Don't Believe The Truth

  • Record Label: Sony
  • Release Date: May 31, 2005
User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 335 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 48 out of 335

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. RaulR
    Jun 4, 2005
    0
    It's definitely not Morning Glory, it's a blind alley that can't even balance on the "Shoulders of Giants"
  2. PaulP
    Jun 1, 2005
    6
    Very average
  3. NoahE
    Jun 2, 2005
    5
    A lot has changed in the world since Oasis won over hearts internationally with "(What's The Story) Morning Glory". They were clearly in their prime then, but saw as their dominance proved all too stoppable and watched their steady decline from "Standing On The Shoulder of Giants" and beyond. It sounded as though Oasis, well, were beginning to plagiarize themselves and became A lot has changed in the world since Oasis won over hearts internationally with "(What's The Story) Morning Glory". They were clearly in their prime then, but saw as their dominance proved all too stoppable and watched their steady decline from "Standing On The Shoulder of Giants" and beyond. It sounded as though Oasis, well, were beginning to plagiarize themselves and became increasingly conventional to their approach. Now, it can be very easy to be apologetic to them and really forgive them after the mediocre efforts of "Heathen Chemistry" and such, but they still seem to be trapped in the woods. "Lyla" is a rather weak lead single that doesn't really make justice of some of the album's three strong numbers: "Guess God Thinks I'm Abel", "The Meaning of Soul" and "Part of the Queue", which, unfortunately, are all sized up together in the middle of the record. But other numbers like "Love Like A Bomb", "The Importance Of Being Idle", "Keep The Dream Alive" and the closing track "Let There Be love" come off as rather unconvincing and fail to both incite or mold the psychedelic spirt of the band. Oasis has every right not to believe the truth, but the truth is, they still are having a bit of difficulty locating where their whim de-railed along the way. Expand
  4. ShamaarA.
    Jun 1, 2005
    2
    Listenable tracks are scarce on this album. Songs like "Mucky Fingers" or "Meaning of soul" are a joke. They should've split at least 5 years ago...
  5. heih
    Jun 1, 2005
    0
    this sucks big time
  6. rotes
    Jun 19, 2005
    2
    I really don't understand the good reviews this record gets. It's just plain boring. It's got no drive, no hooks, not one interesting moment. I'm deeply dissapointed.
  7. DrederickT
    Jun 2, 2005
    2
    This is a disappointing return. I was truly psyched that they would think and dream big as they did with "Morning Glory" and "Be Here Now" after their international decline. But they still sound like they're trapped in this formulaic rut. Has Noel Gallagher lost his poetic sense of wonder?
  8. NeilG
    Jun 2, 2005
    2
    The best song on here is "Lyla" and that's tuneless drivel. What's no surprise is that morons the world over still believe the hype !
  9. carlosg
    Jun 30, 2005
    6
    I was about the biggest oasis fan in the world, always the first in line for the San Francisco/Oakland shows. I also have the distinction of being the first fan to hear the song "Be Here Now" (sneaked into the oakland coliseum 6 hours before they opened the doors) saw oasis do their soundcheck before U2. But lets face it, oasis are getting more and more mediocre with each album. where is I was about the biggest oasis fan in the world, always the first in line for the San Francisco/Oakland shows. I also have the distinction of being the first fan to hear the song "Be Here Now" (sneaked into the oakland coliseum 6 hours before they opened the doors) saw oasis do their soundcheck before U2. But lets face it, oasis are getting more and more mediocre with each album. where is all this hype for "truth" coming from? First 2 oasis albums and Masterplan are AMAZING. but is was ALL down hill from there. each album even worse than the one before. Be Here Now: Good Melodies and guitars but the songs dragged and dragged leaving little to be desired. Do you know what I mean however, is probably one of oasis' best songs. as well as fucking in the bushes, "standing only lasted me about 3 months of listening pleasure", Heathen Chemistry provided about a month of enjoyment, and that was mainly from the songs that Liam wrote. Noel was writing sappy songs about Love and girls and whatever. I couldn't believe it, but it seemed to me that Liam would now be responsible for carrying the torch in oasis. But "truth" proved that to be wrong. "truth" lasted me about 5 days. I haven't listened to it since, just not interested. never like "lyla" that much. sounded like "king of leon" or some other boring shit. i always thought that oasis was unfairly dismissed as copying the beatles sound and always defended them against that accusation. Sure, they are obviously influenced by them, but there are also influences of stones, sex pistols, kinks, t-rex, stone roses, etc. but now just about the only new oasis songs that i want to hear more than a couple of times are the ones that are blatantly beatlesque or lennonesque in the case of Liam's songs. whats sad is that oasis are still capable of writing great songs, but