• Record Label: Sony
  • Release Date: May 31, 2005
User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 318 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 42 out of 318

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 4, 2011
    8
    Easily the their third best record, and the singles released from DBTT are probably the strongest collection of singles released from any Oasis album.
  2. Sep 8, 2011
    1
    Having White, Guigsy, Bonehead removed from the band seems like the factors behind Oasis' demise in the 2000s. Don't believe the truth about how this album rocks because it certainly does NOT!! It's nothing like what made Oasis great in th 90s' and the album is very old-fashion rock and roll. Last time I checked, this isn't the 1960s' but when you put this album on, it certainly makes theHaving White, Guigsy, Bonehead removed from the band seems like the factors behind Oasis' demise in the 2000s. Don't believe the truth about how this album rocks because it certainly does NOT!! It's nothing like what made Oasis great in th 90s' and the album is very old-fashion rock and roll. Last time I checked, this isn't the 1960s' but when you put this album on, it certainly makes the room feel like it. And it's stuff like this that makes me embarrassed to say to my friends that I listen to Oasis. None of the tracks sound anything suitable for the 21st century. none of them!! If you hear anyone saying Oasis are back, well yeah, back in the 60s'. Expand
  3. Mar 12, 2012
    9
    For Oasis, the 10 years after the release of What's the Story Morning Glory were made up of 3 average albums that had some good songs on them but the blandness and the bloated production definitely outweighed the best moments. Don't Believe the Truth was the antithesis of this, In 2005 Oasis returned to 1965 with an acoustic rock sound ala Ray Davies and the Kinks. As usual for an OasisFor Oasis, the 10 years after the release of What's the Story Morning Glory were made up of 3 average albums that had some good songs on them but the blandness and the bloated production definitely outweighed the best moments. Don't Believe the Truth was the antithesis of this, In 2005 Oasis returned to 1965 with an acoustic rock sound ala Ray Davies and the Kinks. As usual for an Oasis record, its full of 60's influences, but they really put their own stamp on things here. It's the only Oasis album where Andy Bell and Gem Archers make worthwhile contributions (Turn Up the Sun and A Bell Will Ring are as all out rock as Oasis have ever gotten) and Liam's contributions are the best work he's done with the band and his vocals are excellent throughout the album. Noel's songs are still the highlight of the record but for once an Oasis album isn't completely dependant on him for high points. It's not quite on the level of their first two records but it's their next best by country miles. Not a bad track on there. Expand
  4. Sep 8, 2012
    7
    Is not the best Oasis album, but overall is enjoyable. The melodies and guitar riffs sound very 60's. Mucky Fingers has an obvious influenced from velvet underground's waiting for my man. Let There Be Love has a John Lennon feel to it. Their image never looked more beatlesque than ever at this time. If they at least they didn't try too hard, but other than the way too obvious influences, IIs not the best Oasis album, but overall is enjoyable. The melodies and guitar riffs sound very 60's. Mucky Fingers has an obvious influenced from velvet underground's waiting for my man. Let There Be Love has a John Lennon feel to it. Their image never looked more beatlesque than ever at this time. If they at least they didn't try too hard, but other than the way too obvious influences, I can feel so much energy in their songs like Lyla, The Importance Of Being Idle, Meaning Of Soul, Turn Up The sun, and of course you got ballads like Guess God Thinks I'm Able. This acoustic composition is one of the best songs in the album, and Let There Be Loved, which was already mentioned is as well a nice love tune. Expand
  5. Jan 17, 2012
    9
    Great album by the best loved British band! Surely takes Oasis back to business. I hoped a lot from the album and in return I got a lot from as per what I had expected. It's one of the most defining album of the 2000s for sure.
  6. Apr 30, 2014
    8
    an good album but not the best album, oasis come back to the great band of the world, since the great comeback of sells of heathen chemistry, an good album with 3 songs like Lyla, The importance of being idle (too much, the best song of the album) and let there be love, oasis comeback to the good times
  7. Jul 22, 2014
    7
    Noel wrote 4 tunes in this album, and this tunes are the highlights of it. Unfortunately, Liam, Gem and Andy can't match his level. But it was amazing to see Oasis back into the mainstream.
Metascore
64

Generally favorable reviews - based on 28 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 28
  2. Negative: 5 out of 28
  1. Yes, the rumors are true: Oasis has--for the first time in a decade--made an album worth hearing.
  2. Mediocre melodies ride atop formulaic songwriting.
  3. In the end, it's Oasis's attempts to capture former pinnacles, from trying to re-create the simple sunny-side-up pleasures of "Live Forever" to trying for another album-ending mountain like "Champagne Supernova," that keep their latter-day output so entirely forgettable.