• Record Label: Volcano
  • Release Date: Aug 16, 2005
User Score
6.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 35 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 35
  2. Negative: 11 out of 35

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. ShawnM
    Mar 7, 2007
    2
    311 was my favorite band for about 9 years. That being said, they have become a disgrace. They haven't put out a good album since Soundsystem. (sorry to all of you from chaos fans) I've moved on musically to any band who can change their style as the grow older, but not stifle their potential and bore their fans. Tim Mahoney is too talented for 311.
  2. Alex
    Oct 20, 2005
    2
    I gave it a try because 311 was my fav. band in the 90's. Of course, I was disapointed. Their sound has completely changed from back in the day. Christ, they are on the "50 First Dates" soundtrack! 311 stopped "rocking" after Transistor, as most diehard 311 fans would know. These albums did not pay off for them because they were not "pop". Can you say "time to get paid"? These last I gave it a try because 311 was my fav. band in the 90's. Of course, I was disapointed. Their sound has completely changed from back in the day. Christ, they are on the "50 First Dates" soundtrack! 311 stopped "rocking" after Transistor, as most diehard 311 fans would know. These albums did not pay off for them because they were not "pop". Can you say "time to get paid"? These last three albums have projected this once underground monster to pop sell-outs. Me and my buddies would see atleast four 311 concerts a year for 4 years. Now we can truly say we will not be to another one. Expand
  3. HOmieBB
    Jun 26, 2006
    1
    there is only one good song on this record, and now its gettin old
  4. ScottB
    Apr 26, 2007
    2
    I am a die-hard 311 fan, if anyone would be biased it would be me, trust me, and really wanted to like this album...but I just don't, and I hated to admit it to myself. These are 5 of the most talented individuals I've ever heard, but in the past few albums (beginning with From Chaos) they have totally changed their sound. "Sell out"? I don't quite think so, it feels more I am a die-hard 311 fan, if anyone would be biased it would be me, trust me, and really wanted to like this album...but I just don't, and I hated to admit it to myself. These are 5 of the most talented individuals I've ever heard, but in the past few albums (beginning with From Chaos) they have totally changed their sound. "Sell out"? I don't quite think so, it feels more like a lack of inspiration, like they have run out of messages to send us. This is a sad milestone in that it's the first album in which I cannot find even a single track that I really like. "Thank Your Lucky Stars" is probably the best song, but it gets old very quick. I read a comment by Nick Hexum stating that he "felt the album was rushed", and apparently they plan on skipping a 2007 release to produce an album for 2008, which they claim will bring back the sound that made them who they are. - I truly hope so. I'll be waiting. Expand
  5. bob
    Nov 11, 2005
    0
    I love 311. Please believe the critics, this is a bad album. Good for pop- culture tools, bad for real 311 fans. Pretty much like every album since From Chaos. Re-release Soundsystem!
  6. AlSharpton08
    Oct 21, 2005
    3
    Yawn
  7. ed
    Jan 25, 2006
    0
    First of all, this is not reggae. This album has the least amount of "reggae" than any other 311 album. I can compare Grassroots to all the albums before From Chaos. After Soundsystem, 311's sound has changed dramatically. If you can't at least see that you have no place rating music. This album just continues 311's downward spiral into memory. They have lost there old First of all, this is not reggae. This album has the least amount of "reggae" than any other 311 album. I can compare Grassroots to all the albums before From Chaos. After Soundsystem, 311's sound has changed dramatically. If you can't at least see that you have no place rating music. This album just continues 311's downward spiral into memory. They have lost there old school fan base because of albums like this. They have now gained a fan base of pop culture idiots. Congrats. Expand
  8. taylorg
    Feb 23, 2006
    3
    most of these guys on this board are just biased 311 fans. Don't listen to them. This album is NOT good by any stretch of the imagination. But 311 however, does not suck. They are one of the most incredible bands to ever play (see Music, Grassroots, 311, Transistor). This album, simply put, is one of the worst pieces of music I have ever heard. I'm a huge 311 fan. I've seen most of these guys on this board are just biased 311 fans. Don't listen to them. This album is NOT good by any stretch of the imagination. But 311 however, does not suck. They are one of the most incredible bands to ever play (see Music, Grassroots, 311, Transistor). This album, simply put, is one of the worst pieces of music I have ever heard. I'm a huge 311 fan. I've seen them 13 times and I'm from New Orleans. Take it from me, the album is not good. Expand
  9. j30
    Mar 22, 2012
    3
    Don't Tread On Me is a mixed bag. They're trying so hard to grow out of the sound that made them extremely popular in the 90's (311 and Soundsystem, considered classics by die-hard fans).The music is pretty dull and lifeless. It's like watching your dad hopelessly trying to be cool around a younger crowd. Embarrassing.
  10. Mar 13, 2012
    3
    Really don't understand how anyone could give this album a 7 rating let alone a 10. This is probably the worst album 311 has ever released. "Uplifter" has since came out and i even think that might have been a better album. I have to say the only song off this album that i truly enjoy listening to is the title track. As a 311 fan i would like to forget this album ever happened.
Metascore
51

Mixed or average reviews - based on 8 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 8
  2. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. There are no missteps on the album, and the group's faithful will have plenty to rock with. But Don't Tread on Me still feels like one to grow on instead of one to remember.
  2. Fans of albums such as 2001’s From Chaos and 2003’s promising Evolver will likely find Tread familiar and perhaps even comforting, but it’s unlikely to invite a new horde of fans as the album often sounds like an imitation of the bands 311 helped inspire in its decade-plus career.
  3. Things start out strong... [But] the rest of the material is basically an easy-listening version of the band, with vocals weak enough to be distracting and an over-reliance on multilayered, kitchen sink production. [20 Aug 2005]