Dying In Stereo

User Score
4.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 21 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 21
  2. Negative: 11 out of 21

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. MichaelD
    Jul 30, 2005
    9
    This album, is fantastic-i dont get why people say otherwise. Not just the brilliant beats and lyrics but what it stands for!
  2. nigsbig
    Jan 28, 2005
    10
    damn fine up beat
  3. ReggieE.
    Jul 30, 2003
    8
    Given the undue hype that that overrated, mumble-mouthed thug known as 50 Cent has received all-year I'm kinda glad to hear something like this get some buzz. If cats with real skills like Talib Kweli and J-Live can't get any buzz then why not give some love to these three Long Island gals who remember a time when hip-hop used to be fun and witty. And unlike Lil Kim, Foxy and Da Given the undue hype that that overrated, mumble-mouthed thug known as 50 Cent has received all-year I'm kinda glad to hear something like this get some buzz. If cats with real skills like Talib Kweli and J-Live can't get any buzz then why not give some love to these three Long Island gals who remember a time when hip-hop used to be fun and witty. And unlike Lil Kim, Foxy and Da Brat these ladies aren't so quick to sell themselves as nymphomaniacs. It's all about partying, it's all about rhyming and it's all good. Expand
  4. joeyp
    Aug 10, 2003
    10
    from first listen i just loved this cd. most people i've played it for are ambivalent at best, but i think they just don't like ns because of their whiteness and their subject matter. it's their loss!
  5. DanielleM
    Jul 7, 2004
    10
    These girls have the smartest and funniest lyrics heard in a while. Northern State reminds us that hip hop in no longer about race or gender but providing a voice. So to all of the white suburban girls looking for their voice....look no further.
  6. FoundinLibrary
    Dec 18, 2003
    10
    I liked this. I saw it in the library then threw it back down. Never heard of them. I check out a lot of the hit Rap garbage. Jay-Z, 50 cent, Nelly. What ever is a hit. It's all lame. I gave up on that crap. I finally decided to check this out having no idea. I figured it would be garbage. But since they were white, I figured what the hell. It's a change. I know what the blacks I liked this. I saw it in the library then threw it back down. Never heard of them. I check out a lot of the hit Rap garbage. Jay-Z, 50 cent, Nelly. What ever is a hit. It's all lame. I gave up on that crap. I finally decided to check this out having no idea. I figured it would be garbage. But since they were white, I figured what the hell. It's a change. I know what the blacks are gonna do. Vile, putrid, jewelry, hoes, cars, guns, drugs,partying,clowning. Tanning on the beach or by the pool in their videos. Yeah that's realistic! Lousy backing music. Tired themes. When I heard it, I was plesantly surprised. Hey hip hop and rap don't have to be exculsively done by Blacks. Why not let whites do it, without getting all over their case. This is just 3 friends from way back having a good time. If it works, fine. If it don't work, fine. I like the backing music. Not one boom-bap beat that's been done to nausiating infinity. Expand
  7. Aphex
    Nov 2, 2003
    0
    Make no mistakes about it, this is the worst CD ever released. This disc is talentless, preachy and insulting to anyone with a functioning cerebral cortex.
  8. Amy
    Jul 23, 2003
    4
    Catchy - yes, but these poor girls have the political edge ALL WRONG. Most hilarious: "I'm a libertarian... the country's getting ugly, but don't blame me 'cause I voted for Gore." So why wouldn't you have voted for Harry Browne? Being a libertarian myself, it seems silly that you would compromise yourself as to vote for somebody else out of your party??? Let Catchy - yes, but these poor girls have the political edge ALL WRONG. Most hilarious: "I'm a libertarian... the country's getting ugly, but don't blame me 'cause I voted for Gore." So why wouldn't you have voted for Harry Browne? Being a libertarian myself, it seems silly that you would compromise yourself as to vote for somebody else out of your party??? Let alone GORE who is completely on the other edge of the spectrum from all other libertarians. What? Expand
  9. lezs
    Jan 18, 2004
    0
    i found this cd in one of those $5 bins and had heard good things about them, so i picked it up. it wasnt worth it. they are just a novelty act that doesn't work, and they suck. ewww! it just goes to show that mainstream critics are disillusioned and deaf.
  10. EastVillage
    Aug 17, 2004
    0
    Northern State reminds us that hip hop in no longer about race, gender, or any semblance of talent whatsoever. Please don't try to convince me that THIS is the paradigm of female white suburban snob rap. There has to be something better brewing behind a Starbucks counter somewhere in Jersey.
  11. JoelT
    Aug 31, 2004
    0
    Although I don't usually agree with Pitckforkmedia.com's reviews, their assessment of Northern State is spot on. The only reason this band is popular is because 1. they are all female. 2. they are white I hate to say this but it's true. On the surface they are something easily marketable, a bunch of new england liberal arts college girls busting into the scene. But listen Although I don't usually agree with Pitckforkmedia.com's reviews, their assessment of Northern State is spot on. The only reason this band is popular is because 1. they are all female. 2. they are white I hate to say this but it's true. On the surface they are something easily marketable, a bunch of new england liberal arts college girls busting into the scene. But listen to the lyrics (unimaginative and forced) and their beats (same), and you'll see there isn't much under the surface. I have seen them in the concert before the CD came out and was shocked to see all the good reviews they got. Did any of the critics actually listen to the CD? Or just look at the press kit that fell on the desk? When I saw them in concert I really thought I was seeing some B-level college band that was lucky enough to get the show. Even the other musicians in the band had a look that said "what the heck are WE doing here?" If you are hard pressed for some hip-hop that fits a bill similar to this band, do yourself a favor and get Luscious Jackson or some old Beastie Boys. And if you want a fun party band, well get some 80s compilations, probably be a lot cheaper and won't piss you off in the end. In short, this band lowers the quality of hip-hop by being so highly accoladed. Expand
Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 17 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 17
  2. Negative: 1 out of 17
  1. Mojo
    60
    Sounds like an all-girl early Beastie Boys.... The politics, though, are somewhat sounder. [May 2003, p.99]
  2. With their brattish Long Island manners, spiky wit and (middle-class) B-Girl 'tood, it mightn't be all that lazy to re-baptise them The Beastie Girls.
  3. It's like taking hip-hop of the early '80s and jettisoning it into the now: update the metaphors, the references, and the technology but not the beats, the flows, or the vocal stylings.