Dos! - Green Day
Dos! Image
Metascore
68

Generally favorable reviews - based on 24 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 85 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The second of Green Day's 2012 trilogy produced by Rob Cavallo is said to have garage rock influences.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 24
  2. Negative: 2 out of 24
  1. Nov 13, 2012
    88
    It's an excellent Green Day album--one of its best--a catchy, revealing work that surprises with its willingness to explore ideas that the band members may not have invented, but which, fed through Green Day's filter, become theirs.
  2. Nov 13, 2012
    80
    Twenty years on from "Kerplunk," Green Day couldn't possibly replicate its early urgency, but the band can manage to keep its sound nicely unhinged.
  3. Dec 10, 2012
    80
    Musical joie de vivre courses through Dos!, along with enough variety to ensure this is more than just, um, Uno! Part 2. [10 Nov 2012, p.52]
  4. Nov 21, 2012
    60
    Judging from the spirited but wildly inconsistent material on this trilogy's first two entries, a little quality control would've helped, perhaps funneling the best of the three albums into one solid offering.
  5. Nov 13, 2012
    58
    On "Lazy Bones," that confessional spirit adds urgency to the band's power-chord crunch. Elsewhere, though, there's a troubling lack of focus.
  6. Nov 13, 2012
    42
    Dos! is the sophomore slump of a trilogy that's shaping up to be far less fun than it was supposed to be.
  7. Nov 13, 2012
    20
    Many of the tracks on Dos! are merely soulless specters of previous work from Green Day's "golden-age."

See all 24 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 23
  2. Negative: 5 out of 23
  1. Nov 13, 2012
    10
    Green Day are a band who tend to mix things up, and if you enjoy Green Day's attempts to mix things up, you will love Dos! While Uno was a power pop album with one typical sound spanning it's entirety, there are multiple different sounds here ranging from raunchy garage rock, to bluesy 50's rock and even going into areas unheard of for Green Day such as rap, with guest verses from Lady Cobra. This album is full of memorable songs, with some very memorable riffs and lyrics, although some may feel very familiar to your (Lazy Bones has the same chords as Give Me Novacaine for example) which is the key area in which Uno was lacking. Songs such as F**k Time (yeah that exists), Lazy Bones, Makeout Party, Stray Heart and Wild One are two songs that stand out and really give the album a sense of emotion and a personality, as well as being some of Green Day's absolute finest, with absolutely commendable bass work (seriously, this is one of Mike's best). The band also delves into the rap genre and pulls it off rather well with the track 'Nightlife' which is a dark and dirty track with a great bassline.

    This is a great album and is really worth a listen, if Uno wasn't a particular favorite of your's, check out Dos, it's a great album and really gets you ready for Tre!
    Expand
  2. Nov 14, 2012
    10
    What was announced as a party album turned out to be more. Although, I would dare to say that guys from GD haven't shot from all cannons while making this album, I have to say that it's great. Lyrics are a bit of a weak side, but it's just a good, fun, catchy album...let the guys do what they want and enjoy themselves...they deserved it. Collapse
  3. Nov 14, 2012
    10
    dos is very catchy and far more better than uno.........it has a variety of songs ranging from fast like makeout party ,medium like lazy bones,and slow like wild one and amy. billies vocals are awesome especially in the garagy feel of see u tonight.............hope that next album is also like this one Expand
  4. Nov 15, 2012
    8
    I personally liked the album. It is definietly not the best Green Day album but it certianly isnt the worst. It has a lot of good, catchy songs but nothing more. In my opinion Dos! is much better than Uno! but that is just my opinion. This is nothing revolutionary, just a short, fun party album. Nothing more and nothing less. Lower your expectations and you will enjoy. Expand
  5. Nov 23, 2012
    8
    Garage rock re-defined is a good theme for this album. When BJ said this was more like the second Foxboro Hot Tubs album, he wasn't kidding. The album is filled with garage rock jams that are fun, catchy, and easily get stuck in your head. While the lyrics and songwriting style are a definite departure from previous albums ('Nightlife' features rapping by Lady Cobra), Dos is a fun interpretation on Garage Rock and songs like '**** Time', 'Makeout Party', and 'Wow! That's Loud' are sure to become classics added to Green Day's already extensive repertoire. Expand
  6. Nov 20, 2012
    7
    Well, I must say that my expectations from this record were not so high and that's why, after listening to it, I can actually say that I kinda like it. It's much, much better than their previous album 'Uno!'. It has that genuine Green Day sound, what more would you want? If you are expecting more then just wait for the next installment, that is going to blow everyone's mind because Green Day has thought all of it through and they want to give us something worth listening to. And I think that's why they're releasing their albums back-to-back because they don't really want to disappoint their fans. I have this weird feeling that when we'd listen to the trilogy at once, that would truly turn into a masterpiece. Expand
  7. Nov 19, 2012
    0
    its truly not worth it to hear their album as it changed dramatically from American Idiot and 21st Century Breakdown. Lots of cliched "rock" music. On the next one waiting to see if their last album Tres makes up for this one Expand

See all 23 User Reviews