album!
  20. AmyW.
    Jul 23, 2008
    10
    Best pop album of 2008, CSS are the perfect party band, great production from the great workaholic Adriano Cintra.
  21. RobertM.
    Jul 23, 2008
    10
    Fantastic! The best album of the summer!
  22. RichardC.
    Jul 23, 2008
    10
    Even better then the debut, congratulations CSS!
  23. Neto
    Jul 23, 2008
    10
    Very nice, lindoo, beloo.
  24. RossM.
    Jul 24, 2008
    10
    Fantastic Album, Pop never goes so funny and pleasure.
  25. MarkR.
    Jul 24, 2008
    10
    Best album of 2008!
  26. MikeS.
    Jul 24, 2008
    10
    A piece of art and fun, and certainly one of the best pop bands of the world. CSS are huge and very cool, amazing.
  27. MandyL.
    Jul 24, 2008
    10
    The new album is fantastic, I love all the tracks, and I love this band so much! Please come to US ASAP!
  28. SarahM.
    Jul 24, 2008
    10
    Donkey is awesome!!!
  29. FabioO.
    Jul 24, 2008
    10
    Now CSS is really a great band with two solid albums.
  30. JakeH.
    Jul 24, 2008
    10
    I love CSS, this one is not good as the 1st but is so far to be bad... AHAZA...
  31. DanielA.
    Jul 24, 2008
    10
    CSS become the best Art-global-Pop-Group in the world with Donkey, sound so fresh, I'm so Happy!
  32. EvelynA.
    Jul 24, 2008
    10
    Donkey is the best album i've ever heard in many years!!!!
  33. RachelM.
    Jul 24, 2008
    10
    With Donkey CSS become one of the most famous and great Brazilian bands since Sepultura and Os Mutantes. Best pop album of the year so far.
  34. LucioM.
    Jul 25, 2008
    10
    New CD rocks I love!
  35. MusicM.
    Jul 25, 2008
    7
    The hooks aren't quite as obvious as on their first album, but they've added Pixies-style pop, and Talking Heads-style grooves to their oeuvre. The final result ends up like a more-pop, less-punk version of Pretty Girls Make Graves. It's a departure from their first album, but it's a worthy listen.
  36. JamesH.
    Jul 26, 2008
    10
    These critics must be crazy, this album is fantastic and so good as their debut. Donkey is one of the best albums of the year so far.
  37. LuanaF.
    Jul 26, 2008
    10
    Amazing album, I really like it.
  38. FelipeP.
    Jul 23, 2008
    10
    Fantastic Album, maybe the best of the year, I love CSS!
  39. FranzS.
    Jul 23, 2008
    10
    Keep it sand-free.
  40. BrunoR.
    Jul 23, 2008
    10
    Perfect! Only perfect.
  41. JimmyH.
    Jul 23, 2008
    10
    Let's Reggae All Night, yeah! I'm addicted to Donkey, soo good!
  42. GeorgeH.
    Jul 24, 2008
    10
    Donkey is their most sophisticated album and lyrics to date, congratulations CSS!
  43. RogerD.
    Jul 28, 2008
    10
    I LOVE CSS!
  44. GeoffB.
    Aug 18, 2008
    10
    Amazing album, makes me dance all the time, Donkey is the best album of the year!
  45. Oct 3, 2010
    6
    'Air Painter' sums up this album for me, it has great interesting verses and a completely lame chorus. The album is average and very skippable for most tracks, even tracks that sound interesting at first such as 'Reggae All Night' lack depth and are revealed to just be re-hashes of ideas already out there.
    The reason why I give this a 6 and not a 3 is because 'Beautiful Song' is just
    'Air Painter' sums up this album for me, it has great interesting verses and a completely lame chorus. The album is average and very skippable for most tracks, even tracks that sound interesting at first such as 'Reggae All Night' lack depth and are revealed to just be re-hashes of ideas already out there.
    The reason why I give this a 6 and not a 3 is because 'Beautiful Song' is just fantastic. I cannot find a fault in it, its too short but I wouldnt change it for a thing, and I can listen to it again and again. 'Believe Achieve' is good as well if you can put up with the breathy believe-achieve at the start
    Expand
Metascore
63

Generally favorable reviews - based on 33 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 33
  2. Negative: 0 out of 33
  1. For the most part, Donkey flounders in a sterile morass. It may well bring CSS to a larger audience, one that doesn't consider subversiveness an impediment, but that doesn't make it any less disappointing.
  2. Their joyous hooks ensure Donkey is as fun as its predecessor.
  3. Often, Donkey sounds like someone has tracked down the anonymous session musicians who spent the 1970s knocking out polite covers of chart hits for budget-priced Top of the Pops compilation albums and got them to have a stab at replicating CSS's sound.