Eat Me, Drink Me

  • Record Label: Nothing
  • Release Date: Jun 5, 2007
User Score
7.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 129 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 89 out of 129
  2. Negative: 20 out of 129

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 12, 2016
    8
    Álbum muito Bom do MArilyn Manson, não uma obra-prima como Holy Wood (2000), Antichrist Superstar (1996) e Mechanical Animals (1998).

    Mas definitivamente ótimo para esses 2 non-senses críticos que deram revisões negativas, mostrarem que não escutaram o álbum direito ou são retardados 33/100 é idiotice, 10/100 é insano e puta falta de incompetência de um "crítico"
  2. May 24, 2013
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Prefiro Theol E Bv Mas Não Ruim Músicas Ótimas Que Nem
    1-If Was Your Vampire
    2-Putting Holes In Happiness
    3-They Said Hell's Not Hot
    4-Heart Shaped Glasses (When The Heart Guides The Hand)
    5-Evidence
    6-Eat Me,Drink Me
    Expand
  3. Dec 17, 2011
    9
    Marilyn Manson knows how to work wonders. Combining electronic notes with traditional rock and meaningful lyrics to top it, this definitely his best album all together to date. I can't wait for February.
  4. Jan 20, 2015
    10
    The mere fact that I am of a fan of Manson contributes very little to my overzealous aptitude towards this album. The theme is very well carried out through the sound, and such indelible lyrics as those of "Heart-Shaped Glasses (When the Heart Guides the Head)" are ingeniously paired with an aesthetic value that is compelling and interpretive. The generally vampiric nature of this album,The mere fact that I am of a fan of Manson contributes very little to my overzealous aptitude towards this album. The theme is very well carried out through the sound, and such indelible lyrics as those of "Heart-Shaped Glasses (When the Heart Guides the Head)" are ingeniously paired with an aesthetic value that is compelling and interpretive. The generally vampiric nature of this album, matched with it romanticized undertones constitutes a very qualified and aesthetically pleasing "gothic-era" feel, one of which creates a whirl of images when listening to such content. Although hounded by some, "Eat Me Drink Me" is simply fabulous, both artistically and sonically. Expand
  5. Nov 22, 2011
    7
    I've read a lot of reviews that talk about how this album was "universally unappealing," but I'm here to tell you that it is really a very good album. Manson himself will admit that he was in a very bad place when he made this album. He was very upset about a lot of things, and in Eat Me, Drink Me, it shows. It's a very emotional album. Not his best, but I love it.

    The first half of the
    I've read a lot of reviews that talk about how this album was "universally unappealing," but I'm here to tell you that it is really a very good album. Manson himself will admit that he was in a very bad place when he made this album. He was very upset about a lot of things, and in Eat Me, Drink Me, it shows. It's a very emotional album. Not his best, but I love it.

    The first half of the album is unbelievable. I love it. If I Was Your Vampire is amazing. They Said That Hell's Not Hot is my favorite on the album. However, Are You The Rabbit is not very good. Despite the reviews, I found this album very good. However, it's not as "metal" as the rest of his albums. This CD is more rock-oriented. I'd recommend it, though.

    And for the record, these "mom" types writing reviews just to say they hate Manson as a person make me sick. I guarantee they didn't listen to this album. They just automatically assume he's some sort of terrorist. It's ridiculous.
