• Record Label: Nothing
  • Release Date: Jun 5, 2007
User Score
7.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 131 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 91 out of 131
  2. Negative: 20 out of 131

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 10, 2017
    8
    Uma nova reinvenção de Marilyn Manson,
    Evidente nas canções Putting Holes in Happiness, They Said That Hell's Not Hot, Heart Shaped Glasses. Com essas três músicas podemos dizer que é o mais próximo que Marilyn Manson já fez de um Rock-Pop, e eu como um fã fiel e apreciador de mudanças sonoras na carreira musical de todos artistas, mas desde que mantenha a qualidade musical, tenho que
    Uma nova reinvenção de Marilyn Manson,
    Evidente nas canções Putting Holes in Happiness, They Said That Hell's Not Hot, Heart Shaped Glasses. Com essas três músicas podemos dizer que é o mais próximo que Marilyn Manson já fez de um Rock-Pop, e eu como um fã fiel e apreciador de mudanças sonoras na carreira musical de todos artistas, mas desde que mantenha a qualidade musical, tenho que dizer que foi mais uma mudança certeira pois são três Excelentes músicas "Rock-Pop" de Marilyn Manson.

    If I Was Your Vampire, Evidence, The Red Carpet Grave, Eat Me, Drink Me & Mutilation is The Most Sincere Form Of Flattery também são grandes destaques desse ótimo álbum.

    Marilyn Manson A Great Underrated Artist!!!
    Expand
  2. Oct 12, 2016
    8
    Álbum muito Bom do MArilyn Manson, não uma obra-prima como Holy Wood (2000), Antichrist Superstar (1996) e Mechanical Animals (1998).

    Mas definitivamente ótimo para esses 2 non-senses críticos que deram revisões negativas, mostrarem que não escutaram o álbum direito ou são retardados 33/100 é idiotice, 10/100 é insano e puta falta de incompetência de um "crítico"
  3. Jan 20, 2015
    10
    The mere fact that I am of a fan of Manson contributes very little to my overzealous aptitude towards this album. The theme is very well carried out through the sound, and such indelible lyrics as those of "Heart-Shaped Glasses (When the Heart Guides the Head)" are ingeniously paired with an aesthetic value that is compelling and interpretive. The generally vampiric nature of this album,The mere fact that I am of a fan of Manson contributes very little to my overzealous aptitude towards this album. The theme is very well carried out through the sound, and such indelible lyrics as those of "Heart-Shaped Glasses (When the Heart Guides the Head)" are ingeniously paired with an aesthetic value that is compelling and interpretive. The generally vampiric nature of this album, matched with it romanticized undertones constitutes a very qualified and aesthetically pleasing "gothic-era" feel, one of which creates a whirl of images when listening to such content. Although hounded by some, "Eat Me Drink Me" is simply fabulous, both artistically and sonically. Expand
  4. May 24, 2013
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Prefiro Theol E Bv Mas Não Ruim Músicas Ótimas Que Nem
    1-If Was Your Vampire
    2-Putting Holes In Happiness
    3-They Said Hell's Not Hot
    4-Heart Shaped Glasses (When The Heart Guides The Hand)
    5-Evidence
    6-Eat Me,Drink Me
    Expand
  5. Dec 17, 2011
    9
    Marilyn Manson knows how to work wonders. Combining electronic notes with traditional rock and meaningful lyrics to top it, this definitely his best album all together to date. I can't wait for February.
  6. Nov 22, 2011
    7
    I've read a lot of reviews that talk about how this album was "universally unappealing," but I'm here to tell you that it is really a very good album. Manson himself will admit that he was in a very bad place when he made this album. He was very upset about a lot of things, and in Eat Me, Drink Me, it shows. It's a very emotional album. Not his best, but I love it.

    The first half of the
    I've read a lot of reviews that talk about how this album was "universally unappealing," but I'm here to tell you that it is really a very good album. Manson himself will admit that he was in a very bad place when he made this album. He was very upset about a lot of things, and in Eat Me, Drink Me, it shows. It's a very emotional album. Not his best, but I love it.

    The first half of the album is unbelievable. I love it. If I Was Your Vampire is amazing. They Said That Hell's Not Hot is my favorite on the album. However, Are You The Rabbit is not very good. Despite the reviews, I found this album very good. However, it's not as "metal" as the rest of his albums. This CD is more rock-oriented. I'd recommend it, though.

