Drastic Fantastic

  • Record Label: Virgin
  • Release Date: Sep 18, 2007
User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 45 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 37 out of 45
  2. Negative: 5 out of 45

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. EdwardH
    Oct 7, 2007
    10
    KT is so freekin' rokkin' on diz album, she is sincere and very honest in her songs and she has such a awsum ass voice 2. Anyone dat sayz she is dull or borin' obviously don'tz know shit bout reel pop muzik. Diz is a winner wit yo boi. Peace KT you have made yo boi proud. Keep it Komin' Ghirlfriend!
  2. NeilR.
    Oct 25, 2007
    8
    Not quite as good as the first album, but the first few tracks are extremely singalongtoable, and she varies her style elegantly (though, again, the album as a whole sounds similar to the previous).
  3. HenryG.
    Oct 9, 2007
    9
    Absolutely sublime. Just brilliant.
  4. BD
    Oct 9, 2007
    10
    Fantastic
  5. T
    Sep 25, 2007
    10
    A brilliant variety of more rockier tracks to quieter acoustic ballads, well done KT.
  6. LucaD.
    Sep 18, 2007
    9
    It's a great pop CD, probably not at the same levels of Eye To The Telescope, but really enjoyable!
  7. GregoryH.
    Sep 18, 2007
    9
    This is a solid follow up to Eye To the Telescope. If you liked her debut, you will like this one as well.
  8. MattD.
    Sep 18, 2007
    9
    Wonderful job, KT! Her debut was good, but had filler. This album has less filler and packs more of a pop punch. The mid-tempo stuff isn't as murky.
  9. TomS
    Sep 19, 2007
    7
    Somehow the glossy production fits the songs better on this album, whereas it muted the rootsy tendencies of her first album. It's slick, yes, but the songs have plenty of oomph and there IS soulfulness underneath the candy-coating, if you listen for it. Personally, I'd like to see her take some risks with hard edges and grittiness, generally I think the glossier production, the Somehow the glossy production fits the songs better on this album, whereas it muted the rootsy tendencies of her first album. It's slick, yes, but the songs have plenty of oomph and there IS soulfulness underneath the candy-coating, if you listen for it. Personally, I'd like to see her take some risks with hard edges and grittiness, generally I think the glossier production, the more any resonance is smothered, but I have to admit this album lifted my mood - I've listened to it 3 times in a row - and it's hard to argue with that. Expand
  10. MarkC.
    Sep 24, 2007
    10
    A wonderful album that really shows a rockier side of KT. The best album so far in 2007.
  11. SunaDee
    Sep 19, 2007
    9
    Once again, KT shows not only range, but style and creativity. Rarely is a second album so different and exceptional...love it.
  12. MattR.
    Sep 26, 2007
    9
    Not as good as her first, but still a great album. One of the better voices/personas of all female artists right now.
  13. Aug 24, 2010
    9
    An amazingly flawless album; although I personally didn't like the slower sounds of "Beauty of Uncertainty" and "Paper Aeroplane", they were still very good songs.
    Highlights include (but are not limited to) If Only, Funnyman, Hold On, Hopeless, I Don't Want You Now and Saving My Face. As you can tell, thats 6 songs. Half the album. The entire album is a masterpiece. It is rare that me, as
    An amazingly flawless album; although I personally didn't like the slower sounds of "Beauty of Uncertainty" and "Paper Aeroplane", they were still very good songs.
    Highlights include (but are not limited to) If Only, Funnyman, Hold On, Hopeless, I Don't Want You Now and Saving My Face. As you can tell, thats 6 songs. Half the album. The entire album is a masterpiece. It is rare that me, as a Metacritic user, often gets to use those words positively. Most of the album is high up on my iTunes Top 25 most played list, from my library of over 2,000. KT is a brilliantly talented singer and musician, and I'm dying to hear her 3rd album, coming out in September of this year (2010, for when 2011 comes around).
    9/10. Why? Because I just feel, ever so slightly at the back of my mind that songs like White Bird could have had an extra added layer of power. However, I only knock 1 mark off for this, because it matters so little; the songs are all still amazing. A must- have.
    Expand
  14. DPR
    Nov 28, 2010
    8
    While not as good as Eye To The Telescope or Tiger Suit, in my opinion, Drastic Fantastic's a really good album. Hold and Saving My Face are as top notch songs.
Metascore
68

Generally favorable reviews - based on 22 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 22
  2. Negative: 0 out of 22
  1. Just when you think things are getting a bit too glossy and radio-friendly, there's a reminder of the edge that makes her such a good listen.
  2. It's high-gloss folk pop, confessional in form if not in content, crafted with intelligent attention to every detail.
  3. Tunstall has never sounded better, and the Sheryl Crow riffs and mid-tempo chick rock of 'If Only' and 'Little Favours' serve her well.