Dos!

  • Record Label: Reprise
  • Release Date: Nov 13, 2012
Metascore
68

Generally favorable reviews - based on 24 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 24
  2. Negative: 2 out of 24
  1. Dec 11, 2012
    60
    They're much more at ease losing themselves in power-pop harmonies on Lazy Bones and embracing '60s garage on Stop When The Red Lights Flash. [Jan 2013, p.108]
  2. Aside from a few solid, unspectacular pop-rock songs though, ¡Dos! Has only one thing to offer: it makes ¡Uno! sound a hell of a lot better.
  3. Nov 26, 2012
    60
    Dos!, the aptly named second part of the trilogy, is relieved of the weight of expectation and, though it was recorded at the same time as the first, sounds less strained.
  4. Nov 26, 2012
    40
    When it comes down to it, the second part of Green Day's trilogy of albums is another crushing disappointment.
  5. Nov 21, 2012
    60
    Judging from the spirited but wildly inconsistent material on this trilogy's first two entries, a little quality control would've helped, perhaps funneling the best of the three albums into one solid offering.
  6. 60
    For all their fitful moments of greatness, these albums remain too cluttered with filler to measure up against the best of the band's stuff, though ¡Dos! is a tentative step in the right direction.
  7. Nov 13, 2012
    50
    It's neither particularly accessible nor a nostalgic feast for fans of 90s pop-punk. Instead, it seems like part of an as-yet-incomplete whole.
  8. Nov 13, 2012
    58
    On "Lazy Bones," that confessional spirit adds urgency to the band's power-chord crunch. Elsewhere, though, there's a troubling lack of focus.
  9. Nov 13, 2012
    60
    While the album is agreeably jejune in a way that recalls the band's Dookie era, only a handful of its tracks are truly essential additions to the Green Day catalogue.
  10. Nov 13, 2012
    40
    Part two of Green Day's album triptych finds them flailing ever further from the pop nous that has underscored their finest moments, as they plod through a set that's oddly leaden and largely witless.
  11. Nov 13, 2012
    42
    Dos! is the sophomore slump of a trilogy that's shaping up to be far less fun than it was supposed to be.
  12. 40
    With a lack of depth, a messy focus, and a bloated sense of evolution, ¡Dos! isn't only a forgettable sequel to a bland predecessor, but a slip down the ladder Green Day has attempted to extend for over a decade.
User Score
6.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 93 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 23
  2. Negative: 5 out of 23
  1. Nov 15, 2012
    0
    Wow this is bad. I thought that it couldn't get worse from Uno, but god this is bad. All of the songs are some of the most bland things I haveWow this is bad. I thought that it couldn't get worse from Uno, but god this is bad. All of the songs are some of the most bland things I have had the misfortune of hearing in years. At least with Uno, Carpe Diem was ok, but there are no good or even half way descent songs here. Every song is short and sounds the same. I never thought I would say it, but I want the Green Day that made 21st Century Breakdown back... Full Review »
  2. Nov 13, 2012
    10
    Green Day are a band who tend to mix things up, and if you enjoy Green Day's attempts to mix things up, you will love Dos! While Uno was aGreen Day are a band who tend to mix things up, and if you enjoy Green Day's attempts to mix things up, you will love Dos! While Uno was a power pop album with one typical sound spanning it's entirety, there are multiple different sounds here ranging from raunchy garage rock, to bluesy 50's rock and even going into areas unheard of for Green Day such as rap, with guest verses from Lady Cobra. This album is full of memorable songs, with some very memorable riffs and lyrics, although some may feel very familiar to your (Lazy Bones has the same chords as Give Me Novacaine for example) which is the key area in which Uno was lacking. Songs such as F**k Time (yeah that exists), Lazy Bones, Makeout Party, Stray Heart and Wild One are two songs that stand out and really give the album a sense of emotion and a personality, as well as being some of Green Day's absolute finest, with absolutely commendable bass work (seriously, this is one of Mike's best). The band also delves into the rap genre and pulls it off rather well with the track 'Nightlife' which is a dark and dirty track with a great bassline.

    This is a great album and is really worth a listen, if Uno wasn't a particular favorite of your's, check out Dos, it's a great album and really gets you ready for Tre!
    Full Review »
  3. Nov 14, 2012
    4
    What the hell happend with Green Day? The last three album sounds the same and I think "tre" will too! I think the are out of ideas, theyWhat the hell happend with Green Day? The last three album sounds the same and I think "tre" will too! I think the are out of ideas, they writing music because of the musi indrustry want it.... Full Review »