    Expand
  6. HNRK
    Jun 24, 2007
    8
    I have been and still am a huge Manson fan and he is really the greatest influence for someone willing to understand the deep message behind the glam and the shock: and that message is - go out and seek knowledge, try to stand out as an original person, don't be trapped in taboos and stereotypes. That said, the only fair review I read here is from D P. I don't think Manson has I have been and still am a huge Manson fan and he is really the greatest influence for someone willing to understand the deep message behind the glam and the shock: and that message is - go out and seek knowledge, try to stand out as an original person, don't be trapped in taboos and stereotypes. That said, the only fair review I read here is from D P. I don't think Manson has ever been even close to commercial and he surely isn't now. He's an artist in the true sense because ultimately he wishes to do what he wants and what pleases him. I'd say The Golden Age of Grotesque and Holy Wood were considered bad because the singles were more an appeal to the masses (the same old stuff, same beats as TBP, the same appealing choruses) than what I think Manson would have like to do. I believe what he's doing now is really what he wanted to do and I sincerely think this album is his 3rd greatest, right after ACS (the best album I know of) and MA. It has some awesome songs (2,4,5,8,9) and it's short because all the commercial "hit songs" are simply not there. I believe people analyzing Manson for his "cultural influence" in America right now are too stupid to understand that an individual artist doesn't have any pre-defined social function which he has to be trapped to all his life. Expand
  7. WilfridW
    Jun 7, 2007
    10
    Wow ... did people vote based on listening to the entire album or just downloads from somewhere? An album inspired by his recent divorce and new found love, it is recorded at his home with just him and his guitarist. Hence, this album is not meant to be as well produced as his others. But somehow it is a more genuine piece of work - for the ones who has the moral flexiblility that is.
  8. JesseS
    Jun 8, 2007
    10
    Melodically intriguing and subtle in its own way. Understated high drama: how does he do that? It's not just a matter of wearying from the usual shock-rock aesthetic, so that the understated comes as a bigger shock. It's just a very honest work of art from an artist who is tired, but not uninspired....
  9. Lady_Raven
    Jun 9, 2007
    10
    I loved it.It' s different . It's not something you'd expect from Manson and I was kind of confused with the lyrics as they were no shocking and "fuck the system" style at all comparing to his other albums(they are too...love concerned) but that doesnt make it a bad album.In fact the more I hear it the better it seems to me. An artist is supposed to express what's I loved it.It' s different . It's not something you'd expect from Manson and I was kind of confused with the lyrics as they were no shocking and "fuck the system" style at all comparing to his other albums(they are too...love concerned) but that doesnt make it a bad album.In fact the more I hear it the better it seems to me. An artist is supposed to express what's within.Well that's just what he did. Just because it's not an angry album that doesn't meen it sucks.Well I liked it. Expand
  10. EmaA.
    Jul 10, 2007
    10
    I think Manson is a true artist. This album is a proof of his staying true to his feelings and state of mind. He's not making any compromise. He's telling his story, this time with other words and notes and that's what being creative means. He's different (but why should he be the same?), he's alive, more alive than so many. Art is about movement and change. I I think Manson is a true artist. This album is a proof of his staying true to his feelings and state of mind. He's not making any compromise. He's telling his story, this time with other words and notes and that's what being creative means. He's different (but why should he be the same?), he's alive, more alive than so many. Art is about movement and change. I really appreciate this movement and change in the alternation of rough and soft sound and lyrics. They may not be perfect from a specialist point of view (I'm not one), but you can feel his artistic torments, he's giving his best. Chapeau! :) Expand
  11. TylerG.
    Jul 9, 2007
    10
    Just a great album, superb, the guitar rifts make me wanna learn how to play just so I can play his tunes, the lyrics are the usual, extremely smart and clever, like most people have said this album is much more personal than say, Golden Age of Groutesque, this is his best work in my opinion
  12. robj
    Sep 9, 2007
    9
    great. hells not hot is awesome. some votes shoudl not count like george bushes because he thought mm was a girl.
  13. DanC
    Feb 19, 2008
    7
    Not his best but definetly not his worst... Look out for: Mutilation is the most sincere from of flattery.
  14. TomppaV.
    Jun 17, 2007
    9
    Great album indeed! Putting Holes In Happiness, The Red Carpet Grave, They Said That Hell's Not Hot, Heart-Shaped Glasses, Evidence and Eat Me, Drink Me are all 100% Manson classics. Third best album by Manson, ever.
