Don't Tread On Me

  • Record Label: Volcano
  • Release Date: Aug 16, 2005
User Score
6.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 35 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 35
  2. Negative: 11 out of 35

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. brookso
    Dec 12, 2005
    10
    311 have been my favorite band for years and this is album is great. Some songs "Solar Flare" and "Waiting" are a little bland and get old after a few listens. "Frolic Room" is the poppiest song 311 has done in awhile, but it delivers as an essential party song. "Speak Easy" is a beautiful love song and gives me the chills everytime i listen to it. "It's Getting OK Now" is probably 311 have been my favorite band for years and this is album is great. Some songs "Solar Flare" and "Waiting" are a little bland and get old after a few listens. "Frolic Room" is the poppiest song 311 has done in awhile, but it delivers as an essential party song. "Speak Easy" is a beautiful love song and gives me the chills everytime i listen to it. "It's Getting OK Now" is probably the best song on the album lyrically and musically..I hope hard-rcokers like this are the future of 311. "Getting Through To Her" is a solid song that grows on you after each listen. If your expecting another Grassroots, then you'll probably think this a pop-sellout album. If you keep an open mind and enjoy great reggae music, then this album is great. Soundsystem is still 311's best album imo, but this right up there. Expand
  2. WillT
    Apr 8, 2006
    7
    311 is definetly my fave. I will admit it to me a while to like the new album. At that even listen to it. But once I did I was hooked. And for everyone,s info yes it sounds poppy but I can take you all the way back and show you where they sound poppy. Evolver is and awsome album. The beginning riff is as tight as they come . Their music makes me want to jump around and go nuts. Though I 311 is definetly my fave. I will admit it to me a while to like the new album. At that even listen to it. But once I did I was hooked. And for everyone,s info yes it sounds poppy but I can take you all the way back and show you where they sound poppy. Evolver is and awsome album. The beginning riff is as tight as they come . Their music makes me want to jump around and go nuts. Though I might agree older stuff is better. Let me see you write that shit, period. Expand
  3. ColtonG
    Oct 11, 2005
    10
    Critics suck my baby eggs! I work at a record store...I've probably forgot more music than those ignorant, self-pompous sphincter wads that call themselves "critics". This album ain't their best, but it rocks one way or another.
  4. RockfellerBalls
    Oct 13, 2005
    10
    The fact that only two people voted on this thing and both gave it at 10 should tell you a lot about 311's fanbase. I mean, a new 311 record...isn't that the punchline to a joke? It rokz, dood
  5. ReyP
    Nov 4, 2005
    8
    Don't believe the critics. The Metacritic rating is way too low. 311 delivers everything you want from them on Don't Tread on Me.
  6. Mark
    Oct 16, 2005
    7
    As a 311 fan I'd say the album is decent. Some songs are good but others are lame. Most of the songs are either hit or miss, it just seems like they're trying to re-create 'Amber' and hopefully get on a soundtrack.
  7. TravisC
    Dec 7, 2005
    8
    While it took some time to get used to SA's vocals, the music, lyrics and feeling of the album is up there in there top 5.
  8. AaronD
    Dec 21, 2006
    9
    Great CD. 311 is growing as a band and the older fans are growing right along side with them.
  9. FredR
    Feb 1, 2006
    9
    This is 311's Adult Contemporary album. I've been a huge fan since the blue album and this is what I was hoping for this time around, especially the production which is much fuller and more ambient than any previous record. My only complaint is they could have put 3 or 4 more songs on the disc. Speak Easy, Frolic Room and Getting Through to Her are the standouts. If you've This is 311's Adult Contemporary album. I've been a huge fan since the blue album and this is what I was hoping for this time around, especially the production which is much fuller and more ambient than any previous record. My only complaint is they could have put 3 or 4 more songs on the disc. Speak Easy, Frolic Room and Getting Through to Her are the standouts. If you've never been a 311 fan before then you should download a couple tracks from iTunes and give them another try. Expand
  10. DinoM
    Dec 4, 2007
    8
    I've been listening to 311 since the blue album and have listened to everything they released. This album is definitely another evolution for the band and though as the total package it still falls short, it definitely hold some treasures like "Whiskey & Wine", "Getting Through To Her" and "Speak Easy". The titles track is great and the lightness of the album is refreshing, keep up I've been listening to 311 since the blue album and have listened to everything they released. This album is definitely another evolution for the band and though as the total package it still falls short, it definitely hold some treasures like "Whiskey & Wine", "Getting Through To Her" and "Speak Easy". The titles track is great and the lightness of the album is refreshing, keep up the evolution guys! Expand
  11. Mattpm
    Apr 27, 2007
    7
    Not a bad album by any stretch of the imagination. Hopping tracks such as "Long For the Flowers" will force you to sing along. S.A.'S only solo track "Solar Flare" is suprisingly fierce but expectedly well-written and the final track "There's Always An Excuse" in simply wonderful. Unfortunately this stripped-down version of 311 feels like a poppy step backward from 2003's Not a bad album by any stretch of the imagination. Hopping tracks such as "Long For the Flowers" will force you to sing along. S.A.'S only solo track "Solar Flare" is suprisingly fierce but expectedly well-written and the final track "There's Always An Excuse" in simply wonderful. Unfortunately this stripped-down version of 311 feels like a poppy step backward from 2003's masterpeice Evolver. Expand
  12. annieg
    Nov 12, 2005
    10
    suck it fools!!! 311 rocks and anyone who wants to argue can give me more space to rock out at the concerts so suck it
  13. LukeS
    Dec 17, 2006
    9
    This album is good. But 311 has been around for so long, and changed so much over the albums, that its becoming almost impossible to find somebody who likes all of their albums. I don't see how somebody could say that this album is weaker than any of their other last few albums.
  14. Mar 30, 2011
    10
    Gotta love 311 but this site doesn't have their other albums on it, is there a way we can add them ourselves? Let me know. But great group, albums. 2 lead singers that mix things up and everything they make is gold. They are one of the FEW bands that are better live.
Metascore
51

Mixed or average reviews - based on 8 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 8
  2. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. There are no missteps on the album, and the group's faithful will have plenty to rock with. But Don't Tread on Me still feels like one to grow on instead of one to remember.
  2. Fans of albums such as 2001’s From Chaos and 2003’s promising Evolver will likely find Tread familiar and perhaps even comforting, but it’s unlikely to invite a new horde of fans as the album often sounds like an imitation of the bands 311 helped inspire in its decade-plus career.
  3. Things start out strong... [But] the rest of the material is basically an easy-listening version of the band, with vocals weak enough to be distracting and an over-reliance on multilayered, kitchen sink production. [20 Aug 2005]