    And for the record, these "mom" types writing reviews just to say they hate Manson as a person make me sick. I guarantee they didn't listen to this album. They just automatically assume he's some sort of terrorist. It's ridiculous.
    Expand
  7. Sep 26, 2010
    6
    Your enjoyment of Eat Me, Drink Me will largely depend on what you thought of Manson's 2003 release, The Golden Age Of Grotesque. EM,DM is somewhat mellower and has an almost experimental feel to it, in essence this album shows Marilyn Manson struggling to find some much needed direction and maturity. Unlike The Golden Age EM,DM isn't out to offend, nor is it trying to target his familiarYour enjoyment of Eat Me, Drink Me will largely depend on what you thought of Manson's 2003 release, The Golden Age Of Grotesque. EM,DM is somewhat mellower and has an almost experimental feel to it, in essence this album shows Marilyn Manson struggling to find some much needed direction and maturity. Unlike The Golden Age EM,DM isn't out to offend, nor is it trying to target his familiar angry teenager audience, lyrically speaking most of it is superior to his previous release. Musically speaking it isn't nearly as catchy as The Golden Age but it feel like he's finally making the music he wants to make rather then trying to appeal to the age bracket that made him famous in the 90s. Older Manson fans will likely get the most out of this album but even then this material is artistically transitional in nature and won't appeal to everyone. Approach it with an open mind though and you just might find yourself pleasantry surprised. Expand
  8. DanC
    Feb 19, 2008
    7
    Not his best but definetly not his worst... Look out for: Mutilation is the most sincere from of flattery.
  9. HexG.
    Nov 17, 2007
    5
    Pretty poor in comparison with his earlier work. "Heart Shaped Glasses" is decent enough, but on the whole, the album feels devoid of originality or passion.
  10. MercuryShadow
    Nov 15, 2007
    2
    This is by far the worst Manson CD that has ever been made. If you compleatly forget that is was manson that made it then it is allmost ok to hear. It has no bite at all and the lines are lame. I was once a big manson fan but n longer.
  11. RaviS.
    Nov 15, 2007
    10
    Great songs!! Its a rythmic way of life!
  12. BobJoe
    Oct 7, 2007
    3
    In my opinoin GAOG was Marilyn Mansons best album. Maybe thats just because I like metal, but those songs where hard and fast and great. These songs sound like a dead frog croaking to spooky haunted house music. Slow and boring. What the heck MM?
  13. EdgarasG.
    Sep 29, 2007
    10
    This album is something new from M.M. it's cool. I recommend to all people who didn't like M.M. you'll change your opinion.
  14. DOPPELHERZ
    Sep 11, 2007
    10
    This album's his masterpiece!these songs are beautiful,very deep,and very passionate!these songs are "now" -but they also go back in time to a certain era.if you relax and listen to it-you'll see what i mean.i have all his main albums,and i must say that this is his best one-and my favorite one!alot of his songs on this album touched my soul very strongly.the instruments,the This album's his masterpiece!these songs are beautiful,very deep,and very passionate!these songs are "now" -but they also go back in time to a certain era.if you relax and listen to it-you'll see what i mean.i have all his main albums,and i must say that this is his best one-and my favorite one!alot of his songs on this album touched my soul very strongly.the instruments,the melodies,his words,and the tones of his voice he uses in his songs-you yourself can feel his different emotions that he's feeling.my 3 favorite songs are:1)you and me and the devil makes 3.it's hypnotic,and it's the way things are.2)evidence.it's ritualistic with the relationship based on sex only.3)if i was your vampire.it's a deep,and obsessive sinsere love story that will never end-not even in death.even in death they're keeping each other alive.definitely get this!you'll be missing out on something special if you don't!manson truly is a special person,and he really should be appreciated! Expand
  15. robj
    Sep 9, 2007
    9
    great. hells not hot is awesome. some votes shoudl not count like george bushes because he thought mm was a girl.
  16. JennerB.
    Sep 7, 2007
    8
    It's not as accessible on first listen as his past albums have been, but I think that's the point. This is definitely an album you have to listen to a few times to have it fully sink in and then it's easier to appreciate it for what it is. It's art, not disposable pop music.
