Drops Of Jupiter Image

Mixed or average reviews - based on 7 Critics What's this?

User Score

Universal acclaim- based on 139 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: This is the major-label debut for the San Francisco adult alternative band.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 7
  2. Negative: 0 out of 7
  1. Singer Pat Monahan has a Michael Stipe-esque voice: part whine part sneer, but with an added dollop of believeable pathos. On this second album, his four colleagues concoct intriguing backdrops... [#180, p.112]
  2. These five regular San Francisco joes know a thing or two about the kind of midtempo, acoustic-based rock that makes for a smooth, radio-ready ride.
  3. Not only do many of the tunes have a similar feel, but Monahan, whose dusty vocals put the band on the map with the hit single "Meet Virginia" in 1999, is regularly drowned out by the soaring guitars and effects.
  4. 50
    Like Collective Soul, Vertical Horizon, and Matchbox Twenty before them, Train is a fairly faceless, generic rock band that writes straight-ahead, sing-along tunes. As a result, some of the songs on this, their second album, will make some people happy -- and other people just sleepy.
  5. Train is a classic rock wannabe band in the mold of Counting Crows.
  6. "She's On Fire," the opener from San Francisco-based Train's second release, promises a solid if not memorable rock 'n' roll effort. Unfortunately, penning this catchy and muscular rocker seems to have sapped the boys' creative well.
  7. The music fails to gain any momentum until track seven, and by then, Train's lucky the listener's still spinning the CD.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 98 out of 104
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 104
  3. Negative: 6 out of 104