  15. JSchlein
    Jun 4, 2007
    8
    Perhaps the strongest album since Mechanical Animals. Manson revisits the 80's sound, this time focusing on Goth rock and guitar solos. The biggest mistake most people will make with this record is assuming another in your face outing of industrial metal. If approached in itself it is a humble but decent record. Fans of Type O Negative and such should seek out this record
  16. ianc
    Jun 4, 2007
    10
    i love putting holes in happiness
  17. Mike
    Jun 5, 2007
    9
    At first I didn't like it. Now I love it. It's really.. emotional. Yeh.
  18. ChrisP
    Jun 5, 2007
    10
    Best Mr Manson work since Mechanical Animals. Amazing guitar work and such an improvement in Manson's voice and sonwriting skills. This kind of sounds proves that Mr Manson can be more than just a guy with lipstick screaming obscenities. Who cares about politics and religion when heart broken feelings can sound this good?
  19. DP
    Jun 6, 2007
    7
    Let me first say that I used to be a huge Marilyn Manson fan but have since moved on from this sort of music completely. But curiosity got the better of me, so I sought out the album. For those who say this is Manson selling out - you really don't know anything about Mansons music. This album is far less mainstream and "hooky" than The Golden Age Of Grotesque. Manson is a genius at Let me first say that I used to be a huge Marilyn Manson fan but have since moved on from this sort of music completely. But curiosity got the better of me, so I sought out the album. For those who say this is Manson selling out - you really don't know anything about Mansons music. This album is far less mainstream and "hooky" than The Golden Age Of Grotesque. Manson is a genius at reinventing himself. This album is NOT anything like the current emo / chemical romance garbage that is out there. Those bands have copied Manson, not the other way around. Every Manson album is a new concept in itself. To me it seems like he stopped caring about getting new fans with this album. It seems he created it purely for himself, which hasn't happened since the old days of Smells Like Children. Ultimately, the music is quite good. Not his best and not his worst. I would only suggest that this takes repeated listens to fully appreciate the atmosphere and hidden melodies. If there is another Manson album, I would like to see them go back to having more variability within the album - mix up the faster tracks with some slower ballads. Mansons back catalogue shows that he is a very underrated song writer. Expand
  20. JaredM.
    Jun 6, 2007
    9
    I picked up this CD today and listened to most of it. At first listen this album is slightly disappointing when compared to Manson's previous works especially his 2003 release which may have been his most musically powerful album yet. However when considering Manson's current situation (and recent personal events) combined with his nearing the age of 40, its obvious Manson is I picked up this CD today and listened to most of it. At first listen this album is slightly disappointing when compared to Manson's previous works especially his 2003 release which may have been his most musically powerful album yet. However when considering Manson's current situation (and recent personal events) combined with his nearing the age of 40, its obvious Manson is more appreciative of musical creation and is seeking deeper meanings in his music. He clearly made this album for his own tastes and even admits its his first album he enjoys listening to. Also when listening over and over this album grows on you and is filled with passion and emotion some of his past music severely lacks. Maybe whats so shocking now about the Antichrist Superstar isnt his image but his willingness to now show his real personality. Expand
  21. AriJ
    Jun 6, 2007
    7
    I'm not one to really get into Manson's whole goth thing but I'll be honest, this album kinda rocks. Through all the negative attention he's gotten and his uncanny ability to portray himself as a complete nut, Manson has essentially become a characture of himself. His rants on violence, Christianity etc... are quite tiresome and cliche. Listening to his music, however, I'm not one to really get into Manson's whole goth thing but I'll be honest, this album kinda rocks. Through all the negative attention he's gotten and his uncanny ability to portray himself as a complete nut, Manson has essentially become a characture of himself. His rants on violence, Christianity etc... are quite tiresome and cliche. Listening to his music, however, gets my head banging. Yeah, it's a little on the annoying poppy side, but still a pretty well crafted and decently original ass kicker. Expand
  22. jr
    Jun 7, 2007
    9
    A new direction and alot of dark fun!!!!!!
  23. iwon'ttellyou:p
    Jun 7, 2007
    9
    I like this album, although it's not my favourite, but it's much better than golden age of g.! i don't know why you don't like eat me drink me but i guess we all have different taste :|.....ouh, and btw Marilyn Manson still kicks major ass!!!!