  17. DeaconF.
    Aug 23, 2007
    2
    simple trash I loved The Golden Age of Grotesque Saw him live in 2004 and twice in 1995 opened for NiN just so disappointed
  18. JonA
    Aug 8, 2007
    2
    I respect him completely for his musical talent. I just hate the album. He sold-out to the fucking media.
  19. BL
    Aug 7, 2007
    8
    Definitely a good album, as long as you are not expecting an industrial/metal album. I felt the last album (Golden Age...) tried a few new things but mostly tried to recreate the Antichrist Superstar sound, to mixed results. This album goes off in another direction and succeeds because of it. Definitely worth a listen. Standout tracks are: If I was Your Vampire, Evidence, Mutilation is Definitely a good album, as long as you are not expecting an industrial/metal album. I felt the last album (Golden Age...) tried a few new things but mostly tried to recreate the Antichrist Superstar sound, to mixed results. This album goes off in another direction and succeeds because of it. Definitely worth a listen. Standout tracks are: If I was Your Vampire, Evidence, Mutilation is the Sincerest Form of Flattery, You and Me and The Devil Make Three. Expand
  20. wesc
    Aug 1, 2007
    9
    its a great album..but i don't think its going to be a fan favorite
  21. ToddW.
    Aug 1, 2007
    5
    Brian, I know there's an intelligent, Earth-shattering album in you somewhere. Sadly, this isn't it. You proven yourself a brilliant and incisive mind with your comments in wake of the Columbine massacre, which our sick culture tried to lay at your doorstep. Just please get beyond the tired shock value and wasting your time concentrating on how you look; it reflects itself Brian, I know there's an intelligent, Earth-shattering album in you somewhere. Sadly, this isn't it. You proven yourself a brilliant and incisive mind with your comments in wake of the Columbine massacre, which our sick culture tried to lay at your doorstep. Just please get beyond the tired shock value and wasting your time concentrating on how you look; it reflects itself negatively in your music, and you should be above that by now. It's way past being a one-trick pony. The stable is full. Give us something to finally show the masses that they have been wrong in their judgment of you. Expand
  22. WilliamB
    Jul 22, 2007
    4
    Only three good songs. What happened?
  23. bitchassc.
    Jul 20, 2007
    10
    fuck everyone who says the album sucks. manson is an artist and everything he does is supposed to reflect HIM not what YOU assholes want. and you should like the music for the music itself, not for what is "mainstream" and what's not. you're ridiculoussss. fucking amazing album.
  24. EmaA.
    Jul 10, 2007
    10
    I think Manson is a true artist. This album is a proof of his staying true to his feelings and state of mind. He's not making any compromise. He's telling his story, this time with other words and notes and that's what being creative means. He's different (but why should he be the same?), he's alive, more alive than so many. Art is about movement and change. I I think Manson is a true artist. This album is a proof of his staying true to his feelings and state of mind. He's not making any compromise. He's telling his story, this time with other words and notes and that's what being creative means. He's different (but why should he be the same?), he's alive, more alive than so many. Art is about movement and change. I really appreciate this movement and change in the alternation of rough and soft sound and lyrics. They may not be perfect from a specialist point of view (I'm not one), but you can feel his artistic torments, he's giving his best. Chapeau! :) Expand
  25. TylerG.
    Jul 9, 2007
    10
    Just a great album, superb, the guitar rifts make me wanna learn how to play just so I can play his tunes, the lyrics are the usual, extremely smart and clever, like most people have said this album is much more personal than say, Golden Age of Groutesque, this is his best work in my opinion
  26. JoeW
    Jul 3, 2007
    10
    Great stuff way better than the last.
  27. sarisc.
    Jul 1, 2007
    2
    you know...not everything has to be released. he should've shelved this trash when he had the chance...and retire quietly. but no...he released it. hes also touring with slayer this year. i hope all the slayer fans bludgen him with toilet seats [and im certain they will] maybe then he'll stop wasting his [true] fans' time and money with shit records like this.
  28. ChristopherW.
    Jun 24, 2007
    8
    This is Marilyn Manson's best album since 'Mechanical Animals' and certainly his most personal.