basically they are sell outs. how do you go from priding yourself on being working class and then make a point of wearing gucci and prada. i thought gem and andy would add to the greatness that was oasis. but they didnt, they didnt because oasis albums are a collection of individual song writing and not group writing. In the end, oasis lost the drive. Had their drive been rooted in creating great music, their greatness would not have ended. but because their drive was based on being the biggest band in the world and conquering the world, there was nothing to drive towards one that was accomplished. So now they release an album that is pretty mediocre, not one great, let alone classic, song on the album. and it opens to reviews saying, "best album in a decade"..BULL!!!! Its the worst album in a decade. Its just that this album happened to be released at a time in which bands such as interpol, killers, kasabian, hot hot heat, jet, etc are getting airplay. Expand
  10. I.P.Knightley
    Jun 9, 2005
    4
    A very poor effort indeed. There is a lot of better music out there you should invest your money on.
  11. lisap
    Jul 6, 2005
    1
    awful!!
  12. EljahS
    Jul 8, 2005
    0
    Rather Shit!
  13. NoelG.
    Oct 3, 2007
    0
    Absolutely Pathetic. This is how you de-rail a career, and yes I think other people out their could write better songs - and they're probably not being obnoxious, they're just being honest. Maybe you should listen to people who play instruments, and not rich rock stars who's day has come and gone long ago. Altogether, if you haven't heard this album, I'm being Absolutely Pathetic. This is how you de-rail a career, and yes I think other people out their could write better songs - and they're probably not being obnoxious, they're just being honest. Maybe you should listen to people who play instruments, and not rich rock stars who's day has come and gone long ago. Altogether, if you haven't heard this album, I'm being dead truthful here - your dead lucky - cause its pathetic. If I could turn back time, I would off happily have had the band call it quits after "Heathen Chemistry", the fact that it took the band so long to write and record this, and scrap so many sessions is just ridiculous and laughable. After all Oasis is about honesty, and I swear to god, their is no honesty in this music anywhere Expand
  14. kazuhirok.
    Jul 12, 2007
    0
    oasis is dead.
  15. LindaM
    Jun 4, 2005
    0
    Among the most overhyped and discouraging releases of this year.
  16. tomd
    Jun 5, 2005
    2
    it's not that it's really bad, it's more that it's not very good. don't believe the other "users" aka music label interns chiming in with their lazy syntax. go buy a copy of "what's the story, morning glory" and you'll be fine. what? you already own it, somewhere? well, you just saved yourself about $16 then! better, wait - if you can - and pick it up in it's not that it's really bad, it's more that it's not very good. don't believe the other "users" aka music label interns chiming in with their lazy syntax. go buy a copy of "what's the story, morning glory" and you'll be fine. what? you already own it, somewhere? well, you just saved yourself about $16 then! better, wait - if you can - and pick it up in the discount bin in a few weeks. Expand
  17. graemef
    Jul 25, 2005
    2
    lousy
  18. JonathanH
    Dec 9, 2006
    0
    I don't know about you but this should go down as the worst rock album of all time. I've been messing around with a guitar for nearly 3 years and I could come up with a better songs than these. In fact, if this was the best I could do, I would'nt even bother trying to get a record deal or even writing these songs. Are these guys just joking , or can they actually write I don't know about you but this should go down as the worst rock album of all time. I've been messing around with a guitar for nearly 3 years and I could come up with a better songs than these. In fact, if this was the best I could do, I would'nt even bother trying to get a record deal or even writing these songs. Are these guys just joking , or can they actually write melody on the guitar with more than three or two chords - Liam Gallaghar? Thats a pretty shocking comment considering alot of the songs from "heathen Chemistry" were the best since "Morning Glory", however Liams Gems and Andys poor songs made it a patchy album. Oasis were best when Noel wrote all the songs (even his lesser great ones are way better than the other three that are in the band) and played lead guitar. And of course having a good producer helps - unlike Dave Sardy who produces Generic rock albums - Marilyn Manson, System of a down and de railed Bush's career with their own generic disastor that was "Goldenstate" subsequently the band split up and may now be done. "Heathen Chemistry" was self produced by the band (or Noel) so thats why is turned out crap because it ended up sounding like a sad 1960s tibute. Lets not forget its the 2000s now. But the first 4 were great records simply because Owen Morris made them sound nice and loud on their frst three and Spike Stent did the introspective and slower paced but brilliant "Standing on the Shoulder of Giants" Just like Bush, this might as well be the undoing of one of the greatest bands on the planet. Expand
  19. danb.
