• Record Label: Matador
  • Release Date: Aug 19, 2003
User Score
8.5

Universal acclaim- based on 19 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 19
  2. Negative: 1 out of 19

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 18, 2012
    1
    It pains me to say, being that Robert Pollard is one of my favorite songwriters, that this is the weakest album in the Guided By Voices and Robert Pollard solo canon. Apart from the stellar Best of Jill Hives, there are but only a handful of melodies that are memorable and most of the album is buried under thick, compressed, muddy production. I recognize that a lot of critics and fansIt pains me to say, being that Robert Pollard is one of my favorite songwriters, that this is the weakest album in the Guided By Voices and Robert Pollard solo canon. Apart from the stellar Best of Jill Hives, there are but only a handful of melodies that are memorable and most of the album is buried under thick, compressed, muddy production. I recognize that a lot of critics and fans alike have overwhelmingly praised the album, however it continually disappoints whenever I give it a spin. Collapse
  2. bellet
    Mar 13, 2004
    10
    great
  3. AllergicReaction
    Sep 26, 2003
    10
    Fantastic. Just below the stuff from Propeller through Mag Earwig, but still a 10. Great stuff.
  4. BrianM.
    Aug 30, 2003
    8
    Pretty solid album from start to finish. It has a nice sound to it and the production compliments the songs. If you like Isolation Drills or Universal Truths and Cycles, then you'll be in for a treat.
  5. SteveB
    Aug 28, 2003
    10
    great album
  6. TravisF
    Aug 20, 2003
    10
    More brilliant with each listen
  7. [Anonymous]
    Aug 19, 2003
    7
    Sonically this is closest to Isolation Drills; the songwriting reminds me most of frontman Pollard's late-90s solo work. The album has a handful of immediately accessible tracks, but overall it seems fractured and directionless on first listen. Many of the songs cohere & reveal their charms with time and patience. "The Best of Jill Hives" is up with the band's best work.
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 20 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 20
  2. Negative: 0 out of 20
  1. If Earthquake Glue isn't a masterpiece, it's as close as this band can be expected to get, and is the rare Guided By Voices effort that's imaginative enough for longtime loyalists and tight enough for dabblers at the same time.
  2. The band functions as a unit, informing the songs with a structure and a fully realized design that has sometimes been lacking in past albums.
  3. 100
    Their best album since 1996's brilliant Under the Bushes, Under the Stars.