Don't Believe The Truth

  • Record Label: Sony
  • Release Date: May 31, 2005
User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 332 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 48 out of 332

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. RaulR
    Jun 4, 2005
    0
    It's definitely not Morning Glory, it's a blind alley that can't even balance on the "Shoulders of Giants"
  2. ShamaarA.
    Jun 1, 2005
    2
    Listenable tracks are scarce on this album. Songs like "Mucky Fingers" or "Meaning of soul" are a joke. They should've split at least 5 years ago...
  3. heih
    Jun 1, 2005
    0
    this sucks big time
  4. rotes
    Jun 19, 2005
    2
    I really don't understand the good reviews this record gets. It's just plain boring. It's got no drive, no hooks, not one interesting moment. I'm deeply dissapointed.
  5. DrederickT
    Jun 2, 2005
    2
    This is a disappointing return. I was truly psyched that they would think and dream big as they did with "Morning Glory" and "Be Here Now" after their international decline. But they still sound like they're trapped in this formulaic rut. Has Noel Gallagher lost his poetic sense of wonder?
  6. NeilG
    Jun 2, 2005
    2
    The best song on here is "Lyla" and that's tuneless drivel. What's no surprise is that morons the world over still believe the hype !
  7. lisap
    Jul 6, 2005
    1
    awful!!
  8. EljahS
    Jul 8, 2005
    0
    Rather Shit!
  9. NoelG.
    Oct 3, 2007
    0
    Absolutely Pathetic. This is how you de-rail a career, and yes I think other people out their could write better songs - and they're probably not being obnoxious, they're just being honest. Maybe you should listen to people who play instruments, and not rich rock stars who's day has come and gone long ago. Altogether, if you haven't heard this album, I'm being Absolutely Pathetic. This is how you de-rail a career, and yes I think other people out their could write better songs - and they're probably not being obnoxious, they're just being honest. Maybe you should listen to people who play instruments, and not rich rock stars who's day has come and gone long ago. Altogether, if you haven't heard this album, I'm being dead truthful here - your dead lucky - cause its pathetic. If I could turn back time, I would off happily have had the band call it quits after "Heathen Chemistry", the fact that it took the band so long to write and record this, and scrap so many sessions is just ridiculous and laughable. After all Oasis is about honesty, and I swear to god, their is no honesty in this music anywhere Expand
  10. kazuhirok.
    Jul 12, 2007
    0
    oasis is dead.
  11. LindaM
    Jun 4, 2005
    0
    Among the most overhyped and discouraging releases of this year.
  12. tomd
    Jun 5, 2005
    2
    it's not that it's really bad, it's more that it's not very good. don't believe the other "users" aka music label interns chiming in with their lazy syntax. go buy a copy of "what's the story, morning glory" and you'll be fine. what? you already own it, somewhere? well, you just saved yourself about $16 then! better, wait - if you can - and pick it up in it's not that it's really bad, it's more that it's not very good. don't believe the other "users" aka music label interns chiming in with their lazy syntax. go buy a copy of "what's the story, morning glory" and you'll be fine. what? you already own it, somewhere? well, you just saved yourself about $16 then! better, wait - if you can - and pick it up in the discount bin in a few weeks. Expand
  13. graemef
    Jul 25, 2005
    2
    lousy
  14. JonathanH
    Dec 9, 2006
    0
    I don't know about you but this should go down as the worst rock album of all time. I've been messing around with a guitar for nearly 3 years and I could come up with a better songs than these. In fact, if this was the best I could do, I would'nt even bother trying to get a record deal or even writing these songs. Are these guys just joking , or can they actually write I don't know about you but this should go down as the worst rock album of all time. I've been messing around with a guitar for nearly 3 years and I could come up with a better songs than these. In fact, if this was the best I could do, I would'nt even bother trying to get a record deal or even writing these songs. Are these guys just joking , or can they actually write melody on the guitar with more than three or two chords - Liam Gallaghar? Thats a pretty shocking comment considering alot of the songs from "heathen Chemistry" were the best since "Morning Glory", however Liams Gems and Andys poor songs made it a patchy album. Oasis were best when Noel wrote all the songs (even his lesser great ones are way better than the other three that are in the band) and played lead guitar. And of course having a good producer helps - unlike Dave Sardy who produces Generic rock albums - Marilyn Manson, System of a down and de railed Bush's career with their own generic disastor that was "Goldenstate" subsequently the band split up and may now be done. "Heathen Chemistry" was self produced by the band (or Noel) so thats why is turned out crap because it ended up sounding like a sad 1960s tibute. Lets not forget its the 2000s now. But the first 4 were great records simply because Owen Morris made them sound nice and loud on their frst three and Spike Stent did the introspective and slower paced but brilliant "Standing on the Shoulder of Giants" Just like Bush, this might as well be the undoing of one of the greatest bands on the planet. Expand
  15. MaryH
    May 31, 2005
    2
    Oasis have continued to go downhill ever since Be Here Now. This latest album is similar to their two previous ones... and not worth buying. Avoid.
  16. jasond
    May 31, 2005
    2
    Buy their first two albums and avoid the rest, including this turgid affair.
  17. georgel
    May 31, 2005
    0
    i thought oasis already split up!! they should!!
  18. BEZ
    May 31, 2005
    0