    May 31, 2005
    5
    Everyone slags Standing on the Shoulder of Giants, their fourth album, but aside from two horrible tracks, it was a pretty good album. This one people are praising, but it's pretty lame. The lyrics are mostly shite, the melodies are scarce, and there is none of the urgency the band used to have. And Liam's voice sounds like an impersonation of himself or somehting. I do love the Everyone slags Standing on the Shoulder of Giants, their fourth album, but aside from two horrible tracks, it was a pretty good album. This one people are praising, but it's pretty lame. The lyrics are mostly shite, the melodies are scarce, and there is none of the urgency the band used to have. And Liam's voice sounds like an impersonation of himself or somehting. I do love the last track, and the Importrance of Being Idle. I'm sure as few of the other tracks will grow on me. But I hope the boys get it more together for the next go round. Expand
  20. MaryH
    May 31, 2005
    2
    Oasis have continued to go downhill ever since Be Here Now. This latest album is similar to their two previous ones... and not worth buying. Avoid.
  21. jasond
    May 31, 2005
    2
    Buy their first two albums and avoid the rest, including this turgid affair.
  22. georgel
    May 31, 2005
    0
    i thought oasis already split up!! they should!!
  23. BEZ
    May 31, 2005
    0
    This lot should retire and call it quits. They are just embarrassing themselves now.
  24. carl
    May 25, 2007
    1
    The entire album is really boring , the only song in the entire album that isn't terrible is the importance of being idle.
  25. jong
    Jun 23, 2005
    9
    no live forever, no wonderwall, who cares??? they'll never reach the dizzying heights of 95/96 again, but that doesn't stop this album being chocked full of revolver style tunes and pure rock'n'roll nous. better than anything being produced by the sour faced, joy less, current rock'n'roll fraternity at the moment (yes that mean you, radiohead etc). at least no live forever, no wonderwall, who cares??? they'll never reach the dizzying heights of 95/96 again, but that doesn't stop this album being chocked full of revolver style tunes and pure rock'n'roll nous. better than anything being produced by the sour faced, joy less, current rock'n'roll fraternity at the moment (yes that mean you, radiohead etc). at least oasis know how to have fun. its time the rest of us learnt to have fun as well. Expand
  26. johnm
    Jun 2, 2005
    10
    it a great album!
  27. JohnP
    Jun 1, 2005
    10
    Critics and haters miss the point. Oasis are the last of a dying breed. The last of the true British Invasion worshipers. Come on now, would you really rather listien to melodic ballads of Sytem of a Down or the rockin bad boy antics of Dave Mathews? Excuse me while I go pass gas...
  28. vendegab
    Jun 19, 2005
    9
    fantastic album, top tunes. Liam sounds fantastic and there isn't a weak moment. Excellent
  29. matthew
    Jun 2, 2005
    10
    This is right up there with their first two albums. Andy and Gem breathe new sounds into the album throughout, Noel does his best vocals since "Dont Look Back In Ander," surpassing those with his vocals on "The Importance of Being Idle." A new golden age for Oasis and fans indeed.
  30. jerrys
    Jun 23, 2005
    9
    Hey - admit it. This album has great songs and it is the first Oasis album in years where you do not need to skip a track.
  31. MajkyA
    Jun 2, 2005
    9
    Damn cool album, I love almost all song!!!
  32. BenG
    Jun 20, 2005
    10
    Oasis are back after 10 years!
