Dos!

  • Record Label: Reprise
  • Release Date: Nov 13, 2012
Metascore
68

Generally favorable reviews - based on 24 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 24
  2. Negative: 2 out of 24
Buy On
  1. Nov 13, 2012
    88
    It's an excellent Green Day album--one of its best--a catchy, revealing work that surprises with its willingness to explore ideas that the band members may not have invented, but which, fed through Green Day's filter, become theirs.
  2. 83
    Scratch the party-till-you-puke surface and there's plenty of minor-key darkness lurking below.
  3. Mojo
    Dec 17, 2012
    80
    It's great to hear them back on home turf, stripped of their last two records' strained conceptualism, instead just spitting out random, bratty nuggets about uncomplicated things like feeling horny and outrageous women. [Jan 2013, p.94]
  4. Kerrang!
    Dec 10, 2012
    80
    Musical joie de vivre courses through Dos!, along with enough variety to ensure this is more than just, um, Uno! Part 2. [10 Nov 2012, p.52]
  5. Nov 14, 2012
    80
    Clearly, all the partying caught up to [Billie Joe Armstrong], but while he was racing recklessly, he cut this terrific little party record.
  6. Nov 13, 2012
    80
    Some songs' lyrics feel a bit too rote ("Makeout Party," "Lazy Bones") but that's when you realize Green Day never really had all that much to say in the first place, and they function at their best with hook-filled songs that are typically three minutes or less. Luckily for us, ¡Dos! is full of those tracks, and is definitely the highlight of the band's ongoing trilogy to date.
  7. Nov 13, 2012
    80
    Twenty years on from "Kerplunk," Green Day couldn't possibly replicate its early urgency, but the band can manage to keep its sound nicely unhinged.
  8. Nov 13, 2012
    70
    Dos! is a reliably fun, garagey treat--and should be viewed as no more than that.
  9. Nov 13, 2012
    70
    Everything about ¡Dos! is a step up from the last go-round, as if the previous LP was a mere dress rehearsal for the proper show,
  10. Nov 13, 2012
    70
    Armstrong, Mike Dirnt and Tré Cool harness the sound of immolating, teenage-wasteland lust for an album with a distinct sense of life coming off the rails.
User Score
6.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 116 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 26
  2. Negative: 8 out of 26
  1. Nov 15, 2012
    0
    Wow this is bad. I thought that it couldn't get worse from Uno, but god this is bad. All of the songs are some of the most bland things I haveWow this is bad. I thought that it couldn't get worse from Uno, but god this is bad. All of the songs are some of the most bland things I have had the misfortune of hearing in years. At least with Uno, Carpe Diem was ok, but there are no good or even half way descent songs here. Every song is short and sounds the same. I never thought I would say it, but I want the Green Day that made 21st Century Breakdown back... Full Review »
  2. Nov 14, 2012
    4
    What the hell happend with Green Day? The last three album sounds the same and I think "tre" will too! I think the are out of ideas, theyWhat the hell happend with Green Day? The last three album sounds the same and I think "tre" will too! I think the are out of ideas, they writing music because of the musi indrustry want it.... Full Review »
  3. Nov 13, 2012
    10
    Great follow-up to the first album and really sets groundwork for the third and final album to finale itself. The upbeat tones and relatableGreat follow-up to the first album and really sets groundwork for the third and final album to finale itself. The upbeat tones and relatable themes make it a wonderful continuation as the second part in this masterpiece. Full Review »