Eat Me, Drink Me

  • Record Label: Nothing
  • Release Date: Jun 5, 2007
User Score
7.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 124 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 87 out of 124
  2. Negative: 20 out of 124

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Devin
    Jun 6, 2007
    3
    I just had to comment on how hysterical it is to see Spoons commenting that "now" "even" Manson has sold out. Marilyn Manson was a sell-out from the very beginning, my friend. The face-paint and radio-grubbing hooks, as well as the NiN coattail-riding, assure Manson's place as a relentlessly pop-oriented figure. There was never a time where he was not doing all he could to "sell I just had to comment on how hysterical it is to see Spoons commenting that "now" "even" Manson has sold out. Marilyn Manson was a sell-out from the very beginning, my friend. The face-paint and radio-grubbing hooks, as well as the NiN coattail-riding, assure Manson's place as a relentlessly pop-oriented figure. There was never a time where he was not doing all he could to "sell out." This is simply a continuation of that perpetual pattern. Expand
  2. BobJoe
    Oct 7, 2007
    3
    In my opinoin GAOG was Marilyn Mansons best album. Maybe thats just because I like metal, but those songs where hard and fast and great. These songs sound like a dead frog croaking to spooky haunted house music. Slow and boring. What the heck MM?
  3. DougJ.
    Jun 4, 2007
    3
    I don't understand what the Los Angeles Times saw in this album... I mean, the hook to Heart Shaped Glasses is a bit catchy, but the rest of the album was just dry as hell. There is nothing shocking or revolting about it, and with the lyrics, Manson sounds more like 30 Seconds to Mars than the Antichrist Superstar. Never imagined they'd lay a more confused turd than Mechanical I don't understand what the Los Angeles Times saw in this album... I mean, the hook to Heart Shaped Glasses is a bit catchy, but the rest of the album was just dry as hell. There is nothing shocking or revolting about it, and with the lyrics, Manson sounds more like 30 Seconds to Mars than the Antichrist Superstar. Never imagined they'd lay a more confused turd than Mechanical Animals but I guess this is what a divorce and a 4-year hiatus does. Real shame. Expand
  4. MetalFan
    Jun 6, 2007
    3
    Very simple sounding album. As a long time Manson fan I couldnt believe this was actually his work when I heard it. All the songs sound extremely dry, and uninspired. Lyrics are okay, but his voice doesnt change at all, almost no emotion in any of these songs. Its been a very disapointing year imo, from Ozzy, Megadeth, Linkin Park, Skinny Puppy, and now Manson. BUT if your looking for a Very simple sounding album. As a long time Manson fan I couldnt believe this was actually his work when I heard it. All the songs sound extremely dry, and uninspired. Lyrics are okay, but his voice doesnt change at all, almost no emotion in any of these songs. Its been a very disapointing year imo, from Ozzy, Megadeth, Linkin Park, Skinny Puppy, and now Manson. BUT if your looking for a good cd check out Type O Negatives Dead Again...easily one the best released this year. Expand
  5. sarisc.
    Jul 1, 2007
    2
    you know...not everything has to be released. he should've shelved this trash when he had the chance...and retire quietly. but no...he released it. hes also touring with slayer this year. i hope all the slayer fans bludgen him with toilet seats [and im certain they will] maybe then he'll stop wasting his [true] fans' time and money with shit records like this.
  6. archv
    Jun 4, 2007
    2
    It's the worst Manson album to date. Too simple, popish and there aren't any of the old "hooks" here. All of the songs sound familiar, with the same "solos" and unmusical choruses. My only fav is the song "eat me , drink me". Only because of it my rate is 2/10. Poor Manson, I have never expected to produce that kind of shit...
  7. JonA
    Aug 8, 2007
    2
    I respect him completely for his musical talent. I just hate the album. He sold-out to the fucking media.
  8. DeaconF.
    Aug 23, 2007
    2
    simple trash I loved The Golden Age of Grotesque Saw him live in 2004 and twice in 1995 opened for NiN just so disappointed
  9. MercuryShadow
    Nov 15, 2007
    2
    This is by far the worst Manson CD that has ever been made. If you compleatly forget that is was manson that made it then it is allmost ok to hear. It has no bite at all and the lines are lame. I was once a big manson fan but n longer.
  10. RemakeshP
    Jun 9, 2007
    1
    I had no idea Marilyn Manson was still releasing music until I walked into a Borders and saw this Phil Collins meets My Chemical Romance album cover. Come on Manson, the 90s are over and the schtick has expired. But you will always be remembered for your cameo in Jawbreaker.
  11. georgebush
    Jun 4, 2007
    0
    i think that this album means the end of manson. her last album eas awfull, but this is beyound misery
  12. EvanB
    Jun 5, 2007
    0
    Manson music is absolute junk. Not a hero we want our children to follow.
  13. HilaryB.
    Jun 7, 2007
    0
    Complete trash. His actions and words make me uncomfortable.
  14. Oligami
    Jun 5, 2007
    0
    Horrible!
  15. Spoons
    Jun 5, 2007
    0
    Wow, now even Manson has sold out. What has become of music, are we all heading toward the easy riff garbage junk bastardry of My Chemical Romance et al. Not good...
Metascore
63

Generally favorable reviews - based on 23 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 23
  2. Negative: 2 out of 23
  1. Forget what you know about this guy and it'll come off like a decent, and rather efficient, little goth-pop record.
  2. There's nothing quite as immediate or fantastic as 'Disposable Teens' here, but the album on the whole is a triumph.
  3. The songs and Ziggy guitar solos are more accessible than usual. Manson can croak like an undead, but can't sing to save his life.