  33. declanm
    Jun 3, 2005
    0
    These guys have sucked since after the first album and they have got more annoying since if you want real music listen to coldplay
  34. JulesP
    Jun 3, 2005
    9
    it's a dark time for the music but this album is great. The best of the year
  35. josel
    Jun 3, 2005
    9
    it is a good cd and it is different.it remembers me to the white cd of the beatles because each different song.
  36. GINOL
    Jun 7, 2005
    9
    This is the first album I heard in ages that stood out. Every song has a distinctive quality. It is real mature and distinctive progression that was lacking in Be Here Now and SOTSOG. It's best feature is it's pure natural music sound, There's no attempt at flashy guitar solos in it. The album has a classic 60s and 70s sound that makes it all feel very relaxing. Noel is in This is the first album I heard in ages that stood out. Every song has a distinctive quality. It is real mature and distinctive progression that was lacking in Be Here Now and SOTSOG. It's best feature is it's pure natural music sound, There's no attempt at flashy guitar solos in it. The album has a classic 60s and 70s sound that makes it all feel very relaxing. Noel is in supperb form with the importance of being idle and part of the queue his best songs since don't look back in anger. Turn up the sun, wriiten by Andy, is a great opener and gives the album a good structure. Mucky fingers sounds sounds awful initially, but it really does grow and gives the album a different dimension. The stand out track though is written by Liam!!! The Meaning of soul is just magnificent. Liam sings it like he's high on e's whilst tring to play the guitar with a chain saw. He also writes love like a bomb its like the follow up to beautiful songbird. With Liam showing such potential it makes oasis future look very bright indeed. The album closes with a real potential anthum let there be love, noel and liams first significant duet since acquiesce. A gret ending to an album which stands tall as one the since coldplays parachutes. It shouldn't be compared to whats the story or definately maybe it should be judged on its own merits. It will certainly be an interesting summer war between oasis and coldplay. Don't believe the truth certainly has the edge musically over x&y let the battle of the worlds best live acts commence. Expand
  37. JonC
    Jul 10, 2005
    9
    A return to form! Some good tunes
  38. JocH
    Jul 15, 2005
    10
    bloody brilliant
  39. MattL
    Jul 1, 2005
    10
    All the people who say that Oasis has gone downhill must not know what they are talking about. After seeing them live I have decided they are the greatest band right now. Dont believe the lies. Buy this album
  40. ChrisT
    Jul 4, 2005
    9
    This album kicks ass! I love that the rest of the band has a say these days! This is a huge accomplishment for a band whose been on the outs lately from "so-called" critics! If you want the White Stripes or Good Charlotte then buy into that scene. If you want to hear good classic rock and the like then buy an Oasis album! Whatever happened to a band having "their sound"???It seems to me This album kicks ass! I love that the rest of the band has a say these days! This is a huge accomplishment for a band whose been on the outs lately from "so-called" critics! If you want the White Stripes or Good Charlotte then buy into that scene. If you want to hear good classic rock and the like then buy an Oasis album! Whatever happened to a band having "their sound"???It seems to me that no one crucified Elvis when he junked on a few pounds and sang his old tired ass off on his comeback special...haha..but I digress. Seriously, take a piece from the book of rock and let the pieces fall where they may...lata on! Expand
  41. mattv
    Jul 2, 2007
    10
    I think this record is far better than the first two albums, by far. The album is full of color, creativity and new poppy-ish sounds. All the songs are great, but if it were to come down to suggesting to someone, but asked what would be the highlights, it would have to be 'Let there be love', 'Importance of being idle' and 'Part of the queue'
  42. Craig
    May 31, 2005
    10
    great album. All the tracks are good.
  43. DaveW
    Jun 11, 2005
    9
    Having played this album for the last two weeks and having read reviews, it's clear that this cut will not make any new Oasis fans. That critical mass of popularity has gone, and probably not a bad thing either. So for Oasis fans still reading this review, take heart, it's a great Oasis album. Better by a country mile than everything post-WTSMG. You can actually play this from Having played this album for the last two weeks and having read reviews, it's clear that this cut will not make any new Oasis fans. That critical mass of popularity has gone, and probably not a bad thing either. So for Oasis fans still reading this review, take heart, it's a great Oasis album. Better by a country mile than everything post-WTSMG. You can actually play this from beginning to end without skipping tracks! And by the way, am I the only person on the planet who thinks that "Keep The Dream Alive" is a corker? A beautiful mix of melancholy and hope. Keep it up boys, maybe the best is yet to come? Definitely. Expand
  44. abcdef
    Jun 11, 2005
    10
    best album of the year
  45. TomW
    Jun 11, 2005
    10
    An outstanding album! Pure class from Oasis.