    This lot should retire and call it quits. They are just embarrassing themselves now.
  19. carl
    May 25, 2007
    1
    The entire album is really boring , the only song in the entire album that isn't terrible is the importance of being idle.
  20. declanm
    Jun 3, 2005
    0
    These guys have sucked since after the first album and they have got more annoying since if you want real music listen to coldplay
  21. jay
    May 31, 2005
    0
    just because...ahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh!!
  22. JimmyS
    Jul 4, 2005
    1
    Will this band ever do us all a favour and split! Muck again!
  23. eurospeaking
    Jun 1, 2005
    2
    Same boring brit-pop as before. Nothing new to it whatsoever...
  24. AlexisS
    Jun 2, 2005
    0
    ho-hum.
  25. johnh
    Jun 4, 2005
    3
    i appreciate that oasis still go out doing what they do, but i don't feel any lasting feeling after the final track on this album. it's just a fleeting feeling which makes oasis sound less inspiring.
  26. PeterO
    Jun 4, 2005
    0
    by oasis standards, this is forgettable. they've lost the throne to coldplay and radiohead.
  27. GerryF
    Jun 4, 2005
    3
    Hummm, perhaps they should have titled this "don't believe the hype". Of all the good stuff glaring out at me from the record store shelves I chose this dud. Oasis are trading on the golden days. Shallow poorly constructed dribble. Best band in the World--Yeah Right!
  28. LiamGallagher
    Jun 5, 2005
    0
    I want to apologize. Here's the deal, as though you don't already know how these things go... One good album, one great album. Then we sort of fell asleep in the van, on the plane, whatever. The food was good, we were able to take advantage of our label's generosity - tantrums, pharmacy problems, infighting between my brother and I. "Opportunity knocks, but rarely lingers", I want to apologize. Here's the deal, as though you don't already know how these things go... One good album, one great album. Then we sort of fell asleep in the van, on the plane, whatever. The food was good, we were able to take advantage of our label's generosity - tantrums, pharmacy problems, infighting between my brother and I. "Opportunity knocks, but rarely lingers", my friends. Years after our early successes we were ready to take names and work hard. By that time, we were like a half-assembled version of the Dead post Garcia. There were no longer names engraved on our dressing rooms, just NG written on duct tape. We realised that we'd chased the dragon to the end of the line. And yet - there were still all these receipts lying around, waiting for payment. The record you will invariably and blindly purchase is the sum of that singular ambition - to pay the bills. I apologize, we may do better next time. It really doesn't matter, I guess. I am, however, really digging the new Spoon album - buy that and experience some really great music - just like we used to make! Wow, what a treat! Expand
  29. JC
    Apr 2, 2006
    0
    boring and nothing new to the previous ones
  30. NigelM.
    Jun 13, 2008
    0
    Oasis have always been massively overrated and finally even their most misguided fans are beginning to see that. Never being capable of originality, they at least managed a catchy tune or two in the past, even if they were stolen. This must the final nail in the rotten coffin of 'Britpop', an equally overrated scene of chancers and failures. Hopefully the knock-on effect will be Oasis have always been massively overrated and finally even their most misguided fans are beginning to see that. Never being capable of originality, they at least managed a catchy tune or two in the past, even if they were stolen. This must the final nail in the rotten coffin of 'Britpop', an equally overrated scene of chancers and failures. Hopefully the knock-on effect will be the death of all the boring bands that followed in their wake too. Expand
  31. NickM.
    Jun 17, 2008
    0
    As boring as you'd expect. Most overrated band ever.
  32. jon
    May 31, 2005
    1
    Crap... these Oasis fans must be delusional!!
  33. KyleW
    Jun 4, 2005
    1
    It sounds preconceived and disoriented.
  34. EricC.
    Aug 14, 2007
    0
    Oasis was never alive, dude.
  35. jt
    May 31, 2005
    0
    who?
  36. Ozzie
    May 31, 2005
    1
    I just listened to this album... lol....
  37. Sep 8, 2011
    1
    Having White, Guigsy, Bonehead removed from the band seems like the factors behind Oasis' demise in the 2000s. Don't believe the truth about how this album rocks because it certainly does NOT!! It's nothing like what made Oasis great in th 90s' and the album is very old-fashion rock and roll. Last time I checked, this isn't the 1960s' but when you put this album on, it certainly makes theHaving White, Guigsy, Bonehead removed from the band seems like the factors behind Oasis' demise in the 2000s. Don't believe the truth about how this album rocks because it certainly does NOT!! It's nothing like what made Oasis great in th 90s' and the album is very old-fashion rock and roll. Last time I checked, this isn't the 1960s' but when you put this album on, it certainly makes the room feel like it. And it's stuff like this that makes me embarrassed to say to my friends that I listen to Oasis. None of the tracks sound anything suitable for the 21st century. none of them!! If you hear anyone saying Oasis are back, well yeah, back in the 60s'. Expand
Metascore
64

Generally favorable reviews - based on 28 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 28
  2. Negative: 5 out of 28
  1. Yes, the rumors are true: Oasis has--for the first time in a decade--made an album worth hearing.
  2. Mediocre melodies ride atop formulaic songwriting.
  3. In the end, it's Oasis's attempts to capture former pinnacles, from trying to re-create the simple sunny-side-up pleasures of "Live Forever" to trying for another album-ending mountain like "Champagne Supernova," that keep their latter-day output so entirely forgettable.