Dreams and Nightmares

User Score
6.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 40 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 40
  2. Negative: 7 out of 40
Buy On

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 1, 2012
    8
    Pretty decent album and worth the wait. I found Meek's Dream Chaser mixtapes a mixed bag, but this album is pretty good. Definitely not the classic he wants it to be (ala Get Rich and Die Trying, Illmatic, etc.). I think anyone who is into the whole MMG scene won't be disappointed. I think Meek is just getting started.
  2. Oct 31, 2012
    7
    Very solid album. Some might say it sounds like his mix tapes, well yeah that's because it does. But isn't that a good thing too? At least he didn't do a Cole World.
  3. Nov 3, 2012
    8
    youngin on his grind! Meek spent time puttin out free highly successful mixtapes... its time he put out an album, the album may not bee all his best but its a pass for me.
  4. Nov 8, 2012
    9
    Typical Meek Mill release here, which is good for fans and bad for non-fans. As a Meek fan, I loved this album in its entirety and will be buying it as soon as possible. Keep it up, Meek!
  5. Jun 27, 2013
    8
    The intro song, literally made the album amazing to me.
    Lyrically, it is the same Meek Mill everyone loves, however the guests somewhat reminded me of two other albums this year in "God Forgives, I Don't" and "Based On A T.R.U Story" This might just be because of John Legend being on all of these albums, but to me, there was no difference between Meek's Dreamchasers mix tape series and
    The intro song, literally made the album amazing to me.
    Lyrically, it is the same Meek Mill everyone loves, however the guests somewhat reminded me of two other albums this year in "God Forgives, I Don't" and "Based On A T.R.U Story" This might just be because of John Legend being on all of these albums, but to me, there was no difference between Meek's Dreamchasers mix tape series and the album. I think everyone looks forward to the next Dreamchasers and I was disappointed by Meek. Fortunately the album still has some solid hits ("Maybach Curtains" and "Young Kings") and a couple of catchy tunes, including the Rick Ross assisted "Believe It" and of course, "Young and Gettin' It" I look forward to Meek Mill growing as an artist and believe that one day his skills as a rapper will challenge those of his captain, Ricky Rozay.
    Expand
Metascore
69

Generally favorable reviews - based on 17 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 17
  2. Negative: 0 out of 17
  1. The Wire
    Dec 11, 2013
    70
    Meek is doing the one thing he does well and nothing else. [Nov 2013, p.66]
  2. The Source
    Dec 12, 2012
    80
    Meek surpasses expectations of his own personal Dreams and Nightmares with a youthful appeal, especially for today's misconstrued generation. [Dec 2012/Jan 2013, p.88]
  3. Nov 16, 2012
    70
    On Dreams and Nightmares he mostly keeps things gritty, telling--that is, yelling--hardscrabble street stories, in a voice big and brassy enough to be heard 20 blocks away.