  46. AllanR
    Jun 1, 2005
    10
    Oasis is finally back... It takes a while to get in love with the songs, but they are definitely good... All of them. My favs are "Part Of the Queue" and "Mucking Fingers".
  47. JonP
    Jun 1, 2005
    10
    A fine return to form -- the best oasis album since Be Here Now. At most only one or two weak tracks on the album while sporting a few masterpieces such as Part of the Queue, The Importance of Being Idle, and Guess God Thinks I'm Abel. The best album of 2005 thus far.
  48. JonathanB
    Jun 1, 2005
    10
    This album is a sound of four talented songwriters making music that they love. There is a stronger chemistry within the band than ever before. Liam's voice sounds great, and Noel turns in some of his best ever vocal performances. It is a joy to listen to, and should be for any open-minded British guitar music enthusiast. While it may not have the standout singles of Morning Glory, This album is a sound of four talented songwriters making music that they love. There is a stronger chemistry within the band than ever before. Liam's voice sounds great, and Noel turns in some of his best ever vocal performances. It is a joy to listen to, and should be for any open-minded British guitar music enthusiast. While it may not have the standout singles of Morning Glory, in my opinion, the overall quality of Don't Believe the Truth matches that album. Expand
  49. JorisV.
    Jun 1, 2005
    10
    I'm not an Oasis fan and have a various musictaste ranging from Arcade Fire to Brian Eno, and I have to say, this album is too good to be true! **** all those narrow minded Oasis-haters, just because it's Oasis they review this album bad but if you take a listen to this you know this is the perfect rock 'n roll album with 11 good tracks on it. As good as Morning Glory, of I'm not an Oasis fan and have a various musictaste ranging from Arcade Fire to Brian Eno, and I have to say, this album is too good to be true! **** all those narrow minded Oasis-haters, just because it's Oasis they review this album bad but if you take a listen to this you know this is the perfect rock 'n roll album with 11 good tracks on it. As good as Morning Glory, of course not equal to Dafinitely Maybe. Every band member wrote at least one song and Andy's Turn Up The Sun and Keep The Dream Alive are amazing, Liam's songwriting clearly improved if you listen to the classic Love Like A Bomb. And then there's Let There Be Love, Part Of The Queue...can't stop listening to this one. People who gave this a zero didn't listen to this Expand
  50. mauib
    Jun 1, 2005
    10
    Don't Believe DeRogatis
  51. jasonW
    Jun 2, 2005
    8
    This is not Noel Gallagher, this is Oasis. It is not 10 years past because these guys are grown men now. As a longtime fan, i can see the growth and mellowness of the album. Very non-traditional, but an excellent album none the less. A bold move to reduce all the shite that bogged them down before; go get the album it's the second best album to come out of the UK this year (Coldplay).
  52. JKM
    Jun 2, 2005
    9
    This is a very good album. It is obvious that Oasis decided not to try too hard on this one. Rather than overblowing it as they have done in the past (see Be Here Now), they fire off 11 straight quality, unbloated, rockin tunes... many of them classics. It's good from beginning to end. Oasis have been dogged by critics since Morning Glory. I hope they receive the credit they deserve This is a very good album. It is obvious that Oasis decided not to try too hard on this one. Rather than overblowing it as they have done in the past (see Be Here Now), they fire off 11 straight quality, unbloated, rockin tunes... many of them classics. It's good from beginning to end. Oasis have been dogged by critics since Morning Glory. I hope they receive the credit they deserve for this one... it's just good music. Believe the Truth!! Expand
  53. EamonK
    Jun 2, 2005
    9
    Bad reviews stick in the mind more than excellent reviews in general. However its hard not to give this return to form a big thumbs up. F the begrudgers.
  54. franciitaly
    Jun 20, 2005
    10
    excellent!!ithank god oasis exists!!!
