User Score
6.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 32 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 32
  2. Negative: 6 out of 32

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 3, 2012
    0
    This album, Dreams and Nightmares from Meek Mill, sucks donkey dick. Seriously, this is one of the worst rap albums of the year. There's basic rapping skills, the content is the same repetitive **** money, women, drugs, real **** **** etc., and Meek just yells too damn much. Don't buy this ****ty album and spend your hard-earned money to buy that good kid, m.A.A.d city by Kendrick Lamar.
  2. Oct 30, 2012
    6
    The album was a pretty solid debut. The standout tracks like Tony Story 2 and Traumatized, had me sold on the album, until i heard the rest. Tracks like Young & Gettin It, Lay Up, and Believe It, should've been left off the album and never thought of. Overall Id have to give the album a 6 at best. You can tell this album was built specifically for the streets and sound systems.
  3. Nov 1, 2012
    8
    Pretty decent album and worth the wait. I found Meek's Dream Chaser mixtapes a mixed bag, but this album is pretty good. Definitely not the classic he wants it to be (ala Get Rich and Die Trying, Illmatic, etc.). I think anyone who is into the whole MMG scene won't be disappointed. I think Meek is just getting started.
  4. Oct 31, 2012
    7
    Very solid album. Some might say it sounds like his mix tapes, well yeah that's because it does. But isn't that a good thing too? At least he didn't do a Cole World.
  5. Dec 10, 2012
    5
    I sincerely, I expected much more from this rapper. But listening to Dreams & Nightmares I started to laugh in front of a beat so poor as to arrive in the Billboard, even if Meek Mill has some talent. He is still young, hopefully better.
  6. Nov 4, 2012
    6
    The album is decent. The Dreams and Nightmares track (the intro), Traumatized, Tony Story Pt. 2 & Burn (which was also on Meek's mixtape) are the stand-out tracks. There's nothing really revolutionary or game changing going here. The beats and rhymes are all pretty standard for MMG (with exception of Rockie Fresh and Stalley). Like, I said, this is decent. If you like banging (not necessarily GOOD or original banging beats, though) and energetic rapping, then this is for you. If you like creativity, originality, lyricism and dope MCing, check out Good Kid, m.A.A.d. City by Kendrick Lamar. Expand
  7. Nov 8, 2012
    9
    Typical Meek Mill release here, which is good for fans and bad for non-fans. As a Meek fan, I loved this album in its entirety and will be buying it as soon as possible. Keep it up, Meek!
  8. Nov 3, 2012
    8
    youngin on his grind! Meek spent time puttin out free highly successful mixtapes... its time he put out an album, the album may not bee all his best but its a pass for me.
  9. Jun 27, 2013
    8
    The intro song, literally made the album amazing to me.
    Lyrically, it is the same Meek Mill everyone loves, however the guests somewhat reminded me of two other albums this year in "God Forgives, I Don't" and "Based On A T.R.U Story" This might just be because of John Legend being on all of these albums, but to me, there was no difference between Meek's Dreamchasers mix tape series and
    the album. I think everyone looks forward to the next Dreamchasers and I was disappointed by Meek. Fortunately the album still has some solid hits ("Maybach Curtains" and "Young Kings") and a couple of catchy tunes, including the Rick Ross assisted "Believe It" and of course, "Young and Gettin' It" I look forward to Meek Mill growing as an artist and believe that one day his skills as a rapper will challenge those of his captain, Ricky Rozay. Expand
Metascore
69

Generally favorable reviews - based on 17 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 17
  2. Negative: 0 out of 17
  1. Dec 11, 2013
    70
    Meek is doing the one thing he does well and nothing else. [Nov 2013, p.66]
  2. Dec 12, 2012
    80
    Meek surpasses expectations of his own personal Dreams and Nightmares with a youthful appeal, especially for today's misconstrued generation. [Dec 2012/Jan 2013, p.88]
  3. Nov 16, 2012
    70
    On Dreams and Nightmares he mostly keeps things gritty, telling--that is, yelling--hardscrabble street stories, in a voice big and brassy enough to be heard 20 blocks away.