  29. HNRK
    Jun 24, 2007
    8
    I have been and still am a huge Manson fan and he is really the greatest influence for someone willing to understand the deep message behind the glam and the shock: and that message is - go out and seek knowledge, try to stand out as an original person, don't be trapped in taboos and stereotypes. That said, the only fair review I read here is from D P. I don't think Manson has I have been and still am a huge Manson fan and he is really the greatest influence for someone willing to understand the deep message behind the glam and the shock: and that message is - go out and seek knowledge, try to stand out as an original person, don't be trapped in taboos and stereotypes. That said, the only fair review I read here is from D P. I don't think Manson has ever been even close to commercial and he surely isn't now. He's an artist in the true sense because ultimately he wishes to do what he wants and what pleases him. I'd say The Golden Age of Grotesque and Holy Wood were considered bad because the singles were more an appeal to the masses (the same old stuff, same beats as TBP, the same appealing choruses) than what I think Manson would have like to do. I believe what he's doing now is really what he wanted to do and I sincerely think this album is his 3rd greatest, right after ACS (the best album I know of) and MA. It has some awesome songs (2,4,5,8,9) and it's short because all the commercial "hit songs" are simply not there. I believe people analyzing Manson for his "cultural influence" in America right now are too stupid to understand that an individual artist doesn't have any pre-defined social function which he has to be trapped to all his life. Expand
  30. dogacanp.
    Jun 22, 2007
    10
    Perfect!!!Marilyn changed a lot,maybe he is much more romantic before and in fun less but this album is perfect...
  31. RyanJ.
    Jun 18, 2007
    7
    I like about half of the songs on this record. But the tracks I do like are absolutely amazing - some of Manson's best work. Yes, a couple of the songs are quite bland and aren't very distinguishable. It's still worth listening to, nonetheless.
  32. TomppaV.
    Jun 17, 2007
    9
    Great album indeed! Putting Holes In Happiness, The Red Carpet Grave, They Said That Hell's Not Hot, Heart-Shaped Glasses, Evidence and Eat Me, Drink Me are all 100% Manson classics. Third best album by Manson, ever.
  33. JasonW.
    Jun 16, 2007
    7
    Looks like he changed his style a bit, and proves he can do it extremely well in a few tracks. Tracks 1,6,7 are my favorites but track 7 is by far the best. I hope his next album has the same new style but done much better. This is a nice change for him and i support it. You can only make so many hate albums before it gets old. However he needs to do better work overall i'm use to Looks like he changed his style a bit, and proves he can do it extremely well in a few tracks. Tracks 1,6,7 are my favorites but track 7 is by far the best. I hope his next album has the same new style but done much better. This is a nice change for him and i support it. You can only make so many hate albums before it gets old. However he needs to do better work overall i'm use to him making cd's that almost every track is kickass, as superchrist superstar and mechanical animals was. but I look forward next album. Hopefully he does some more clean up in his different style. Expand
  34. stephaniee
    Jun 15, 2007
    4
    I am completely disappointed with this album. It's not bad music, but it's too mainstream. It doesn't sound even close to anything else Manson has released. I think he's becoming soft.
  35. BobB.
    Jun 12, 2007
    5
    What in god's name are you doing reviewing music you have no critical basis in, Evan B? Did you even listen to the album. Sure, this is derivative, not nearly as good as his other stuff, but Marilyn Manson is a much better role-model than most of our politicians. His glam/goth shtick is just a costume, the man's very intelligent (and capable of a better album). Do a little What in god's name are you doing reviewing music you have no critical basis in, Evan B? Did you even listen to the album. Sure, this is derivative, not nearly as good as his other stuff, but Marilyn Manson is a much better role-model than most of our politicians. His glam/goth shtick is just a costume, the man's very intelligent (and capable of a better album). Do a little research before slapping a 0 on something that you think might possibly be offensive because it looks similar to something you thought hinted at bad morals. Expand
  36. JohnS
    Jun 12, 2007
    6
    I really want to like this album. I have listened to it about a dozen times and do not like it anymore than the first time I heard it. I have every one of Manson's Albums and this one is the most disappointing. Every single song on here is about love or some crap like, and most are not very catchy.
  37. DanielB
    Jun 12, 2007
    10
    To anyone who hates this album shame mason is always changing he's style for his albums u always the diffrence from good and great is varietyu dont want to put a cd in and here the same through MANSON u r the man great job!!!!
