User Score
6.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 38 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 38
  2. Negative: 6 out of 38

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 26, 2015
    6
    6.5/10................................................................................................................................................
  2. Dec 10, 2012
    5
    I sincerely, I expected much more from this rapper. But listening to Dreams & Nightmares I started to laugh in front of a beat so poor as to arrive in the Billboard, even if Meek Mill has some talent. He is still young, hopefully better.
  3. Nov 4, 2012
    6
    The album is decent. The Dreams and Nightmares track (the intro), Traumatized, Tony Story Pt. 2 & Burn (which was also on Meek's mixtape) are the stand-out tracks. There's nothing really revolutionary or game changing going here. The beats and rhymes are all pretty standard for MMG (with exception of Rockie Fresh and Stalley). Like, I said, this is decent. If you like banging (notThe album is decent. The Dreams and Nightmares track (the intro), Traumatized, Tony Story Pt. 2 & Burn (which was also on Meek's mixtape) are the stand-out tracks. There's nothing really revolutionary or game changing going here. The beats and rhymes are all pretty standard for MMG (with exception of Rockie Fresh and Stalley). Like, I said, this is decent. If you like banging (not necessarily GOOD or original banging beats, though) and energetic rapping, then this is for you. If you like creativity, originality, lyricism and dope MCing, check out Good Kid, m.A.A.d. City by Kendrick Lamar. Expand
  4. Oct 30, 2012
    6
    The album was a pretty solid debut. The standout tracks like Tony Story 2 and Traumatized, had me sold on the album, until i heard the rest. Tracks like Young & Gettin It, Lay Up, and Believe It, should've been left off the album and never thought of. Overall Id have to give the album a 6 at best. You can tell this album was built specifically for the streets and sound systems.
Metascore
69

Generally favorable reviews - based on 17 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 17
  2. Negative: 0 out of 17
  1. Dec 11, 2013
    70
    Meek is doing the one thing he does well and nothing else. [Nov 2013, p.66]
  2. Dec 12, 2012
    80
    Meek surpasses expectations of his own personal Dreams and Nightmares with a youthful appeal, especially for today's misconstrued generation. [Dec 2012/Jan 2013, p.88]
  3. Nov 16, 2012
    70
    On Dreams and Nightmares he mostly keeps things gritty, telling--that is, yelling--hardscrabble street stories, in a voice big and brassy enough to be heard 20 blocks away.