Earth To The Dandy Warhols

User Score
6.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 35 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 35
  2. Negative: 12 out of 35

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. FelipeP.
    Aug 20, 2008
    0
    The worst album of the year.
  2. AlexP.
    Aug 20, 2008
    0
    Just the most unaware, droning dullness. I wish I didn't have to invest my time.
  3. JamesN.
    Aug 20, 2008
    0
    I was a fan until 2005. This is a self indulgent, worthless piece of crap that I have tried to get into but come back to the same conclusion (A complete was of my time and yours). Do yourself a favour, don't bother.
  4. RockyF.
    Aug 20, 2008
    0
    This band is horrible!
  5. MattM.
    Aug 20, 2008
    0
    I was willing to listen to Welcome To The Monkey House repeatedly despite some really awful efforts. There was even a moment or two of Odditorium that wasn't pure dog crap. But this release...well, I could have sworn there was actually dog crap spewing from my speakers. This band needs to stop making music and stop NOW.
  6. jaywh
    Sep 20, 2008
    1
    It sucked, i hated every song the album was as bad as the last one they use to be a good band i miss the stuff like they had in come down and 13 tales , its a shame.
  7. IraS.
    Aug 25, 2008
    2
    Go away Dandy Warhols and take your little Courtney-Courtney Taylor-Taylor with you when you go.
  8. JasonK
    Sep 25, 2008
    3
    What a terrible album. There are only 4 songs of any value here and two of those are direct copies of other songs (Talk Radio sounds like Green and Love Song is a bit of plucking away from being a straight "Minesoter" rip off). To all those "fans" saying this album is anything but poor, you are kidding yourselves. Maybe courtney should start writing better songs and not pass subpar What a terrible album. There are only 4 songs of any value here and two of those are direct copies of other songs (Talk Radio sounds like Green and Love Song is a bit of plucking away from being a straight "Minesoter" rip off). To all those "fans" saying this album is anything but poor, you are kidding yourselves. Maybe courtney should start writing better songs and not pass subpar efforts off as new work. Blah! Expand
  9. Mar 25, 2016
    0
    When the work was lacking terrible alternative music for Seattle Dandy Warhols stepped to the occasion. This is another clear example of a group that is not big and the music shows why. Its really hard to get their music because everything is really lacking an sense of originality. The music comes across as either underwhelming or clearly inspired by something else. Some of their musicWhen the work was lacking terrible alternative music for Seattle Dandy Warhols stepped to the occasion. This is another clear example of a group that is not big and the music shows why. Its really hard to get their music because everything is really lacking an sense of originality. The music comes across as either underwhelming or clearly inspired by something else. Some of their music videos are pretty cool, but to me the band always comes across as force mix between Yo La Tengo and Nirvana. That sounds awesome right! Not exactly, the music lack the creativity of Yo La Tengo and the energy of Nirvana. I much rather listen to morning Talk Radio than have this playing in my car. When I first heard this album I thought the Dandy Warhols were a terrible Velvet Underground cover band, but to be honest that is probably the best way of describing them. I know every artists has a bad album once in a while, but honestly it's hard to imagine anyone wanting to continue to listen to them, especially if this was your introduction to them. Expand
Metascore
46

Mixed or average reviews - based on 20 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 20
  2. Negative: 5 out of 20
  1. The set is somewhat of a shambolic affair, wherein kernels of good ideas get blown out, jumbled up or lost in execution.
  2. 40
    Their sixth album is shambling and empty, spiked infrequently with a good bassline or an almost-good chorus, and even the jokes founder on the band’s contempt.
  3. Their sixth album (and the first on their own label) is their most self-assured set yet, veering from sparkling glam to funky New Orleans boogie by way of early Nineties shoegazing.