• Record Label: Sony
  • Release Date: Sep 20, 2005
User Score

Universal acclaim- based on 29 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 29
  2. Negative: 2 out of 29

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. JohnL
    Oct 2, 2005
  2. BobHope
    Dec 6, 2005
    Awesome album has 5 gold start rock solid hits, and the rest is pretty killer. All killer no filler.
  3. ivanl
    Oct 3, 2005
    dynamite is a fantastic album!!its so dynamic and it makes you wanna move!!
  4. RyanC
    Oct 4, 2005
    while its the same formula, it still sounds good. they just keep doing what they do best, but i found this one more enjoyable than the last. these later releases are nothing compared to the first couple albums, but they are still enjoyable.
  5. BenH
    Oct 8, 2005
    Not Spacecowboy, but there are some funk moments that don't come out anywhere else these days (listen to the bass line of Dynamite). Very indulgent music, and keep an open mind for old school soul choir cheese lyrics.
  6. DanL
    Dec 9, 2005
    Easily my favorite album of 2005. The beats are as catchy (and at times, as complex) as you'll find in recent house or R&B, without veering from the funk backbone of the Jamiroquai standard. I defy you to give it a listen without groovin'. "Dynamite" will blow you away! (Excuse the pun.)
  7. DamascusH
    Sep 23, 2005
    Best album since "traveling without moving". They finally found the funk again.
  8. MarcG
    Sep 30, 2005
    1 or 2 misses but The quality of the other songs make up for of it.Any one who does not feel uplifted by these songs and arrangements should just stick to reviewing Britney,Justin and all the ohter crap that passes for music these days!
  9. DyegoBuffalo
    Feb 28, 2006
    How could this album go bad? It's the best funk mu sic brought from t he 70's, updated with the sound of today. Is not so easy to do that- D! (dyego)
  10. rong
    Dec 6, 2005
    This album has alot of very well polished tunes that are timless which makes Jamiroquai unique. It has alot of seventies disco dance feel to it so if you like that, you will like this album. it is my favoutrate after travelling without moving.
  11. PRay
    Dec 24, 2006
    After the lead single its pretty much business as usual. I thought they may try pull out all the stops before their greatest hits is released. We all knew about the album deal with Sony, and Jamiroquai didnt quite take on the world I once hoped they would. The never really progressed beyond a point they hit many years ago.
  12. ChristianL
    Nov 22, 2005
    3 years later and WOW! Matured/dance funky/more edgy guitar riffs/sometimes smooth/ definitely Jay Kay. Reminded me of when I first listened to Muse's "Absolution" album, "This is better than anything out there." Original sounding.
  13. Oct 9, 2012
    Such a funky, sexy album. Excellent musicianship--oh my, the bass! The voice! The woodwinds! Could listen to it all day. Especially love "Love Blind," "Tallulah," "Star Child," and "Feels Just Like it Should."
  14. Nov 25, 2013
    I have a two CD album of Jamiroquai. This singer is the most visible and known ambassador of the music he makes. Very like the Beatles, but this is not pop music. His music is simple, and he appreciates the same, and repeats the lyrics, and the tune, very visibly at the lines, which would be a chorus in a singing group.

Generally favorable reviews - based on 12 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 12
  2. Negative: 1 out of 12
  1. Similar to 2001's dazzlingly slick Funk Odyssey, Dynamite reveals Kay as a dance floor eclectic, inclined to grab as much from Chic and Parliament as Kajagoogoo, The Police and Terry Callier.
  2. "Dynamite" may be his most consistent long player yet, which is not to say there aren't some lows.
  3. Entertainment Weekly
    [Jay Kay's] blue-eyed disco funk has definitely had its highlights, but they're pretty hard to find here. [23 Sep 2005, p.90]