El Camino

  • Record Label:
  • Release Date:
El Camino Image
Metascore
84

Universal acclaim - based on 37 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.6

Universal acclaim- based on 257 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Danger Mouse returns to produce the seventh studio album for The Black Keys.
Buy On
  • Record Label: Nonesuch
  • Genre(s): Pop/Rock, Alternative/Indie Rock, Alternative Pop/Rock, Garage Punk, Indie Rock, Punk Blues
  • More Details and Credits »

Top Track

Lonely Boy
Well I'm so above you And it's plain to see But I came to love you anyway So you tore my heart out And I don't mind bleeding Any old time to keep me... See the rest of the song lyrics
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 37
  2. Negative: 0 out of 37
  1. Mojo
    May 31, 2012
    100
    It's never just meat and potatoes. It's more like eating bone marrow in a fashionable restaurant - earthy, carnivorous but still beautifully designed and knowingly conceptualized. [Jan 2012, p.88]
  2. 91
    They've teamed up with longtime producer Danger Mouse to do what they do best.
  3. Dec 5, 2011
    83
    El Camino is yet another ear-pleasing installment in the catalog of a consistently impressive band.
  4. Nov 29, 2011
    80
    Produced by man of the moment, Danger Mouse, the sound remains unmistakably Black Keys but adds further dimensions to what is already a winning mix.
  5. Dec 5, 2011
    80
    There isn't a bad song in the bunch, nor a moment to relax until you've ingested El Camino in full.
  6. Dec 6, 2011
    75
    El Camino is so relentlessly crowd-pleasing that it feels a bit inconsequential; there's no room for the sad, sludgy ballads that used to anchor Black Keys albums in the band's new, sugar-heavy music.
  7. Jan 3, 2012
    40
    El Camino might be the weakest Black Keys album since 2006's Magic Potion, but the band certainly earned this celebratory joy ride.

See all 37 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 50 out of 54
  2. Negative: 0 out of 54
  1. Dec 8, 2011
    10
    From the first time I heard "Strange Times" on the radio, The Black Keys has gone from being a popular choice of music during my parties toFrom the first time I heard "Strange Times" on the radio, The Black Keys has gone from being a popular choice of music during my parties to being one of my top favourite bands of all time. El Camino is truly a great album, and while I'm not by any means a music critic, I think this is a great addition to their already awesome resume. Expand
  2. Dec 29, 2012
    10
    Gold on the Ceiling. Lonely Boy. Stop Stop. Mind Eraser. Little Black Submarines. All great songs. All unique and captivating, catchy and andGold on the Ceiling. Lonely Boy. Stop Stop. Mind Eraser. Little Black Submarines. All great songs. All unique and captivating, catchy and and brilliant. I'm yet to find a better Black Keys album. This was outstanding. Expand
  3. Dec 6, 2011
    10
    Catchy and captivating; this is the best rock album of 2011 by far. The Black Keys have stepped into the space left by The White Stripes, andCatchy and captivating; this is the best rock album of 2011 by far. The Black Keys have stepped into the space left by The White Stripes, and established their role as the best blues/rock band out there at the moment. Expand
  4. Dec 31, 2011
    9
    Purist fans of the two piece Black Keys have expressed their doubts about the latest, and possibly best of the Black Keys contributions to R&BPurist fans of the two piece Black Keys have expressed their doubts about the latest, and possibly best of the Black Keys contributions to R&B based white rock - but they are wrong. This is one fabulous disc.

    Building on the expansion in Brothers - a great record by my standards - adding a bass and keyboards, and a new producer -not only does not hurt the Black Keys, it makes them a great normal band. Dan writes, sings and plays great songs, and Patrick adds his drumming, production and sense of insanity to one of the great iconoclastic bands of the last decade.

    From the kickoff track, Lonely Boy,the album shows its wares. It fills the ears - Stop Stop, Nova Baby, Run Right Back. Where are the dud tracks, I kept asking myself? Nowhere on this record is there a dull moment, an unmemorable riff, a foot placed wrong. Yet it still has some of the rough edges of earlier recordings, the unpolished sound is still there.

    Fresh as a daisy - and in the UK in February, this is a must own, must see band
    Expand
  5. May 4, 2012
    8
    El Camino is a throwback to the sound of 70s rock bands like T-Rex, The Rolling Stones & Lynyrd Skynyrd.
    The album takes us back to the 70s
    El Camino is a throwback to the sound of 70s rock bands like T-Rex, The Rolling Stones & Lynyrd Skynyrd.
    The album takes us back to the 70s and does a very good job at it.
    El Camino is an amazing album.
    Expand
  6. Aug 20, 2012
    8
    While you can't deny there are some killer tracks on El Camino, it lacks some of the diversity and rawness of their past work. The structureWhile you can't deny there are some killer tracks on El Camino, it lacks some of the diversity and rawness of their past work. The structure Danger Mouse brings to the table is welcome overall, but it also borders on being "too" pop-y or boxed in. They're not there yet, but will be if they go too much farther in this direction. I'd hate to see my favorite band suffer the same fate as Modest Mouse after "Float On".

    Highlights include "Run Right Back", "Sister" and "Money Maker".
    Expand
  7. Dec 12, 2011
    4
    gone are any and all killer guitar riffs which have always been the backbone of their music. instead we get an overproduced pop album ofgone are any and all killer guitar riffs which have always been the backbone of their music. instead we get an overproduced pop album of songs that with the changing of a few lyrics could pass for a katy perry record. Expand

See all 54 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best Albums of 2011

    The Best Albums of 2011 Image
    Published: December 30, 2011
    We reveal our official list of the best-reviewed albums of 2011. Plus, get links to stream virtually all of our top albums, find out which LPs our users preferred, and see which 2011 releases scored the lowest with critics.