User Score
8.8

Universal acclaim- based on 34 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 34
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 34
  3. Negative: 1 out of 34

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. spookyx
    Aug 23, 2007
    9
    Solid from begining to end
  2. Turenne
    Aug 24, 2007
    8
    Wow, Q and Rolling Stone get it wrong about yet another quality Hip-Hop album. I'm gobsmacked, mindblowing really... Tight album, not his bets but an improvement on everything he has offered since Quality.
  3. moem.
    Aug 27, 2007
    10
    Classic record.
  4. MiltonR.
    Sep 2, 2007
    9
    This is by far the best hip hop album to come out in 2007! No doubt about it.
  5. prolifik
    Sep 9, 2007
    9
    Solid album from start to finish, way better and consistent than Beautiful Struggle
  6. [Anonymous]
    Aug 23, 2007
    8
    A huge step up from his last 'legit' album, The Beautiful Struggle, although not quite at Reflection Eternal level.
  7. Brandon
    Aug 26, 2007
    8
    Refreshing. If you're tired of the same ol' same ol'....get this album.
  8. EdwardH
    Sep 11, 2007
    10
    He is a freekin' genius I have neva seen anyone outshine UGK not anyone, neva eva. But he doez it, his like tha lyrical perfection of Nas, Kanye West, and Jay z all in one. One of NY'z Finest, correction one of tha rap games finest, pure genius and raw rappin' talent dat is true and really really inspirational. Keep doin' yo thang man. Its rappers Iike you dat I live 2 He is a freekin' genius I have neva seen anyone outshine UGK not anyone, neva eva. But he doez it, his like tha lyrical perfection of Nas, Kanye West, and Jay z all in one. One of NY'z Finest, correction one of tha rap games finest, pure genius and raw rappin' talent dat is true and really really inspirational. Keep doin' yo thang man. Its rappers Iike you dat I live 2 hear in rap muzik. Expand
  9. TroyM
    Aug 22, 2007
    9
    It's nice none the less, just a step behind "Reflection Eternal", but if you know nothing about Talib Kweli, this is the perfect cd to introduce you to one of the greatest emcees you will ever here in you life, don't sleep on this one
  10. KyleZ.
    Sep 11, 2007
    10
    Album of the year. Hands down. Production from long time partner Hi-Tek on More or Less is phenomenal. The quintessential Hip-Hop album.
Metascore
73

Generally favorable reviews - based on 22 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 22
  2. Negative: 0 out of 22
  1. At 20 tracks and nearly 80 minutes, Eardrum is both too much and too little, never quite understanding exactly what it needs to be.
  2. There are enough different feels and flows to dazzle listeners with Kweli's dexterity, but some judicious editing could have produced something perhaps even more impressive.
  3. 70
    Kweli’s rigid delivery and obsession with self-empowerment remain liabilities.