  38. CharlesM
    Jun 11, 2007
    8
    First really focused musical vision since Anti-Christ and a more mature record than we have seen out of Manson. It sounds like a band effort and less like a production feat. the most interesting release since Mechanical Animals.
  39. MilenM
    Jun 9, 2007
    10
    Reminds a lot of Mechanical Animals, which is my favorite Marilyn Manson album up to now. Eat Me Drink Me shows that Manson isn't afraid to sound different. If you expect heaviness and raging vocals you'll probably be disappointed, but for what it is - a good mixture of industrial rock and 80s electropop - this album sounds great. For me it's the most pleasant surprise of Reminds a lot of Mechanical Animals, which is my favorite Marilyn Manson album up to now. Eat Me Drink Me shows that Manson isn't afraid to sound different. If you expect heaviness and raging vocals you'll probably be disappointed, but for what it is - a good mixture of industrial rock and 80s electropop - this album sounds great. For me it's the most pleasant surprise of the year so far. Expand
  40. Lady_Raven
    Jun 9, 2007
    10
    I loved it.It' s different . It's not something you'd expect from Manson and I was kind of confused with the lyrics as they were no shocking and "fuck the system" style at all comparing to his other albums(they are too...love concerned) but that doesnt make it a bad album.In fact the more I hear it the better it seems to me. An artist is supposed to express what's I loved it.It' s different . It's not something you'd expect from Manson and I was kind of confused with the lyrics as they were no shocking and "fuck the system" style at all comparing to his other albums(they are too...love concerned) but that doesnt make it a bad album.In fact the more I hear it the better it seems to me. An artist is supposed to express what's within.Well that's just what he did. Just because it's not an angry album that doesn't meen it sucks.Well I liked it. Expand
  41. RemakeshP
    Jun 9, 2007
    1
    I had no idea Marilyn Manson was still releasing music until I walked into a Borders and saw this Phil Collins meets My Chemical Romance album cover. Come on Manson, the 90s are over and the schtick has expired. But you will always be remembered for your cameo in Jawbreaker.
  42. ToboeK
    Jun 8, 2007
    10
    Working his way back to how he used to make music when he had Twiggy to help him produce music, great album alot better then Golden Age.
  43. JesseS
    Jun 8, 2007
    10
    Melodically intriguing and subtle in its own way. Understated high drama: how does he do that? It's not just a matter of wearying from the usual shock-rock aesthetic, so that the understated comes as a bigger shock. It's just a very honest work of art from an artist who is tired, but not uninspired....
  44. jr
    Jun 7, 2007
    9
    A new direction and alot of dark fun!!!!!!
  45. harleyb
    Jun 7, 2007
    8
    this is worst record but it is still a 8
  46. HilaryB.
    Jun 7, 2007
    0
    Complete trash. His actions and words make me uncomfortable.
  47. WilfridW
    Jun 7, 2007
    10
    Wow ... did people vote based on listening to the entire album or just downloads from somewhere? An album inspired by his recent divorce and new found love, it is recorded at his home with just him and his guitarist. Hence, this album is not meant to be as well produced as his others. But somehow it is a more genuine piece of work - for the ones who has the moral flexiblility that is.
  48. iwon'ttellyou:p
    Jun 7, 2007
    9
    I like this album, although it's not my favourite, but it's much better than golden age of g.! i don't know why you don't like eat me drink me but i guess we all have different taste :|.....ouh, and btw Marilyn Manson still kicks major ass!!!!
