Metascore
66

Generally favorable reviews - based on 14 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 14
  2. Negative: 1 out of 14
  1. Bachmann's contributions play a back-seat role to those by Taylor and Fink, who sound as convincing after a seven-year break as they did during Azure Ray's heyday.
  2. Moon is bith dark and sweet, its elegiac tones creating a distinct mood that is at the same time beautiful and heartbreaking. [Oct 2010, p.112]
  3. 76
    Instead of being tired, Drawing Down the Moon feels loaded with nostalgia, like being welcomed home by an old and very heartsick friend.
  4. Dec 13, 2010
    70
    Listening to this record is something like meeting up with an old friend, one who hasn't developed any bad habits or annoying quirks in the intervening years.
  5. The upside is that it sounds warmly familiar, a reminder of why we missed them in the first place, but the downside is that the album gives very few indications of what Fink and Taylor have learned during their hiatus.
  6. Dec 15, 2010
    60
    Ghostly lullabies from the Birmingham, Alabama two. [Jan. 2011, p. 105]
  7. Dec 13, 2010
    60
    They do rest a bit comfortably on what they do right, circumventing the idea of exploring new territory. This is, of course, a curse and a blessing. In presence or not, Azure Ray's stark simplicity will always remain intact.
  8. Dec 13, 2010
    60
    Drawing Down The Moon marks a welcome return for Azure Ray, and makes for an oftentimes exquisite listening experience. It's just a shame that, when it comes to the songs themselves, much of the beauty is only skin deeP.
  9. Dec 13, 2010
    60
    It's a warming blanket of an album, here for you to wrap up in. However, beneath an enchanting surface there's not much to warrant being played over and over again.
  10. Dec 9, 2010
    60
    First album in seven years by dreamy Alabama duo. [Jan. 2011, p. 135]
  11. 60
    Drawing is occasionally eager and unstoppably pleasant, but just as often drifts as dazzles.
  12. Yet for all the lost time, the duo;s sound is virtually unchanged from 2003's Hold On Love, or for that matter their 2001 self-titled debut. [Summer 2010, p.77]
  13. With never any hurry or need to their lyrics or their vocals, with only dreamy soulfulness that sounds too content and comfortable wallowing in grief to want for much else-I just don't see what's very necessary about this album.
  14. The collection itself is haphazard; what's worse is that the individual tracks build and remain suspended in mid air by very thin and awkward threads, rarely growing into full-fledged arrangements.
User Score
tbd

No user score yet- Awaiting 1 more rating

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 1
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 1
  3. Negative: 0 out of 1
  1. Nov 24, 2010
    10
    Some of these critic reviews are amazing. It's the same ol' story: band comes up with a few well-reviewed albums, then according to theSome of these critic reviews are amazing. It's the same ol' story: band comes up with a few well-reviewed albums, then according to the critics, the diminish in significance or creativity, and when they come back, they're washouts. As an Azure Ray fan I can say it's almost as good as Hold On Love, or perhaps better. I've seen them live recently and I can say they sound much better live than they did 7 years ago. Call it confidence or experience or age, it's obvious that they have polished themselves as musicians and singers, as good as they were 7 years ago. I saw them in Phoenix a few months ago where they had a pretty good reception (about 50 madly cheering fans). This is opposed to 7 years ago when there were about 20 people there to see them, if that. I wish them much more success than that. I can't wait until I see them play a basketball arena or something. They would deserve it. Full Review »