Metascore
69

Generally favorable reviews - based on 17 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 17
  2. Negative: 0 out of 17
  1. 60
    If Meek wants to maximize his potential, he'll have to step out from his boss' (er, bawse's) shadow and further develop his own identity.
  2. Nov 5, 2012
    60
    Despite plenty of practice as a contributor to Rick Ross' Maybach Music Group compilation series Self Made, Meek's label debut lacks viable singles.
  3. Nov 1, 2012
    60
    There's a hidden level of responsibility in his words, with Mill striking a balance between the glorification and the lamentation of his actions.
  4. Oct 31, 2012
    60
    It's good, but coldly so, and could have been so much more.
  5. Oct 30, 2012
    60
    The title-track to Meek Mill's album has all the makings of a classic opening.... And yet, what transpires on the rest of Dreams & Nightmares is an inconsistency of lyrical ingenuity and thematic execution that will haunt the Philadelphian rapper on his debut.
  6. Oct 30, 2012
    60
    The problem is that this pronounced personal narrative frequently buts up against the album's upper-crust trappings.... Still, Dreams and Nightmares delivers a few standout tracks and a ringing confirmation of the rapper's skills.
  7. Nov 6, 2012
    58
    Everything is executed competently enough, but the album's stuffy backward focus hardly complements an excitable rapper whose best work comes from rapping in the here and now.
User Score
6.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 38 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 10
  2. Negative: 1 out of 10
  1. Nov 3, 2012
    0
    This album, Dreams and Nightmares from Meek Mill, sucks donkey dick. Seriously, this is one of the worst rap albums of the year. There's basicThis album, Dreams and Nightmares from Meek Mill, sucks donkey dick. Seriously, this is one of the worst rap albums of the year. There's basic rapping skills, the content is the same repetitive **** money, women, drugs, real **** **** etc., and Meek just yells too damn much. Don't buy this ****ty album and spend your hard-earned money to buy that good kid, m.A.A.d city by Kendrick Lamar. Full Review »
  2. Oct 30, 2012
    6
    The album was a pretty solid debut. The standout tracks like Tony Story 2 and Traumatized, had me sold on the album, until i heard the rest.The album was a pretty solid debut. The standout tracks like Tony Story 2 and Traumatized, had me sold on the album, until i heard the rest. Tracks like Young & Gettin It, Lay Up, and Believe It, should've been left off the album and never thought of. Overall Id have to give the album a 6 at best. You can tell this album was built specifically for the streets and sound systems. Full Review »
  3. Nov 1, 2012
    8
    Pretty decent album and worth the wait. I found Meek's Dream Chaser mixtapes a mixed bag, but this album is pretty good. Definitely not thePretty decent album and worth the wait. I found Meek's Dream Chaser mixtapes a mixed bag, but this album is pretty good. Definitely not the classic he wants it to be (ala Get Rich and Die Trying, Illmatic, etc.). I think anyone who is into the whole MMG scene won't be disappointed. I think Meek is just getting started. Full Review »