  55. CharlieB
    Jun 2, 2005
    8
    Getting there - best in years but still some fillers.
  56. RayS
    Jun 2, 2005
    10
    F*ck reviews!
  57. DanSad
    Jun 2, 2005
    10
    best of all
  58. AshleyW
    Jun 3, 2005
    10
    A fantastic album. I can't wait to hear the new songs live!
  59. juan
    Jun 3, 2005
    10
    the best album of 2005
  60. JonnyC
    Jun 3, 2005
    10
    With all the s**t albums coming out from all the new bands that the british music industry is producing, its great to hear another quality album from britains best band.
  61. lukeb
    Jun 3, 2005
    9
    I think it´s great album...
  62. Dave
    Jun 3, 2005
    10
    One of the greatest albums I've heard in years, and definitely the best album of 2005! Nothing but undeniable, quality rok n roll!
  63. AbidK
    Jun 4, 2005
    10
    Absolutely awesum, a return to form, loving 'Keep the Dream Alive', this album has more than kept the dream alive, its re-invigorated it
  64. JohnB
    Jun 4, 2005
    10
    This album us v.v.good. Its fresh and surprisingly original. Every song is different. Best album for years.
  65. Fer
    Jun 5, 2005
    10
    Best album of Oasis in 10 years
  66. JakobS
    Jun 5, 2005
    9
    Great album. Their best since WTSMG.
  67. Howc
    Jun 6, 2005
    9
    Definitely up there with definitely maybe and What's the story morning glory.
  68. vik
    Jun 6, 2005
    9
    a brilliant album from a brilliant band!
  69. Jack
    Jun 6, 2005
    10
    Surely one of the best album of 2005. It's a complex album, of pure rock'n'roll. No matter, the best one of this band since the golden age of Britpop. Must have.
  70. GavinM
    Jun 7, 2005
    10
    Great album! Strong songwriting and great production.
  71. ajbilly
    Jun 8, 2005
    10
    Oasis is back in their direction! Simply best then previous three..
  72. crisasdfasd
    Jun 9, 2005
    10
    oasis are gods.
  73. JulianC
    Jun 9, 2005
    9
    Fantastic album from Britains best band!!!
  74. dawnh
    Jul 1, 2005
    10
    pure love the new album, the lads didnt let me down
  75. ErikD
    Jul 15, 2005
    10
    really damn fine album if u ask me...their best in 10 years
  76. OliverP
    Jul 18, 2005
    9
    Great album, with some superb songs.
  77. HywelP
    Jul 18, 2005
    9
    Really good album. They are genuinely developing and moving forward as a band. People say they always make music that sounds the same and then when they produce something different they moan that is not Morning Glory. This album is quality
  78. PhoS
    Jul 27, 2005
    9
    Back to basic, no frills, no over producing, just good simple Rock N'Roll. What's not to love?
  79. MartinG
    Jul 3, 2005
    10
    Gets better every time i hear it.its up there with (whats the story)morning glory and definiety maybe
  80. TheoH
    Jul 6, 2005
    9
    Great Album. a nice collection of tunes.
  81. EveG
    Oct 10, 2006
    10
    This band is fantastic...i love it...i cant live without this songs
  82. RogerM
    Jan 19, 2006
    10
    Music is not what it was.....Oasis is just de exception of the rule
  83. CarlE
    Feb 2, 2007
    9
    As I seem to be the only one on the planet who likes BE HERE NOW, I think this is a far departure from that but still I see the genius in the smoke! I would never be so obnoctious a twat as to say I could write a better song or wouldn't try to get a record deal if this was the best I could do, only innorant people speak such rubbish. Dont believe the truth is the next chapter in a As I seem to be the only one on the planet who likes BE HERE NOW, I think this is a far departure from that but still I see the genius in the smoke! I would never be so obnoctious a twat as to say I could write a better song or wouldn't try to get a record deal if this was the best I could do, only innorant people speak such rubbish. Dont believe the truth is the next chapter in a great collection of music through out the years, how sad if every album sounded like the great Definitely Maybe, it would tire and bore most people, Cheers mates, well done! Expand
  84. ShanahanG
    May 24, 2005
    10
    Album of the year, it's been worth the wait! Hope it doesn't take another 10 years for them to make an album as good as this though.
