Duper Sessions - Sondre Lerche
Metascore
70

Generally favorable reviews - based on 14 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 14
  2. Negative: 1 out of 14
  1. In the end, it is musicianship that makes Duper Sessions unquestionably successful.
  2. The album is imminently listenable, providing a brisk background as easily as it rewards a close listen.
  3. The album's success hinges precisely on that nebulous concept called "getting it right," and all parties involved certainly do. [#13, p.86]
  4. 80
    This is one groovy, swinging collection fans of all ages can dig. [Apr 2006, p.86]
  5. 80
    The brevity gives the tunes space to present themselves without a needless bridge here or a prideful coda there. [#71, p.102]
  6. Once you reconcile yourself to the idea that Lerche has made a jazz-pop record, the songcraft, laid-back approach and Lerche's sweet vocals might just win you over.
  7. It's a cute idea, except that Lerche's jazz-tinged pop is more compelling than his pop-tinged jazz. [24 Mar 2006, p.70]
  8. His soft Ben Gibbard geekiness is an odd, if timely, fit for the swinging material, and flourishes of Jeff Buckley throat rattles don't help.
  9. 60
    Lerche originals... aren't starry-eyed vintage exercises. They're just swell new tunes. [Apr 2006, p.114]
  10. The main reason this little album is likeable despite its nostalgic play-acting is this: Lerche has a voice and manner that makes hearts melt, no matter the genre.
  11. The approach proves enjoyable, sometimes even beguiling... But... more adventurous songs... reveal Lerche's shortcomings with red-faced results. [Jun/Jul 2006, p.112]
  12. While Lerche could pull off Bacharach's breezy lounge swinger persona, he lacks the pipes, the pain and the maturity to deliver the smooth retro romanticism these jazz-inflected ballads require.
  13. 25
    He tries hepcat jazz-piano bop and balladry with pitiful results. [May 2006, p.91]
User Score
8.8

Universal acclaim- based on 6 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 5
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 5
  3. Negative: 0 out of 5
  1. Chelsea
    May 31, 2006
    8
    I must agree with everyone else; the critics are dead wrong on this album. Lerche isn't posing, he's exploring a type of music that has been virtually forgotten. Try and seperate the tunes he penned from the classics on this record, it's not easy. I enjoy every type of music from Blossom Dearie to the Sonics to Clap Your Hands... This album is being overlooked. Lerche's next album (Phantom Punch) sounds even more promising based on the few songs I've heard from it - another good look back to the days of Buddy Holly and Chuck Berry. Simple, classic songwriting never goes out of style. Full Review »
  2. KeeganD
    Apr 4, 2006
    9
    I'm absolutely confused by the critic's reaction to this record. I feel like it is the most promising release of the year thus far. It is beautiful, amazingly crafted and covers all the bases. It represents a sound appreciated too little currently and represents an era of songwriting that is sorely missed among the "pitchfork" crowd. Full Review »
  3. guz
    Apr 3, 2006
    9
    I love this album! This guy has so much talent and a great voice. Critics are clearly wrong on this one.