Elect The Dead - Serj Tankian
Elect The Dead Image

Generally favorable reviews - based on 19 Critics What's this?

User Score

Universal acclaim- based on 77 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The System of a Down singer's solo debut album features fellow bandmate John Dolmayan on drums, along with players from Primus and opera singer Ani Maldjian.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 19
  2. Negative: 1 out of 19
  1. Factor in politics, social commentary, and highly individualistic posey, and Elect gets our vote for the liveliest mixed-bag marvel of the season. [26 Oct 2007, p.69]
  2. Tankian has always got one more surprise up his sleeve. But his scatter-shot approach does not detract from the acuity of his polemical insights
  3. 80
    He's screaming louder than ever on his solo CD, but what's notable is how all the titanium riffs and loud-soft-loud dynamics now feel personalized, a little cozier and multihued than on SOAD record. [Nov 2007, p.157]
  4. Tankian hasn't yet mastered the art of editing himself for time: Inspiring as its genre-jumping is in spurts, Elect The Dead gains and loses momentum enough that even fans may not stick around long enough for the best parts.
  5. Elect The Dead is both impressive and bewildering--almost as if SOAD's wildest excesses have been standardised.
  6. Here, without the berserk velocity of System's guitarist Daron Malakian, he is a little more conventional and a little less interesting.
  7. It would almost be pretty or epic if Tankian hadn't done this sort of thing ten times over already: nonsensical title, half-time verses balladeered in a faux-operatic style before rushing into the "unpredictable" chorus, which is uncomfortably wordier than ever I might add.

See all 19 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 35
  2. Negative: 3 out of 35
  1. Jul 14, 2012
    Very powerful album...Incredible songs. Very beautiful vocals. Sonds like Honking Antelope, Lie Lie Lie and The Unthinking Majority are unique.
  2. NickF.
    Jan 3, 2008
    Serj Tankian is great! He has done great by himself, but is better with the rest of System of a Down. I think "Empty Walls" is the best song on the album. I listen to it every day! Keep up the good work Serj! Expand
  3. Oct 19, 2010
    I loved this album. It has the power that blows mind. Lyrics that Tankian wrote are really deep, however I liked his voice more when he was in System of a Down, but if you loved SOAD then Elect the Dead is for you! Expand
    Oct 25, 2007
    I want sure about a solo album, but I was wrong. This album is great. It has elements of SOAD obviously, but at the same time, it is very personal. I Serj has one of the greatest voices of our time and its great to hear him displaying his skills. The use of piano also adds a new element to the songs...its not SOAD but its still damn good! Expand
  5. Jun 27, 2011
    Solo albums from members of successful are nothing new and though many are forgettable affairs, thankfully Serj Tankian's Elect The Dead is not one of them. Most songs are in the same vein as those of System Of A Down, the band of which he was a member. Songs critcizing society (The Unthinking Majority, PTLAPTA) reflect this clearly. This is not a negative remark and any SOAD will surely enjoy this album. Though some songs are more memorable than others, there are no weak tracks on this album. Tankian employs catchy melodies (Lie Lie Lie, Sky Is Over), frantic pacing (Empty Walls, Beethoven's C***) and somberness (Saving Us, Elect The Dead) to great effective. These songs make for a well-rounded and exceptional album from an artist who deserves as much success as his band receives. Expand
  6. MarcoR
    Oct 26, 2007
    rolling stone 50...are you crazy or what? okay this is not system but...?
  7. RZ
    Oct 25, 2007
    You call this guy a singer? The music is sporatically creative in a one-dimensional kind of way. It would be slightly more interesting with a halfway decent singer. If you like plain and extremely simple sound devoid much of melody and mostly pitchless vocals and backgrounds this album is for you. Expand

See all 35 User Reviews