Dr. Dee

  • Record Label: Virgin
  • Release Date: May 8, 2012
Metascore
64

Generally favorable reviews - based on 27 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 27
  2. Negative: 1 out of 27
  1. May 9, 2012
    60
    Perhaps it is a bit stuffy and hidebound for art rock, but taken as a theatrical production, it's adventurously cerebral, an album to ponder if not quite embrace.
  2. 60
    Dr Dee is more of a musical fog made for sipping tea while blankly gazing onto a desolate street.
  3. 60
    The biggest draw comes in the folk-leaning songs. Beginning with "Apple Carts" and concluding with "The Dancing King" there is an Albarn solo album of sorts here, hidden among the stern runes.
  4. May 7, 2012
    60
    Dr Dee indicates both Albarn's continuing interest in experimentation and his resolute songwriting skills, but doesn't always make for the easiest listen.
  5. 60
    Melancholy of tone, it occasionally attains the antique industry of Michael Nyman's early Peter Greenaway scores, but the overall effect is more akin to the musical equivalent of a mock-tudorbethan semi.
  6. May 23, 2012
    50
    An ambitious and unexpected move, sure, but the mix of period strings, vocal choruses and West African percussion (plus Albarn's gloomy score) makes for a dense term paper.
  7. Clearly Damon is pleased to be carving a niche in the world of high art, but perhaps 'Dr Dre The Opera: Nuthin' But An ENO Thang' might have served his legend better.
  8. 50
    But extracting a narrative from these delicate sounds can feel like more trouble than they're worth--even if you haven't half as much happening as Albarn does.
  9. May 4, 2012
    50
    Despite the many hugely talented performers involved, Dr Dee is less philosopher's stone, and more curate's egg: a handful of fine songs where Albarn plays to his existing strengths, but mired in a sea of over-reaching folly. And ultimately, both Dee and Albarn deserve better.
  10. May 8, 2012
    42
    Unfortunately, an undertaking as complicated as Dr Dee needs all the accessibility that would-be fans can get. And instead it's nothing more than rabbit-hole music for Dr. Damon.
  11. Q Magazine
    Jun 20, 2012
    40
    Even utterly dedicated Albarn fans will be hard-pushed to force themselves to play it more than once. [Jun 2012, p.107]
  12. May 7, 2012
    40
    There isn't one song on Dr. Dee that forces its way into the world the way something like "Feel Good, Inc." or "Parklife" did.
User Score
7.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 6 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 1
  2. Negative: 0 out of 1
  1. May 22, 2012
    5
    Nothing to see here... move along. I didn't enjoy this as much as I could have, but I speak for many people in saying that Mr. Albarn shouldNothing to see here... move along. I didn't enjoy this as much as I could have, but I speak for many people in saying that Mr. Albarn should stick to Gorillaz and Blur. Full Review »