• Record Label:
  • Release Date:
Earthquake Glue Image
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 20 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.5

Universal acclaim- based on 19 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The ever-prolific Robert Pollard returns with a brand-new GbV studio disc (the 15th or so since 1987), retaining the core group of musicians that has been with him for the last few albums.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 20
  2. Negative: 0 out of 20
  1. 100
    Their best album since 1996's brilliant Under the Bushes, Under the Stars.
  2. This is what makes Earthquake Glue such a startling arrival. You don’t simply listen to it out of obligation, but instead because you are compelled to return to it, again and again.
  3. 90
    Aside from a few fleeting moments of watery prog and lumpen rock, the album's 15 songs have a slow-growing charm and understated grace, something that gradually becomes powerful in its own right. [#60, p.102]
  4. Steeped in big rock history, steadfastly tenacious, perversely, refreshingly uncool, Bob Pollard has written a fine collection of songs, for the most part, and his band, in their execution, have matched him every step of the way.
  5. The songs are getting samey. [Sep 2003, p.102]
  6. 60
    Strange, though, that we yearned for Pollard to treat his songs properly when he tossed them off as lo-fi sketches, but now they arrive as crafted, completed stadium anthems, that faint whiff of underachievement remains. [Sep 2003, p.102]
  7. 46
    The best song is track 13, "Apology in Advance." It is still not that good. [#6, p.86]

See all 20 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 7
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 7
  3. Negative: 1 out of 7
  1. bellet
    Mar 13, 2004
    10
    great
  2. SteveB
    Aug 28, 2003
    10
    great album
  3. TravisF
    Aug 20, 2003
    10
    More brilliant with each listen
  4. AllergicReaction
    Sep 26, 2003
    10
    Fantastic. Just below the stuff from Propeller through Mag Earwig, but still a 10. Great stuff.
  5. BrianM.
    Aug 30, 2003
    8
    Pretty solid album from start to finish. It has a nice sound to it and the production compliments the songs. If you like Isolation Drills or Pretty solid album from start to finish. It has a nice sound to it and the production compliments the songs. If you like Isolation Drills or Universal Truths and Cycles, then you'll be in for a treat. Collapse
  6. [Anonymous]
    Aug 19, 2003
    7
    Sonically this is closest to Isolation Drills; the songwriting reminds me most of frontman Pollard's late-90s solo work. The album has a Sonically this is closest to Isolation Drills; the songwriting reminds me most of frontman Pollard's late-90s solo work. The album has a handful of immediately accessible tracks, but overall it seems fractured and directionless on first listen. Many of the songs cohere & reveal their charms with time and patience. "The Best of Jill Hives" is up with the band's best work. Expand
  7. Nov 18, 2012
    1
    It pains me to say, being that Robert Pollard is one of my favorite songwriters, that this is the weakest album in the Guided By Voices andIt pains me to say, being that Robert Pollard is one of my favorite songwriters, that this is the weakest album in the Guided By Voices and Robert Pollard solo canon. Apart from the stellar Best of Jill Hives, there are but only a handful of melodies that are memorable and most of the album is buried under thick, compressed, muddy production. I recognize that a lot of critics and fans alike have overwhelmingly praised the album, however it continually disappoints whenever I give it a spin. Expand