  24. ToboeK
    Jun 8, 2007
    10
    Working his way back to how he used to make music when he had Twiggy to help him produce music, great album alot better then Golden Age.
  25. wesc
    Aug 1, 2007
    9
    its a great album..but i don't think its going to be a fan favorite
  26. BL
    Aug 7, 2007
    8
    Definitely a good album, as long as you are not expecting an industrial/metal album. I felt the last album (Golden Age...) tried a few new things but mostly tried to recreate the Antichrist Superstar sound, to mixed results. This album goes off in another direction and succeeds because of it. Definitely worth a listen. Standout tracks are: If I was Your Vampire, Evidence, Mutilation is Definitely a good album, as long as you are not expecting an industrial/metal album. I felt the last album (Golden Age...) tried a few new things but mostly tried to recreate the Antichrist Superstar sound, to mixed results. This album goes off in another direction and succeeds because of it. Definitely worth a listen. Standout tracks are: If I was Your Vampire, Evidence, Mutilation is the Sincerest Form of Flattery, You and Me and The Devil Make Three. Expand
  27. JennerB.
    Sep 7, 2007
    8
    It's not as accessible on first listen as his past albums have been, but I think that's the point. This is definitely an album you have to listen to a few times to have it fully sink in and then it's easier to appreciate it for what it is. It's art, not disposable pop music.
  28. DanielB
    Jun 12, 2007
    10
    To anyone who hates this album shame mason is always changing he's style for his albums u always the diffrence from good and great is varietyu dont want to put a cd in and here the same through MANSON u r the man great job!!!!
  29. RyanJ.
    Jun 18, 2007
    7
    I like about half of the songs on this record. But the tracks I do like are absolutely amazing - some of Manson's best work. Yes, a couple of the songs are quite bland and aren't very distinguishable. It's still worth listening to, nonetheless.
  30. [Anonymous]
    Jun 4, 2007
    10
    Album of the year
  31. Jaims
    Jun 5, 2007
    10
    Best Album of the Year.
  32. RidahC
    Jun 5, 2007
    8
    finally, a manson album with some substance. he's obviously right messed up after the break up with his girl, almost everysong is about it. an artist makin' an album based on what he feels, great concept, thx mr. manson!
  33. James
    Jun 6, 2007
    10
    Another amazing record. Similar to Mechanical Animals in sound, but very different in focus and intensity. Fans will love it, fans of old rock will find it easier to get into then most of his stuff. Anyone who is knocking it just doesn't like Manson, ignore them.
  34. PrestonJ
    Jun 6, 2007
    8
    This album is an emotional chronicalling of a year in the hell of Manson's life. Its not an angry tirade against God, Government, or the Pathetic state of modern day youth. Its a raw and personal album that is supposed to exercise many of Manson's personal deamons that overcame him this last year. With that said it is not the bone crushing, pulsating, metal crusade that Anti This album is an emotional chronicalling of a year in the hell of Manson's life. Its not an angry tirade against God, Government, or the Pathetic state of modern day youth. Its a raw and personal album that is supposed to exercise many of Manson's personal deamons that overcame him this last year. With that said it is not the bone crushing, pulsating, metal crusade that Anti Chirst Super Star or Holy Wood was. It is instead very dark, very melodic, hard rock. The tracks are very much guitar lead as opposed to the synth and sampling he had been more accustomed to, and it paid off. The guitar work is very well done and compliments the new tone of the album very well. . I was very much excited when I first heard I Could Be Your Vampire, which spurred my interest in the rest of his work, and the album did not dissapoint. Expand
  35. harleyb
    Jun 7, 2007
    8
    this is worst record but it is still a 8
  36. MilenM
    Jun 9, 2007
    10
    Reminds a lot of Mechanical Animals, which is my favorite Marilyn Manson album up to now. Eat Me Drink Me shows that Manson isn't afraid to sound different. If you expect heaviness and raging vocals you'll probably be disappointed, but for what it is - a good mixture of industrial rock and 80s electropop - this album sounds great. For me it's the most pleasant surprise of Reminds a lot of Mechanical Animals, which is my favorite Marilyn Manson album up to now. Eat Me Drink Me shows that Manson isn't afraid to sound different. If you expect heaviness and raging vocals you'll probably be disappointed, but for what it is - a good mixture of industrial rock and 80s electropop - this album sounds great. For me it's the most pleasant surprise of the year so far. Expand
  37. bitchassc.
