Doo-Wops and Hooligans

  • Record Label:
  • Release Date:
Doo-Wops and Hooligans Image
Metascore
61

Generally favorable reviews - based on 13 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 139 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The Hawaiian-born producer's move to making pop music as a solo artist has proven successful, as his new album is an innovative mix of tribal beats, reggae, and club-worthy jams that show his range as a songwriter.
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 13
  2. Negative: 0 out of 13
  1. Hooligans proves that this onetime background player makes a pretty solid first banana.
  2. 80
    This fulfilling 10 track album has very few holes, and if this is just a taste of what he has in the vaults for either himself or for other artists, he should be racking up some Grammy's shortly.
  3. Jan 27, 2011
    80
    What makes this a really exciting debut, however, is the Kanye West-style genre-bending on Grenade, The Other Side and Our First Time, which joins the dots between between Michael Jackson and Bob Marley.
  4. As it is, Doo-Wops & Hooligans is an uneven debut that shows why Mars is likeable and popular, but doesn't tap into his full potential as a writer or producer.
  5. Jan 19, 2011
    50
    Mars has quite remarkably extracted themes from every one of those shows [The X-Factor], incorporating each into his debut, from glossy, over-sentimental ballads (Talking To The Moon) to an all-out, shameless dispatching of joy (Marry Song).
  6. Doo-Wops & Hooligans kicks up no fuss, and shortchanges on its promise of both doo-wop and hooliganism.
  7. Dec 21, 2010
    40
    Cutesy lyrics with insipid rhymes like "You can count on me like one, two, three" abound on songs that play out less like a cohesive album and more like no-brainer radio references to Coldplay, U2, Michael Jackson, Sade, Feist and so on.

See all 13 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 35
  2. Negative: 7 out of 35
  1. Dec 10, 2012
    10
    Very Great album!! One of the best albums of 2010, There is not one song i don't like, great vocals and very enjoyable overall !! Bruno MarsVery Great album!! One of the best albums of 2010, There is not one song i don't like, great vocals and very enjoyable overall !! Bruno Mars has an amazing voice !! Doo-Wops and hooligans is amazing!! Expand
  2. Dec 7, 2012
    10
    Doo-Wops & Hooligans was a very good debut record. Mars knows what the public wants to hear, and that is exactly what he gives us. Now I canDoo-Wops & Hooligans was a very good debut record. Mars knows what the public wants to hear, and that is exactly what he gives us. Now I can just hope he can grow as an artist on his second album. Expand
  3. Oct 14, 2010
    10
    one of the best album of the year so far...brilliant lyrics and smart sounds! a power and amazing voice!!! this is real pop and is veryone of the best album of the year so far...brilliant lyrics and smart sounds! a power and amazing voice!!! this is real pop and is very enjoyable, great melodies with a original and awesome touch of his perfect voice!!! Expand
  4. Aug 9, 2014
    8
    This is a good intourduction for Bruno Mars as I think he has a bright future ahead of him as his vocals are amzing. I like how has he fusesThis is a good intourduction for Bruno Mars as I think he has a bright future ahead of him as his vocals are amzing. I like how has he fuses the reggae perfectoy wothout you even realizing it . The beats are characteristic. His songs in the album range from him beong lazy to dieing for this girls amd some of his songs can be touching. But he doesn't really try to cover that many genres except for R&B,pop,and a little bit of reggae plus the production of the songs kind of stink. Expand
  5. Nov 18, 2016
    7
    Doo-Wops and Hooligans is like a menu with lots of options, from melodically romantic tunes to soulfully revenge lyrics. No matter what,Doo-Wops and Hooligans is like a menu with lots of options, from melodically romantic tunes to soulfully revenge lyrics. No matter what, though, it is good to see Mars pouring his ecstatic voice into your ears. Expand
  6. CRL
    Aug 17, 2011
    6
    The lyrics are simple and none of the songs are more than simple pop, but Bruno Mars's soaring voice and catchy rhythms pull this album aboveThe lyrics are simple and none of the songs are more than simple pop, but Bruno Mars's soaring voice and catchy rhythms pull this album above the line of mediocrity and make it a truly enjoyable if not enlightening experience. Expand
  7. Nov 16, 2010
    0
    Bruno mars has his eyes on the charts and only on the charts, he doesnt care about music, and the album itself is horrible, I bought the albumBruno mars has his eyes on the charts and only on the charts, he doesnt care about music, and the album itself is horrible, I bought the album that is now in ashes. This album is horrible, rubbish, the music is so corny, the lyrics have absoloutley no meaning, whatsoever. Expand

See all 35 User Reviews