  85. ArtVandelay
    May 24, 2005
    10
    A fantastic return to form with not a single track I'd skip on there, unlike the last 3 albums. The fact the first single, Lyla, is the worst song on there shows how strong it is. Pick of the tracks? Let There Be Love, Keep The Dream Alive, TIOBI & POTQ are all top class, the rest not far behind. It's good to be back.
  86. erikr
    May 24, 2005
    10
    Best album in 10 years by Oasis, an amazing collection of classic pop & roll tunes. Gallaghers and Co. at their prime.
  87. dantp
    May 26, 2005
    10
    This is an album which shows oasis never lost it. They have matured and moved on and created a great honest album.
  88. AbedsaH
    May 31, 2005
    10
    Don't Believe The Truth is the best album of 2005.
  89. MikeR
    May 31, 2005
    10
    This is not Morning Glory or Definitely Maybe, but is by far the best record since those two! new direction for oasis on this one.
  90. KevinY
    May 31, 2005
    10
    A true return to form for Oasis. From beginning to end, a great rock 'n' roll album.
  91. Fermín
    Jun 1, 2005
    10
    Best Album since Morning Glory
  92. Cosmo
    Jun 1, 2005
    9
    "Playlouder.com" might be the most worthless website of all time! Before they knock a band they should update there website. It looks like it was put together by bunch of retarded chimps on smack. Luke Turner is, no doubt, the most pointless rock scribe on the Internet. I'm sure he's eagerly anticipating the next rockin releases of Rufus Wainwright and Boy George. This is a good "Playlouder.com" might be the most worthless website of all time! Before they knock a band they should update there website. It looks like it was put together by bunch of retarded chimps on smack. Luke Turner is, no doubt, the most pointless rock scribe on the Internet. I'm sure he's eagerly anticipating the next rockin releases of Rufus Wainwright and Boy George. This is a good record - Not the best - But for a band that has been at it for this long, it works. It's certainly a better record compared to any 90's dinosaur (Pearl Jam anyone). If you see Luke Turner, punch him in the face. Personally, I hope he gets hit by a truck. Expand
  93. [Anonymous]
    Jun 1, 2005
    7
    What do you expect? An nu-metal band is in the top scoring. You know SOMETHING is wrong.
  94. timw
    Jun 1, 2005
    10
    Great record, definitely the best since Morning Glory, Nice one boys, there is not one skip track on this album, where as on the last few Oasis Albums a few were. Album of the year.
  95. RimaS
    Jun 14, 2005
    10
    I am an Oasis and I believe their new album worth buying and having it as a classical rock album..Oasis rocked the world and they are still doing their thing..Go Oasis Go..you are the gaints of rock n roll...believe it they are!!!
  96. johnr
    Jun 19, 2005
    9
    Gone is the affectionate bombastic blasting which marked their last three albums. Could this be the Seargant Pepper they have yearned for ? Collectively this is a Rock classic with "Tooooonful", memorable songs - I can't decide on a favourite cut as it changes daily. The most exciting rock album I've enjoyed for some time then!
  97. TimH
    Jun 2, 2005
    10
    fantastic
  98. JakeW
    Jun 2, 2005
    10
    The music they make is still ten times better than the stuff on radio these days.
  99. JohnR
    Jun 2, 2005
    10
    It took 3 'good' but not great albums for Oasis to finally make what would have been a fitting follow-up to the fantastic (What's The Story) Morning Glory. Don't Believe The Truth is an album that really grows on you, and has little to no filler. I believe it shows Oasis' future will be very promising.
  100. RichardL
    Jun 5, 2005
    10
    A definite return to form compared to last two. Leave your pre conceived ideas behind, this is one of the best albums released this year. Jury's still out but it could become a classic.
Metascore
64

Generally favorable reviews - based on 28 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 28
  2. Negative: 5 out of 28
  1. Yes, the rumors are true: Oasis has--for the first time in a decade--made an album worth hearing.
  2. Mediocre melodies ride atop formulaic songwriting.
  3. In the end, it's Oasis's attempts to capture former pinnacles, from trying to re-create the simple sunny-side-up pleasures of "Live Forever" to trying for another album-ending mountain like "Champagne Supernova," that keep their latter-day output so entirely forgettable.