    Jul 20, 2007
    10
    fuck everyone who says the album sucks. manson is an artist and everything he does is supposed to reflect HIM not what YOU assholes want. and you should like the music for the music itself, not for what is "mainstream" and what's not. you're ridiculoussss. fucking amazing album.
  38. JoeW
    Jul 3, 2007
    10
    Great stuff way better than the last.
  39. EdgarasG.
    Sep 29, 2007
    10
    This album is something new from M.M. it's cool. I recommend to all people who didn't like M.M. you'll change your opinion.
  40. RaviS.
    Nov 15, 2007
    10
    Great songs!! Its a rythmic way of life!
  41. CharlesM
    Jun 11, 2007
    8
    First really focused musical vision since Anti-Christ and a more mature record than we have seen out of Manson. It sounds like a band effort and less like a production feat. the most interesting release since Mechanical Animals.
  42. JasonW.
    Jun 16, 2007
    7
    Looks like he changed his style a bit, and proves he can do it extremely well in a few tracks. Tracks 1,6,7 are my favorites but track 7 is by far the best. I hope his next album has the same new style but done much better. This is a nice change for him and i support it. You can only make so many hate albums before it gets old. However he needs to do better work overall i'm use to Looks like he changed his style a bit, and proves he can do it extremely well in a few tracks. Tracks 1,6,7 are my favorites but track 7 is by far the best. I hope his next album has the same new style but done much better. This is a nice change for him and i support it. You can only make so many hate albums before it gets old. However he needs to do better work overall i'm use to him making cd's that almost every track is kickass, as superchrist superstar and mechanical animals was. but I look forward next album. Hopefully he does some more clean up in his different style. Expand
  43. dogacanp.
    Jun 22, 2007
    10
    Perfect!!!Marilyn changed a lot,maybe he is much more romantic before and in fun less but this album is perfect...
  44. ChristopherW.
    Jun 24, 2007
    8
    This is Marilyn Manson's best album since 'Mechanical Animals' and certainly his most personal.
  45. DOPPELHERZ
    Sep 11, 2007
    10
    This album's his masterpiece!these songs are beautiful,very deep,and very passionate!these songs are "now" -but they also go back in time to a certain era.if you relax and listen to it-you'll see what i mean.i have all his main albums,and i must say that this is his best one-and my favorite one!alot of his songs on this album touched my soul very strongly.the instruments,the This album's his masterpiece!these songs are beautiful,very deep,and very passionate!these songs are "now" -but they also go back in time to a certain era.if you relax and listen to it-you'll see what i mean.i have all his main albums,and i must say that this is his best one-and my favorite one!alot of his songs on this album touched my soul very strongly.the instruments,the melodies,his words,and the tones of his voice he uses in his songs-you yourself can feel his different emotions that he's feeling.my 3 favorite songs are:1)you and me and the devil makes 3.it's hypnotic,and it's the way things are.2)evidence.it's ritualistic with the relationship based on sex only.3)if i was your vampire.it's a deep,and obsessive sinsere love story that will never end-not even in death.even in death they're keeping each other alive.definitely get this!you'll be missing out on something special if you don't!manson truly is a special person,and he really should be appreciated! Expand
Metascore
63

Generally favorable reviews - based on 23 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 23
  2. Negative: 2 out of 23
  1. Forget what you know about this guy and it'll come off like a decent, and rather efficient, little goth-pop record.
  2. There's nothing quite as immediate or fantastic as 'Disposable Teens' here, but the album on the whole is a triumph.
  3. The songs and Ziggy guitar solos are more accessible than usual. Manson can croak like an undead, but can't sing to save his life.