Dreams and Nightmares

Metascore
69

Generally favorable reviews - based on 17 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 17
  2. Negative: 0 out of 17
  1. Dec 12, 2012
    80
    Meek surpasses expectations of his own personal Dreams and Nightmares with a youthful appeal, especially for today's misconstrued generation. [Dec 2012/Jan 2013, p.88]
  2. Nov 1, 2012
    80
    Dreams and Nightmares doesn't break new grounds in hip-hop, however it does serve as a respectable release from the rapper who's on the verge of universal acceptance-a road similarly traveled by his cohorts Rick Ross and Wale.
  3. Oct 31, 2012
    74
    Meek has made the move from mixtapes to the majors with a solid vision.
  4. Dec 11, 2013
    70
    Meek is doing the one thing he does well and nothing else. [Nov 2013, p.66]
  5. Nov 16, 2012
    70
    On Dreams and Nightmares he mostly keeps things gritty, telling--that is, yelling--hardscrabble street stories, in a voice big and brassy enough to be heard 20 blocks away.
  6. Oct 31, 2012
    70
    As far as graduations from mixtapes to major-label releases go, this one is still satisfying and a step forward, plus slicked up and pimped out in a way that's entirely Maybach.
  7. Oct 31, 2012
    70
    We can safely assume that Dreams and Nightmares is the best Meek can possibly muster. And if this is indeed Meek's best, Meek's best is pretty good.
  8. Oct 30, 2012
    70
    The compositions are pretty formulaic and the lyrics aren't overly technical. Still, it works for Mill as a respectable effort that exorcises personal demons and moves him beyond illicit history.
  9. Oct 30, 2012
    70
    Hip-hop's bountiful fall continues with this taut, often terrific, major label bow from the Philly native.
  10. Nov 6, 2012
    65
    Some of the better songs on Dreams and Nightmares--"In God We Trust" and "Believe It" being prominent examples--are the ones that let Meek hit the track hard and tear it apart.... But ultimately songs like these are in the minority on Dreams and Nightmares. There are many notable stylistic missteps.
User Score
6.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 38 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 10
  2. Negative: 1 out of 10
  1. Nov 3, 2012
    0
    This album, Dreams and Nightmares from Meek Mill, sucks donkey dick. Seriously, this is one of the worst rap albums of the year. There's basicThis album, Dreams and Nightmares from Meek Mill, sucks donkey dick. Seriously, this is one of the worst rap albums of the year. There's basic rapping skills, the content is the same repetitive **** money, women, drugs, real **** **** etc., and Meek just yells too damn much. Don't buy this ****ty album and spend your hard-earned money to buy that good kid, m.A.A.d city by Kendrick Lamar. Full Review »
  2. Oct 30, 2012
    6
    The album was a pretty solid debut. The standout tracks like Tony Story 2 and Traumatized, had me sold on the album, until i heard the rest.The album was a pretty solid debut. The standout tracks like Tony Story 2 and Traumatized, had me sold on the album, until i heard the rest. Tracks like Young & Gettin It, Lay Up, and Believe It, should've been left off the album and never thought of. Overall Id have to give the album a 6 at best. You can tell this album was built specifically for the streets and sound systems. Full Review »
  3. Nov 1, 2012
    8
    Pretty decent album and worth the wait. I found Meek's Dream Chaser mixtapes a mixed bag, but this album is pretty good. Definitely not thePretty decent album and worth the wait. I found Meek's Dream Chaser mixtapes a mixed bag, but this album is pretty good. Definitely not the classic he wants it to be (ala Get Rich and Die Trying, Illmatic, etc.). I think anyone who is into the whole MMG scene won't be disappointed. I think Meek is just getting started. Full Review »