  49. JaredM.
    Jun 6, 2007
    9
    I picked up this CD today and listened to most of it. At first listen this album is slightly disappointing when compared to Manson's previous works especially his 2003 release which may have been his most musically powerful album yet. However when considering Manson's current situation (and recent personal events) combined with his nearing the age of 40, its obvious Manson is I picked up this CD today and listened to most of it. At first listen this album is slightly disappointing when compared to Manson's previous works especially his 2003 release which may have been his most musically powerful album yet. However when considering Manson's current situation (and recent personal events) combined with his nearing the age of 40, its obvious Manson is more appreciative of musical creation and is seeking deeper meanings in his music. He clearly made this album for his own tastes and even admits its his first album he enjoys listening to. Also when listening over and over this album grows on you and is filled with passion and emotion some of his past music severely lacks. Maybe whats so shocking now about the Antichrist Superstar isnt his image but his willingness to now show his real personality. Expand
  50. AriJ
    Jun 6, 2007
    7
    I'm not one to really get into Manson's whole goth thing but I'll be honest, this album kinda rocks. Through all the negative attention he's gotten and his uncanny ability to portray himself as a complete nut, Manson has essentially become a characture of himself. His rants on violence, Christianity etc... are quite tiresome and cliche. Listening to his music, however, I'm not one to really get into Manson's whole goth thing but I'll be honest, this album kinda rocks. Through all the negative attention he's gotten and his uncanny ability to portray himself as a complete nut, Manson has essentially become a characture of himself. His rants on violence, Christianity etc... are quite tiresome and cliche. Listening to his music, however, gets my head banging. Yeah, it's a little on the annoying poppy side, but still a pretty well crafted and decently original ass kicker. Expand
  51. PrestonJ
    Jun 6, 2007
    8
    This album is an emotional chronicalling of a year in the hell of Manson's life. Its not an angry tirade against God, Government, or the Pathetic state of modern day youth. Its a raw and personal album that is supposed to exercise many of Manson's personal deamons that overcame him this last year. With that said it is not the bone crushing, pulsating, metal crusade that Anti This album is an emotional chronicalling of a year in the hell of Manson's life. Its not an angry tirade against God, Government, or the Pathetic state of modern day youth. Its a raw and personal album that is supposed to exercise many of Manson's personal deamons that overcame him this last year. With that said it is not the bone crushing, pulsating, metal crusade that Anti Chirst Super Star or Holy Wood was. It is instead very dark, very melodic, hard rock. The tracks are very much guitar lead as opposed to the synth and sampling he had been more accustomed to, and it paid off. The guitar work is very well done and compliments the new tone of the album very well. . I was very much excited when I first heard I Could Be Your Vampire, which spurred my interest in the rest of his work, and the album did not dissapoint. Expand
  52. James
    Jun 6, 2007
    10
    Another amazing record. Similar to Mechanical Animals in sound, but very different in focus and intensity. Fans will love it, fans of old rock will find it easier to get into then most of his stuff. Anyone who is knocking it just doesn't like Manson, ignore them.
  53. MetalFan
    Jun 6, 2007
    3
    Very simple sounding album. As a long time Manson fan I couldnt believe this was actually his work when I heard it. All the songs sound extremely dry, and uninspired. Lyrics are okay, but his voice doesnt change at all, almost no emotion in any of these songs. Its been a very disapointing year imo, from Ozzy, Megadeth, Linkin Park, Skinny Puppy, and now Manson. BUT if your looking for a Very simple sounding album. As a long time Manson fan I couldnt believe this was actually his work when I heard it. All the songs sound extremely dry, and uninspired. Lyrics are okay, but his voice doesnt change at all, almost no emotion in any of these songs. Its been a very disapointing year imo, from Ozzy, Megadeth, Linkin Park, Skinny Puppy, and now Manson. BUT if your looking for a good cd check out Type O Negatives Dead Again...easily one the best released this year. Expand
  54. Devin
    Jun 6, 2007
    3
    I just had to comment on how hysterical it is to see Spoons commenting that "now" "even" Manson has sold out. Marilyn Manson was a sell-out from the very beginning, my friend. The face-paint and radio-grubbing hooks, as well as the NiN coattail-riding, assure Manson's place as a relentlessly pop-oriented figure. There was never a time where he was not doing all he could to "sell I just had to comment on how hysterical it is to see Spoons commenting that "now" "even" Manson has sold out. Marilyn Manson was a sell-out from the very beginning, my friend. The face-paint and radio-grubbing hooks, as well as the NiN coattail-riding, assure Manson's place as a relentlessly pop-oriented figure. There was never a time where he was not doing all he could to "sell out." This is simply a continuation of that perpetual pattern. Expand
  55. DP
    Jun 6, 2007
    7
    Let me first say that I used to be a huge Marilyn Manson fan but have since moved on from this sort of music completely. But curiosity got the better of me, so I sought out the album. For those who say this is Manson selling out - you really don't know anything about Mansons music. This album is far less mainstream and "hooky" than The Golden Age Of Grotesque. Manson is a genius at Let me first say that I used to be a huge Marilyn Manson fan but have since moved on from this sort of music completely. But curiosity got the better of me, so I sought out the album. For those who say this is Manson selling out - you really don't know anything about Mansons music. This album is far less mainstream and "hooky" than The Golden Age Of Grotesque. Manson is a genius at reinventing himself. This album is NOT anything like the current emo / chemical romance garbage that is out there. Those bands have copied Manson, not the other way around. Every Manson album is a new concept in itself. To me it seems like he stopped caring about getting new fans with this album. It seems he created it purely for himself, which hasn't happened since the old days of Smells Like Children. Ultimately, the music is quite good. Not his best and not his worst. I would only suggest that this takes repeated listens to fully appreciate the atmosphere and hidden melodies. If there is another Manson album, I would like to see them go back to having more variability within the album - mix up the faster tracks with some slower ballads. Mansons back catalogue shows that he is a very underrated song writer. Expand
  56. ChrisP
    Jun 5, 2007
    10
    Best Mr Manson work since Mechanical Animals. Amazing guitar work and such an improvement in Manson's voice and sonwriting skills. This kind of sounds proves that Mr Manson can be more than just a guy with lipstick screaming obscenities. Who cares about politics and religion when heart broken feelings can sound this good?
