Drawing Down the Moon Image
Metascore
66

Generally favorable reviews - based on 14 Critics What's this?

User Score
tbd

No user score yet- Awaiting 1 more rating

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Band members: Maria Taylor, Orenda Fink
  • Summary: Orenda Fink and Maria Taylor return to release the duo's fourth studio album after disbanding in 2004.
  • Record Label: Saddle Creek Records
  • Genre(s): Pop/Rock, Alternative/Indie Rock, Alternative Pop/Rock, Indie Rock, Indie Pop, Dream Pop
  • More Details and Credits »
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 14
  2. Negative: 1 out of 14
  1. Bachmann's contributions play a back-seat role to those by Taylor and Fink, who sound as convincing after a seven-year break as they did during Azure Ray's heyday.
  2. Moon is bith dark and sweet, its elegiac tones creating a distinct mood that is at the same time beautiful and heartbreaking. [Oct 2010, p.112]
  3. 76
    Instead of being tired, Drawing Down the Moon feels loaded with nostalgia, like being welcomed home by an old and very heartsick friend.
  4. Dec 9, 2010
    60
    First album in seven years by dreamy Alabama duo. [Jan. 2011, p. 135]
  5. Dec 13, 2010
    60
    Drawing Down The Moon marks a welcome return for Azure Ray, and makes for an oftentimes exquisite listening experience. It's just a shame that, when it comes to the songs themselves, much of the beauty is only skin deeP.
  6. Dec 13, 2010
    60
    It's a warming blanket of an album, here for you to wrap up in. However, beneath an enchanting surface there's not much to warrant being played over and over again.
  7. The collection itself is haphazard; what's worse is that the individual tracks build and remain suspended in mid air by very thin and awkward threads, rarely growing into full-fledged arrangements.

See all 14 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 1
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 1
  3. Negative: 0 out of 1
  1. Nov 24, 2010
    10
    Some of these critic reviews are amazing. It's the same ol' story: band comes up with a few well-reviewed albums, then according to the critics, the diminish in significance or creativity, and when they come back, they're washouts. As an Azure Ray fan I can say it's almost as good as Hold On Love, or perhaps better. I've seen them live recently and I can say they sound much better live than they did 7 years ago. Call it confidence or experience or age, it's obvious that they have polished themselves as musicians and singers, as good as they were 7 years ago. I saw them in Phoenix a few months ago where they had a pretty good reception (about 50 madly cheering fans). This is opposed to 7 years ago when there were about 20 people there to see them, if that. I wish them much more success than that. I can't wait until I see them play a basketball arena or something. They would deserve it. Collapse