Dye It Blonde - Smith Westerns
User Score
8.1

Universal acclaim- based on 38 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 36 out of 38
  2. Negative: 1 out of 38

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 22, 2014
    10
    Never have I heard such a rock album with such value, such soul. Must be listened to front to back in one sitting to fully comprehend the raw emotive and musical passion within.
  2. Jan 22, 2011
    9
    Total step up in production from the debut. They cleaned things up and actually wrote some awesomely memorable songs. If you like rock, you should like this. You can easily see the T Rex and brit pop influence in the record. 10 love songs that fly by in a flash, whats not to love...
  3. Jan 27, 2011
    9
    Coming off of their first record with it's Lo-Fi ideals, Dye It Blonde is like a breath of fresh unexpected summer air in the Winter with all things considered. The new year's first great record is here but for those who have followed Smith Westerns since the beginning may find themselves wanting the old hazy sound back from time to time.
  4. Feb 3, 2011
    9
    Smith Westerns debut was an excellent lo-fi album that owed a lot of credit to the influence of T-Rex. The improved production of Dye It Blonde is not the only reason it is superior to the debut. Smith Westerns find themselves expanding their songwriting while maintaining the simple catchy-hooks of their debut.
  5. Feb 4, 2011
    9
    The idea behind this album is brilliant. It handles itself very well. Dye it Blonde wants nothing more than to have you listen, and just groove. The songs, each between two and four minutes in length, is meticulously crafted. Smith Westerns bring back the fun of the 70's while still pulling in to the 21st century. The great thing about this album is its head nodding ability. Dye it Blonde will put you in a good mood each listen, and make you want to nod your head and crack some brews open. Expand
  6. j30
    Apr 23, 2012
    5
    After hearing Weekend and reading some of the review on Metacritic I thought I'd give Dye It Blonde by the Smith Westerns a try. The result felt unsatisfying as hearing some the songs I've heard from Real Estate. The lyrics are catchy, while the music is pretty bland for me. I really wanted to like it, but it's pretty forgettable stuff.
  7. Jan 22, 2011
    2
    This album is really pretty horrible. I am finding it hard to listen for more than five seconds without literally cringing in discomfort at how bad it is. I really don't get it. Gets a 2 for being better than the Decemberists.
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 30 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 30
  2. Negative: 0 out of 30
  1. Sep 12, 2011
    67
    Dye It Blonde certainly demonstrates polish over its predecessor with the leap to Fat Possum.
  2. May 31, 2011
    80
    An effortless marriage of modern dream-pop loops and classical 70s guitar lines, it entertains notions of Thin Lizzy and Steely Dan, while producer Chris Coady lends the whole a steadfastly modern feel. [Jun 2011, p.120]
  3. May 18, 2011
    60
    The remainder unfurls in similar fashion: laudably spirited, often astoundingly catchy and entirely indebted to the past. [Jun 2011, p.101]