  57. RidahC
    Jun 5, 2007
    8
    finally, a manson album with some substance. he's obviously right messed up after the break up with his girl, almost everysong is about it. an artist makin' an album based on what he feels, great concept, thx mr. manson!
  58. Jaims
    Jun 5, 2007
    10
    Best Album of the Year.
  59. Oligami
    Jun 5, 2007
    0
    Horrible!
  60. EvanB
    Jun 5, 2007
    0
    Manson music is absolute junk. Not a hero we want our children to follow.
  61. Spoons
    Jun 5, 2007
    0
    Wow, now even Manson has sold out. What has become of music, are we all heading toward the easy riff garbage junk bastardry of My Chemical Romance et al. Not good...
  62. Mike
    Jun 5, 2007
    9
    At first I didn't like it. Now I love it. It's really.. emotional. Yeh.
  63. DougJ.
    Jun 4, 2007
    3
    I don't understand what the Los Angeles Times saw in this album... I mean, the hook to Heart Shaped Glasses is a bit catchy, but the rest of the album was just dry as hell. There is nothing shocking or revolting about it, and with the lyrics, Manson sounds more like 30 Seconds to Mars than the Antichrist Superstar. Never imagined they'd lay a more confused turd than Mechanical I don't understand what the Los Angeles Times saw in this album... I mean, the hook to Heart Shaped Glasses is a bit catchy, but the rest of the album was just dry as hell. There is nothing shocking or revolting about it, and with the lyrics, Manson sounds more like 30 Seconds to Mars than the Antichrist Superstar. Never imagined they'd lay a more confused turd than Mechanical Animals but I guess this is what a divorce and a 4-year hiatus does. Real shame. Expand
  64. [Anonymous]
    Jun 4, 2007
    10
    Album of the year
  65. archv
    Jun 4, 2007
    2
    It's the worst Manson album to date. Too simple, popish and there aren't any of the old "hooks" here. All of the songs sound familiar, with the same "solos" and unmusical choruses. My only fav is the song "eat me , drink me". Only because of it my rate is 2/10. Poor Manson, I have never expected to produce that kind of shit...
  66. JSchlein
    Jun 4, 2007
    8
    Perhaps the strongest album since Mechanical Animals. Manson revisits the 80's sound, this time focusing on Goth rock and guitar solos. The biggest mistake most people will make with this record is assuming another in your face outing of industrial metal. If approached in itself it is a humble but decent record. Fans of Type O Negative and such should seek out this record
  67. ianc
    Jun 4, 2007
    10
    i love putting holes in happiness
  68. georgebush
    Jun 4, 2007
    0
    i think that this album means the end of manson. her last album eas awfull, but this is beyound misery
Metascore
63

Generally favorable reviews - based on 23 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 23
  2. Negative: 2 out of 23
  1. Forget what you know about this guy and it'll come off like a decent, and rather efficient, little goth-pop record.
  2. There's nothing quite as immediate or fantastic as 'Disposable Teens' here, but the album on the whole is a triumph.
  3. The songs and Ziggy guitar solos are more accessible than usual. Manson can croak like an undead, but can't sing to save his life.