Eat at Whitey's

User Score
9.1

Universal acclaim- based on 35 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 35
  2. Negative: 2 out of 35

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. DickH.
    Sep 25, 2001
    8
    Everlast a/k/a Whitey Ford a former member of the Irish rap group House of pain. I really think Everlast is very succesful in his mixing of music styles... This record is one of my own favorits and I think it's just great... But I think he could haved used Cee-Lo as something more than just a backup singer on "One, Two"... This is a musical experiment and if you like new alternative Everlast a/k/a Whitey Ford a former member of the Irish rap group House of pain. I really think Everlast is very succesful in his mixing of music styles... This record is one of my own favorits and I think it's just great... But I think he could haved used Cee-Lo as something more than just a backup singer on "One, Two"... This is a musical experiment and if you like new alternative stuff you'll love this... Expand
  2. RockyF.
    Oct 17, 2001
    10
    Everlast has always put out all he had on every album ever. He throws in oldschool and kickass blues riffs and is inspiration to me.
  3. AaronS.
    Oct 8, 2001
    10
    I think it's the most interesting and best made album besides his first solo album.
  4. HollieB.
    Sep 20, 2001
    10
    One of the best albums I've heard this decade
  5. AndrewC
    Dec 13, 2002
    10
    this is one of the best albums that i have ever heard. can't wait for a new one.
  6. stefyo
    May 9, 2003
    10
    like others said :one of the best albums,maybe it's the new style,the new sound.I can hardly wait 4 another one.Keep it on the same direction,Mr.Ford(Everlast)
  7. MarkS
    Mar 9, 2004
    10
    you just fall in love with the vibe of this cd
  8. KenD.
    Nov 21, 2001
    8
    NICE.
  9. MikeM.
    Sep 21, 2002
    10
    This is my favorite album(with his first one). I love how his voice, musical sound, featured back-ups, and blend of styles tell his ideas and stories so well. Everlast rules! Keep up the good work.
Metascore
67

Generally favorable reviews - based on 16 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 16
  2. Negative: 0 out of 16
  1. Select
    60
    Bravado and roleplay being the essence of rock, problems only arise when the real Everlast, a Grammy-winning crossover artiste, rears his head. [Nov. 2000, p.116]
  2. An inventively arranged mixture of blues, hip-hop, strings, folk and metal, 'Eat At Whitey's' is like Fun Lovin' Criminals' cameo in The Sopranos: by turns, flash, atmospheric, melancholic, and very masculine.
  3. With deeply average tunes and deeply average rapping throughout, not even an appearance by Carlos Santana on Babylon Feeling can turn things around.